We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at a beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cantera Jungle Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Cantera Jungle Lodge to your Saves list
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruta 12 km 5, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at a beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were a group of 5 friends who recently travelled to South America for a 4 week holiday. We visited Brazil, Peru and Argentina. We had an amazing stay at La Cantera Lodge. The lodge is located within a beautiful part of the jungle and truly allows you to relax in the tranquil environment. We spend most of our time in the pool just relaxing and enjoying some of the exotic cocktails. The rooms are beautiful and allow you to enjoy the beauty of the jungle all around you. Our trip was booked by Imagine Latin America and I would like to commend them for an excellent choice on accommodation!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    459
    133
    48
    38
See reviews for
296
656
58
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Imagine Latin America organised our trip to Brazil, Argentina and Chile. Everything worked like clockwork and this hotel was perfect for visiting the falls. Katherine couldn't have been more helpful in ensuring out itinerary was just right. The hotel is in a great location, the rooms and bathroom are spacious and modern. They have a minibus which goes into the town early evening and comes back a couple of hours later which is free though we only found about it by chance - they don't tell you much when you arrive. One evening the driver didn't come to take us back but the taxi wasn't very expensive. The town itself is a typical tourist town with lots of tacky souvenir shops but there are some decent restaurants.
The Falls are amazing. Imagine Latin America organised a boat trip which was fantastic - you will get drenched - wear a swimsuit under your clothes and put your clothes in the dry bag they give you. Katherine at ILA told us about the helicopter over the falls and the bird park. We did both. The helicopter is expensive, $110 each, but worth it. The bird park on the Brazilian side was wonderful. We made our own way back by bus as the cost of being picked which the guide on the coach quoted seemed high, especially after forking out for the chopper and bird park. You have to get off the bus at the border with your passport. The bus doesn't wait so you have to hang on for the next one which can take ages so be prepared to to get a bus of a different bus company and pay again - but it's not expensive. The falls are one of the best things we've seen, along with Perito Morena.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Fun, fun, fun! Beautiful hotel in the jungle. The location was great for the falls, the staff were very nice and helpful. Great staff and super restaurant. Pool also a real highlight. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the falls.
Comfortable room, "jungle" experience, nice pool, good breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel is located in the middle of jungle. I liked the location. Likely the hotel was opened just 3 to 4 years ago, so it is still in good shape imo. We stayed there for 4 nights.
There was a bathtub (I don't think that was Jacuzzi like advertised in hotel's web site) in terrace in addition to shower inside of room. There was a bird's nest just next to the terrace, and our kids were looking at baby birds in the nest long time.
We also enjoyed pool. The pool may not be huge enough for adults to swim but good for small kids to play.
The hotel provided some complimentary services to guests such as shuttle to city (very limited seats, twice a day for a 2-hour stay each time) and free guided nature walk. The guide was really nice.
Food was excellent at hotel's restaurant imo though waiters may have some room to improve skills. Especially we loved special dinner event for Argentine barbecue with live music. By the way, you have to make a reservation for dinner and you should do it early enough. The restaurant cannot always accommodate all hotel guests and there are no other restaurants around the hotel.
Hotel staff was really kind and supportive. They are not city people showing no expression. Also they allowed me to use phone even for international call without charge.
We really enjoyed staying at the hotel. It was definitely one of my best vacations in my life though it was really expensive vacation. I want to visit there again someday...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The rooms are large and clean, each with netted terraces and loungers to listen to jungle noises. try to get a 1st floor room as the ground floor can be overlooked.
You are a little remote, and the Hotel Restaurant is expensive for what it is, and full. There isn't a bar food menu in the evening. There is one minibus that goes into town at 6:30 returning at 8:30, so that doesn't leave much time. The bus is booked up early, so you may need to use a taxi.
Wifi by the pool, so everyone will be nose into some device or other. Suggest eating at lunchtime, going to supermarket in town and spending the evening drinking wine and beer and eating snacks on the terrace.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a beautiful place, with HUGE rooms with verandas netted in, situated in the Jungle at Iguazu. Yes, it's a way from the main road, and yes, you will probably need to use a taxi, but they ring them at reception and they come fast. It's in such a beautiful setting, and it's got a lovely feel to it. The pool was welcome after the day at Iguazu. I would probably not bother eating at the resturant again as it was expensive and not that great, but other than that I have no hesitations to recommend the Jungle Lodge to anyone who is looking for an unusual setting for a stay in Iguazu.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a beatifully situated and well designed hotel with a stunning pool, excelent resturant and in my view, some of the friendliest and most helpful staff I encountered in Argentina. The rooms are stunning and the air con is welcome. Bathrooms are superb and the beds extremely comfy. Our balcony looking out into the forest had hammocks and was heavenly for lounf=ging about. Transport to the falls and other attractions was easily arranged and not particualry overpriced and was extremely reliable. The restaurat had a brilliant breakfast, great lunch and super dinner menus. I feated on various fish and sublime steaks served by very freindly and helpful staff. This hotel has got so much right and despite what others have said the pool is very clean. the food and drink prices are higher than in town but in my view having dine in town on several occasions, the quality was definelty higher. If you like posh international style hotels dont come here. If you want a great quirky and well desinged small oasis in the jungle -give it a try you wont be dissappointed.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room if possible -slightly biger with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Cantera Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Jungle Lodge

Address: Ruta 12 km 5, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Jungle Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Jungle Lodge was carefully built preserving the environment and having the least impact possible. In the 3 hectares of the facilities there are trees of over 400 years old (Purging cassia tree) and others which are protected because they are endangered species (Rosewood). Our Lodge is featured to be an innovating, exclusive proposal and to provide first class services bringing us closer to each passenger. Ideal for vacations, romantic trips, honeymoons, corporate resting, incentive trips, family reunions, relax and adventure in Misiones Jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your La Cantera Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cantera Jungle Hotel Puerto Iguazu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cantera Jungle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.