We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice in Iguazu... But not 5 star...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amerian Portal del Iguazu

Save Saved
You added Amerian Portal del Iguazu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Tres Fronteras 780 y Av Eduardo Arrabal, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 40 hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A great choice in Iguazu... But not 5 star...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

The Amerian was pretty much as I was expecting after reading reviews.

The hotel is nice & a good choice for Iguazu. The location is amazing right on the Tres Frontiers you have Paraguay & Brazil within eyesight!

The rooms are quite dated but perfectly liveable. The bathrooms are badly designed with a sharp stone edge of the bath jutting out just waiting for someone to walk into it (which I did and goodness it hurt!). Amazing views from the balconies.

Unfortunately my main criticism of the hotel is the noise... Every noise in the foyer echoes right up. Although this actually was more noticeable during the day when kids were playing etc so thankfully didn't effect our sleep too much.

Staff were all very helpful, especially when Aerolineas Argentinas went on stike the day we were flying out, staff helped us to make sure we got home - in particular a staff member that was Argentine / American... Can't remember his name unfortunately.

I would recommend this hotel as a nice place to stay in Iguazu. Just don't come expecting a 5 star hotel by western standards.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    279
    205
    48
    10
    9
See reviews for
182
247
19
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Loved this hotel and their good breakfast buffet. This is much newer than the comparably priced hotels of the cities of Rio de Janiero and Buenos Aires,US Marriott or Hyatt. It was built probably in the 2000s and has lovely architecture, rooftop setting, spa and whirlpool, with lots of glass on the main floor. The staff is relatively good in English speaking. You do want to try to get the river view overlooking the pool, but more importantly, overlooking a stunning view of the three rivers converging together. Some rooms have little balconies. In October, it is also pretty quiet and is off season but still perfect for visiting the renowned Iguazu Falls area. The room and bed were very comfortable and clean.
There is a bar/lounge with limited menu food choices on the main level for evenings. There is no place within walking distance that I could discern for restaurants. It is a short taxi ride into the little town and it is advisable to use trip advisor or other references for choosing your restaurant. Word of warning: find out if the restaurant takes credit cards or bring lots of US dollars for Argentina (at least now) as they want dollars and the value of the pesos to the dollar is going down. Many merchants do NOT take credit cards, even major restaurants.
I wish I had spent more time in this location and next time, would definitely use this hotel and would stay longer than 2 days that I spent in the national park on both sides - Brazilian and Argentinian. Each side has certain advantages. The disadvantage is that you have to go back and forth crossing the border and dealing with passports and the Argentinian reciprocity entry fee receipt that you must obtain in hard copy printed paper fo $160 before departing for Argentina. We had a tour guide to manage these things and we were glad we did. In fact, she was one of the best tour guides: Maria Leal Prono, tour guide professional for Iguazu National Park, email: marleapro@hotmail.com, phone 54-3757-448373. You will definitely NOT get the same tour, tips, timing tips, and knowledge about this park without a tour guide.
Highly recommend this hotel. It is even better than its sister Amerian hotel in Buenos Aires in the downtown area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comercial I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Amerian Portal del Iguazu, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Guests:
We thank the preference in the Hotel Amerian Portal del Iguazu, and all the details of their stay.
We hope your next visit, to enjoy more time at the Hotel.

Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

stayed there for two nights in September. General impression positive. Nice and comfortable rooms, though we had a problem with an AC, but maintenance reaction was very quick and and the problem was solved. Restaurant serves quality dishes, especially steaks are nice. Although must say that breakfast is rather limited in variety, but pastries are very very good. Wine list is impressive. Hotel has a good outdoor pool and sauna with a hot tub next to it. Perfect place to relax. Would recommend as a place to stay while visiting the falls.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

A very upscale hotel, first class, very nice impressive rooms, comfortable beds. The lobby area is beautiful and inviting. The staff was very polite, friendly & helpful. The location is great for walking & scenery.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comercial I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Amerian Portal del Iguazu, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest:
 
The team Amerian Portal del Iguazu thanks about your experience at the hotel. Because we work hard to make your stay excellent.

We hope your next visit.

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Belated review but we had a really lovely stay here for 3 nights during our trip around Argentina. The hotel is very impressive with a fabulous lobby and great rooms. We were even given a free (unrequested) upgrade to a suite which was amazing and much appreciated after our tour of south Argentina hostels. Restaurant was really good as were the pools. Staff were great. Bus terminal right outside to go to the (breathtaking) Iquaso park. If I was to be any way critical I would say that the bar service was slow. Otherwise fab. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comercial I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Amerian Portal del Iguazu, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing and share their experience at the Hotel Amerian Portal del Iguazu.
Without a doubt forward to your visit on another occasion, and all those are planning a trip to Puerto Iguazu.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel is very luxurious. Large beds, nice amenities... The buffet was just okay-mainly pastries. The lobby and restaurant gets noisy and gets into the rooms. About 20 min walk to center of town. I would overall recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comercial I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Amerian Portal del Iguazu, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest:

The team Amerian Portal del Iguazu appreciates the choice and your comments about your stay.
Looking forward to your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Amerian Hotel Portal del Iguazu is the best 5* hotel in Iguazu, Argentina with unique location and different feeling being you are staying in cross point of three counties (Argentina, Brazil and Paraguay).

I visited Iguazu, Argentina four times and every time I stay in Amerian Hotel.

The hotel is large and high building compared to others in Iguazu. The lobby is specious with atrium concept.

There are two types of rooms, Jungle view and River view (with or without balconies). The River view room with balcony is most suitable and recommended; where you can feel at the balcony that you are at the meeting point of the three counties bordered by the river and enjoying the green forest.

The main restaurant in the hotel within the main building and serving three meals with nice set-up and front glass view to the pool and the garden of the hotel. Also, there is an outside open air restaurant beside the pool serving “theme nights” specially in summer.

The hotel has a café in the lobby serving snacks and drinks in a very nice atmosphere.

Room Tip: There are two types of rooms, Jungle view and River view (with or without balconies). The River view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comercial I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Amerian Portal del Iguazu, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thanks again for continuing to Amerian Portal del Iguazu.

Our location is also excellent opening our infrastructure allows for incredible natural light. Stand out and modern decor with touches our native.

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
Free internet...
Show More
2.0 mi away
Grand Crucero Hotel
Grand Crucero Hotel
#2 of 40 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 stars 494 reviews
Luxury, Free Pa...
Show More
2.7 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#10 of 40 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 stars 823 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
2.4 mi away
Hotel Cataratas
Hotel Cataratas
#27 of 40 in Puerto Iguazu
3.5 of 5 stars 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Panoramic Hotel Iguazu
Panoramic Hotel Iguazu
#9 of 40 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Esturion Hotel & Lodge
Esturion Hotel & Lodge
#22 of 40 in Puerto Iguazu
3.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
Restaurant, Poo...
Show More
1.0 mi away
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
#4 of 40 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amerian Portal del Iguazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amerian Portal del Iguazu

Address: Av Tres Fronteras 780 y Av Eduardo Arrabal, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amerian Portal del Iguazu 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unique location on the three borders landmark, this sophisticated 5 stars, offer an amazing view on the junction of Parana and Iguazu River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Amerian Portal del Iguazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amerian Portal Del Iguazu Hotel Puerto Iguazu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amerian Portal del Iguazu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.