We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amerian Portal del Iguazu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Amerian Portal del Iguazu to your Saves list
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Tres Fronteras 780 y Av Eduardo Arrabal, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Nelson
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Well run hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

4 nights here, good quiet location, great views over the Brazil and Paraguayan border.
Slightly out of town, but taxis in are cheap. v. good staff, hotel restaurant was good value.

Central hotel atrium area is spectacular, good spa, lovely grounds and lovely pool

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comercial I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Amerian Portal del Iguazu, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear guest!

Thank you for choosing to Amerian Portal del Iguazu, and discuss every detail of your stay.



See you in a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    283
    60
    14
    13
See reviews for
250
365
29
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed here as part of our 40th wedding aniversary South American tour.What a fantastic hotel location and you must ask for a river view where from your room,apart from seeing the pool(very inviting)you can see three countries where the river divides them,Paraguy,Brasil and Argentina.
Could have stayed longer but hopefully will be back there.Very clean and all the staff very friendly and could not do enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comercial I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Amerian Portal del Iguazu, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear

Thanks for all the comments about the Hotel Amerian Portal del Iguazu.

It is a great contribution to the team hotel to share the experience with your stay.

The hope for a future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
559 reviews 559 reviews
183 hotel reviews
Reviews in 188 cities Reviews in 188 cities
415 helpful votes 415 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I had room 101 which had a great view of the hotel pool and of the river. It was large, comfortable with mini-bar, flat-screen TV with about 60 cable channels including CNN. The room had a french-balcony which was more of an architectural feature. The buffet breakfast is excellent.

There is excellent and free wi-fi and you are given the password along with your key card. There are also four computers in the lobby for public use.

It is an atrium style hotel and rooms ending 01,03,05,07 and 09 are directly over the restaurant on the lower level. Noise filters up and being in room 101, I could hear dishes and music coming from the restaurant. It was not bothersome, but being on a upper floor my prevent this problem.

The outdoor pool is lovely with lots of lounge chairs and towels available.

The hotel is almost across the street from the viewpoint for the three rivers. There is a row of souvenir shops on the walkway going down to the river; but continue on down to the walkway next to the river and you will find artisans offering very nice and inexpensive hand-make jewelry.

This is also the bus stop and it is a 2 peso ride to town.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Certainly one of the better hotels in the region of Iguazu, but neither the quality of the rooms, gym, breakfast nor the service are worth the prices they ask for. The quality and assortment of the food could be better. The staff didn't seem to care much about our wellbeeing. All in all by far not a five nor a four star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comercial I, Gerente General at Amerian Portal del Iguazu, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Your comment is welcome to watch for better performance. We work and we are enabled to provide a high quality service. It is worth noting in numerous comments on this page and others, guarantee that our staff is committed and helpful, we really take care of their wellbeing and quality according to the level of hotel. Gym machines are being renovated, is the only hotel that has vibrating platforms and beds with the presence of pilates instructor. We are making a change in our menu with more variety of dishes with regional distinction.
We will be communicating to your mail so we can keep track of their experience, and to detect differences you mention.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

With so many hotels to choose from in this area, you can't go wrong here. Lovely rooms, very spacious and a gorgeous pool area. I wished I was staying longer!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comercial I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Amerian Portal del Iguazu, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear:


Thank you very much for sharing your experience in Amerian Portal del Iguazu, and recommend it as an excellent option. We hope your stay has been memorable.
We invite you to Know our new spaces in the SPA with the better view......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The hotel is located on the tripartite border with Paraguay and Brazil, the view from the pool area and pool view rooms is a definite plus for this hotel.

The town centre is a 5 minute taxi ride away, or even walkable if you're of a mind for some exercise in the heat. There are some great steak restaurants in town, the Argentinians certainly know how to cook a steak, however if you are looking for anything else you may be a little disappointed.

Breakfast in the hotel is ok, the normal spread of fruit / cheese / cold meats / and pastries, nothing special but perfectly acceptable, we didn't have any other meals in the hotel so can't make any comments there.

We saw some reviews before we travelled complaining about the attitude of the reception staff, as far as we are concerned whoever wrote those reviews must have stayed at another hotel. Reception staff were friendly and efficient, spoke English very well and didn't even smirk at my attempts at Spanish, they even made helpful comments.

There isn't much more to say about this hotel, it was clean and modern, had all the usual facilities and well trained staff, it deserves the 4 star rating.

Room Tip: If you want to have your room door open, go for a pool view room, the ones facing the front look ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

I've been traveling with my boyfriend for 5 weeks and we've stayed in both 5 star and 2 star hotels.. But this is by far the worst!!

The first night we went out for dinner at Aqva and he got food poisoning.. I called reception at 4am for a doctor and they said "no sorry there's no doctor". I said "what do you mean?! What do you do when people get sick?" he said "sorry but no doctor". Then I said "so when people are dying you just say too bad?!" he then said "doctor 30 mins away"... So they DID have a doctor! He then said "will you pay the doctor"... What kind of stupid question is that?! Of course I would pay a doctor!!! I wasn't sure I had enough cash on me so I asked him if I didn't have enough, could the hotel pay and I pay them back.. He said "no there is an ATM downtown (10 min cab)"... He expected me to go to an ATM at 4am?!!! When the doctors finally came they didn't speak English (even though the receptionist said they would) and he stood there chuckling to them that he wasn't able to translate... Everywhere else we've stayed at have been 100 times more helpful ESP in a medical situation!!

As we can't go anywhere I ordered
Room service.. Not only did she get my order for salad wrong TWICE.. It tasted HORRIBLE (which is hard for raw veggies) AND they charged me 40 pesos just for bringing in to my room!! (the salad was only 48 itself)!!

Unfortunately we are stuck in this dump for another few nights if not more and none of the tv channels are in English (unlike every other hotel I've stayed in) and I have to deal with awful food and service!

Please don't waste your money here!!

The only plus side is the rooms are modern... And clean.. But I expect that from such an expensive place.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amerian Portal del Iguazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amerian Portal del Iguazu

Address: Av Tres Fronteras 780 y Av Eduardo Arrabal, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amerian Portal del Iguazu 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unique location on the three borders landmark, this sophisticated 5 stars, offer an amazing view on the junction of Parana and Iguazu River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Amerian Portal del Iguazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amerian Portal Del Iguazu Hotel Puerto Iguazu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amerian Portal del Iguazu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.