We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel with great food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel de la Fonte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Boutique Hotel de la Fonte to your Saves list
Boutique Hotel de la Fonte
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 de Mayo y Corrientes s/n, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Decent hotel with great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The service was excellent at this hotel and our room was great. The food at the restaurant is also pretty incredible. There was some work going on to the property while we were there but they seemed to get on with that pretty quietly so it wasn't really a problem. The town itself is not that great but obviously the falls make it well worth the visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    99
    33
    9
    1
See reviews for
27
236
33
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel while visiting the Iguazu falls. The staff were lovely and genuinely tried to make our stay a great experience, very welcoming. The premises were beautiful, kind of a jungle setting with small bungalows. The dinner was also very special, can really tell that the chef had a Michelin experience in the past, one of our better meals in Argentina.
However, the accommodation itself was poor for what we expected from a boutique advertised hotel at $160 per night. The rooms were very basic, the furniture tired, the bed not so comfortable (2 twins put together to make a double bed). The shower never had really warm water (was always borderline cold), and maybe we were unlucky, but there were works happening around the pool area when we were there, so there was a lot of noise from the workers, and also the pool area was inaccessible because if that.
So overall great intentions, but this place needs a serious "touch up" to be able to call themselves a boutique hotel and charge the prices they do.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel was nice but sadly did not live up to our expectations. The good things were the really helpful staff and the owners are absolutely lovely. There are also some cute cats and very stylish decor. The location isn't as bad as it is made out - it took us a 10 -15 minute walk to get into Puerto Iguazu or you could get the bus from the top of the road which took 5 minutes and cost hardly anything. You could also get the bus from the top of the road directly to the Argentinian side of the falls and be dropped back there for 35 Argentinian Pesos each way.

The things that let us down were that the hot tub wasn't working at all during our stay; our room/hut was in the shade all day so we actually had to put the heating on; the shower was weak and could be very temperamental (going from hot to cold); breakfast was beautifully presented but very limited. There were no tea/coffee making facilities or safe in the room (although they would hold things behind reception). There were also notices forbidding you to bring your own drinks into the room and threatening to charge corkage - it wasn't clear if this included bottles of water, which were pricey from the mini bar. It just wasn't what we expected from a boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Don't go for 'Bambu' as it is in the shade all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We felt at home straight away. Staff was very friendly and gave us plenty of information on visiting the waterfalls. They also arranged our transport to the Brazilian side of the falls.
The hotel is located about 15 minutes (walking) away from the town centre in a residential area. Since the town's centre isn't that nice this wasn't a problem for us; and the street is more quiet at night than the ones in the town itself. Walking route was safe to walk at night.
Rooms are located around a great 'jungle' garden. Our room was nice and comfortable, with a very big bathroom and we had a private patio (there is only 1 room which has this).
Unfortunately the parrot which we read about in other reviews went missing. But the 2 cats make up for this. They are just as nice as the staff. But don't worry if you are for example allergic; the cats won't bother you if you ignore them.
You should definately try out the restaurant! And the breakfast isn't buffet style, but served out to you on a specially made wooden board with plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Isa, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. Hotel is boutique style accommodation situated in Puerto Iguazu. Friendly service and happy cats including Slyvester and Milo, who also welcome guests. Beautiful artwork and restaurant. Food is chef prepared. Good breakfasts. The downside to this hotel is the locatio,n as it is located away from the city centre. You need to catch a bus to the falls. However, the hotel is located in a quiet neighbourhood. Friendly owner and staff. Good English is spoken. Rooms are clean and well appointed, with a daily cleaning service. Recommended hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cocoola room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights and I have to say it was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. The staff are amazing great service and the lay out of the complex is great. The only thing I would advise is if you are allergic to cats, like me, you should avoid. The last night I stayed when the room was being cleaned a cat got in and I couldn't sleep in the bed because one of the cats was in the room and on the bed. It's a small thing and I am in the minority re: being allergic to cats but it's something they could put on the website.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was a lovely, relaxing hotel with excellent service. The restaurant also serves very good food. The facilities are good and relaxing after a long day at the falls - a quick dip in the pool and/or a warm jacuzzi are very welcome

A few small areas for improvement would be
1. My room had no bedside lamps. May be a little nit-picky but it made it difficult to read in bed or do anything between full light & no light
2. Every morning at about 7.30 the groundskeeper started his work mowing lawns and using blow machines to clear leaves etc. This interrupted morning sleep time!
3. In the restaurant which served great food in the evening, the presence of two cats - one of which decided to sleep on a chair at the table beside me was rather off putting
4. Breakfast - whereas it is presented nicely, it is a little light and having more choice would be good

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boutique Hotel de la Fonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel de la Fonte

Address: 1 de Mayo y Corrientes s/n, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#15 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boutique Hotel de la Fonte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a different and unique boutique hotel, set in a park surrounded by lush tropical nature. We are located at 450 meters from the Hito Tres Fronteras/viewing point, 600 meters from Puerto Iguazu downtown and 18 km of the Iguazu National Park. Our hotel has 10 rooms. Each room has a different decoration. All rooms are equipped with A/C hot-cold, fridge, LCD TV, cable, Wi-Fi and the Dolce Vita room has a double Jacuzzi.In services we have a salt swimming pool, climatic Jacuzzi, massage, wireless internet, laundry service, parking lot and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Boutique Hotel de la Fonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Puerto Iguazu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel de la Fonte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.