We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqva Restaurant

Aqva Restaurant
Av. Cordoba y Carlos Thays, Puerto Iguazu CP3370 , Argentina
+54 3757 422064
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
St. Augustine, FL
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Would go back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The service was great! My fish was good, my husband's BBQ pork was excellent, we also really enjoyed the antipasto appetizer. The ambiance was just ok, I think if they turned the lights down it would help tremendously. Dinner is about great food and great atmosphere. They could improve the whole experience by improving the ambiance a bit. The staff did an excellent job and food was great! Overall good restaurant and I would go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    917
    633
    181
    40
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Decent but small portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The food at Aqva was not bad, but the portions were on the small side. The highlight of the meal was the dessert - pancakes with dulce de leche - but the beef was so-so and the amount of fries was ridiculous for a "full portion". The fact that every table around us seemed to get complimentary limoncellos and we didn't was not cool, though.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Down town restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Had the lamb cutlets which were a bit overdone for my taste. Hubby had the pork shoulder which was ok. The caprianha mousse was divine. Good choice of wines

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“More than steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

If you want something other than beef while visiting, then Aqva offers great pastas. Had the shrimp and avocado starter which tasted like tuba salad, medallions of beef with a Malbec sauce, fresh pasta with shrimp sauce, dessert and a bottle of Malbec for $90 (USD) + tip. I would recommend this place if you are visiting the falls.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Could have been great, probably our fault”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Lovely staff, simple setting (too bright but a faux pas IMHO of a lot of Argentine spots). Food could have been good but meat (loom and pork) was over cooked. I don't believe this was their fault but an assumption about American travelers. A general word of caution (which we basically learned on this occasion): If you are aware that proper meat is to be served medium rare or rare make sure to emphasize your preference, say you want it jugoso (juicy) or (if you are obviously American) they will assume you want it well done (a travesty for most meat lovers). Outside of this faux pas assuredly a delightful pick here in Iguazu.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aqva Restaurant also viewed

Puerto Iguazu, Province of Misiones
Puerto Iguazu, Province of Misiones
 
Puerto Iguazu, Province of Misiones
Puerto Iguazu, Province of Misiones
 

Been to Aqva Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqva Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.