We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice hotel, but: expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Parque Nacional Iguazu, Iguazu National Park 3370, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Great location, nice hotel, but: expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2006

We really like the Sheraton - the rooms were fine, quite spacious, had a balcony, and they were very clean. From what I've read in other reviews, I actually expected it to be a much uglier concrete block than it actually was (ok, the building is no beauty, but the 3 levels don't look so bad ;-).

What you pay (premium) for, and what is really worth every cent, is the location: you are very close to the different walks to the falls, and you are right in the middle of Iguazu's sub-tropical jungle. It is more than convenient to just walk out of your hotel and be at the falls within 15 minutes walking! So if you can afford it, I really recommend to stay at a hotel inside the national park.

We "only" had a jungle view room because the falls view rooms were all booked, but we were not disappointed - you see enough of the falls all day long, and it is something special to be woken up with a serenade of birds and frogs from the jungle...

A little drawback is the fact that the Sheraton itself doesn't offer a minimarket or something alike, so that you have to pay for their expensive beverages - but there are a few restaurants with shops just a 5 minute walk from the hotel, and they have very reasonable prices.

  • Liked — location inside national park, free internet terminals
  • Disliked — quite expensive
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    836
    343
    107
    56
See reviews for
377
1,010
101
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2006

I am glad we stayed in the park. It was so convienent to just walk back to the hotel and not have to worry about catching a bus back to the town. Plus, when we took the boat ride into the falls and got soaked, it was great to just walk back to the hotel and not have to be wet all day long or endure a bus ride in wet clothing.

However, this is an expensive hotel. They didn't have a king-sized bed which was irritating since that was specified in our reservation. The breakfast is very good, standard American bacon & eggs plus all of the pastries and breads with jellies & dulce de leche - even champagne on Sunday. The restaurant downstairs for dinner was horrible. Neither my husband nor I enjoyed our meals at all, very bland. There is also a buffet that looked like it might have been good - but for $25 USD (for lunch and dinner), which seemed really expensive compared to both the a la carte menu and every other meal we had in Argentina (the buffet inside the park that is open for lunch and less than $10 USD by comparison). For the rest of the our time there, we ordered burgers and sandwiches at the bar in the lobby. Nothing exceptional, but it worked for us. That is the main drawback to the hotel, the food isn't good and by the time you spend 7 hours walking around the falls all day long, you don't really feel like venturing into the city, or paying for a taxi to take you which was very expensive compared to BsAs taxis.

But would I stay here again? Absolutely. You can't beat the convience and waking up to see the falls from your hotel room and eating breakfast looking at the falls was outstanding.

And another observation: most of the other guests staying there were older or were families. In fact, I really didn't see any else our age (mid-twenties). This didn't bother us at all because we could enjoy the nightlife during the rest of our trip (Rio, Salvador, BsAs). It was kind of nice to sit back at the hotel bar and have a Quilmes and just relax.

  • Liked — Location, eating breakfast looking over the falls
  • Disliked — Hotel restaurant, expensive room rates
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2006

Travel agent in Australia booked the hotel for us based on information from the web and the fact that it was situated at the falls for real convenience.

The tariff was on par with equivalent hotels in Australia. The menu and wine selection in the restaurant was very good and, considering the isolation of the place, quite reasonably priced.

The bar/restuarant set up is condusive for meeting people, which we did, and relaxing after a hectic daily tour/s.

The hotel is well presented and the only complaint that I could possibly highlight was that we were given a twin room rather than a double despite the fact that we had booked some 3 months previously. Didn't make a fuss over it though.

  • Liked — Convenience
  • Disliked — nothing untoward to report
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2006

Recently spent two nights in a Falls View room at the Sheraton Iguazu as part of a trip to Argentina. The hotel is located inside of the park, which is probably its best feature. The hotel in general reminds you of a cruise ship. Some rooms face the Iguazu Falls, the others face the garden. The rooms are very average. The linen on the beds is the typical Sheraton linen that you find in all Sheraton Hotels. The rooms appear not well kept. The bathtub was painted yellow. The water pressure was a trickle. Each day we received a typed message from the manager stating they were working on the hot water. The sliding screen door for the balcony had multiple holes allowing insects to fly into the room. The shelves in the closet were falling apart. The food was very expensive and horrible! The front desk staff was nice, however I felt that everyone else was trying to sell something. For example, the water level at the Falls was reported to be low prior to our arrival. After arriving at the hotel we were told that all excursions were running normal duty. The excursion company had representatives inside of the hotel lobby. Only when we got to a certain point in the excursion did they tell us we could not complete the excursion despite having paid full price.
I would recommend staying at the Sheraton only if you will be traveling to the Falls for the first time and staying a couple of days. The location inside of the park is its best asset. If you have the time, check out the spa. It is one of the most beautiful I have ever seen. Hopefully plans are in place to bring the rest of the hotel up to the standards of the spa.
Overall I feel that I got poor quallity for the amount of money I paid to stay at this hotel.

  • Liked — location inside of the park
  • Disliked — the rooms and food
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, Leics, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in September, as part of our silver wedding anniversary celebrations. When we booked, we could only get a garden view room, but i emailed the hotel and explained we were celebrating our anniversary and asked if possible to upgrade to a Falls View room. We were not disappointed! On arrival the receptionist knew about this and we were given a Falls View room AND a complimentary bottle of champagne to celebrate!! Our main reason to visit the resort was to see the Falls (which are spectacular) and so we were absolutely delighted to be able to see them from our room. We have no complaints at all about our visit. The hotel staff were very efficient and able to deal with any queries. We ate 3 lovely meals in the restaurant and our breakfast was included in the room rate - self service buffet. The hotel pool area has now been renovated and was lovely to sit around. There is also a very nice spa area, which we didn't have time to try. We walked both the Upper and lower Falls area and also took the train (which was free) to the Devil's Throat. It is also possible to take boat rides and jeep safaris around the falls area if you wish to add to the excitement.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2006

good:
superb location
friendly helpful staff
comfortable room
view
internet free
tv with cnn
spa
pool

bad:
no wine knowledge
not good food
poor shower
very expensive laundry

  • Liked — Location and spa
  • Disliked — Restaurant is overrated
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2006

Located inside the national park, the Sheraton Iguazu is a great place to stay when visiting the falls, especially in a falls view room. While the hotel is isolated, it is perfect for those who prefer peace and quiet. And the proximity to the falls can't be beat! The rooms are standard Sheraton, but that includes a comfortable bed, modern bath, mini-fridge and in-room safe. Our 2-night stay in July was just enough to see both the Argentine and Brazilian side of the falls (make sure you have a Brazilian visa before you get there or you won't be allow across the border). We hired a driver for the day and had a very nice tour on the Brazilian side. We recommend the Brazilian buffet at the National Park for lunch-extensive and delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa

Address: Parque Nacional Iguazu, Iguazu National Park 3370, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Iguazu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Iguazu National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Iguazu Hotel Iguazu National Park
Sheraton Iguazu Resort And Spa
Sheraton Iguazu National Park
Iguazu National Park Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.