We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, but dirty” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Parque Nacional Iguazu, Iguazu National Park 3370, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great service, but dirty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

First let me say the customer service here is excellent. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The food was excellent (including breakfast). We ordered room service (the fish and risotto) both nights we were there and they were our favorite meals of the trip. They also sent us up a bottle of champagne and chocolates our first night because we were on our honeymoon.

That being said we had an issue with our first room. There were a lot of ants going up the wall. We complained and they moved us to another room. Unfortunately this room had ants too, but not as many and contained in the bathroom. Luckily we had a bug spray that we used on the holes and never saw ants again.

We did a spa package and were less than impressed. Save the money on a massage and just do the hydromassage, which is much cheaper. The towels in the spa were very old and ragged. The relaxation room was dirty and the women who work at the spa were yelling back and forth at each other, so it definitely was not relaxing.

Definitely stay here for the location, just don't expect a super nice hotel. It was great to just walk out the door in the morning and be in the park. We could also come back and change clothes and go back out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian B, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your reviews. First of all we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay. We truly appreciate your constructive comments. It`s good to know that you enjoyed our customer services.
We look forward to see you again soon in Iguazú, so you can enjoy again our best meals.
Sincerely, Cristian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    836
    343
    107
    56
See reviews for
377
1,010
101
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We booked 2 rooms and as SPG Platinum were upgraded to nice suites overlooking the falls.
Location of the hotel is superb, the only hotel within the park and the views from the rooms or restaurant are terrific.
The breakfast buffet was very good and the coffee shop and restaurant offered a nice variety .
The rooms were clean but need updating .Nice lobby and one of the nicest business center;s, especially the library.
The swimming pool and spa are pretty good but the fitness center needs a quick update, many of the machines are old and rusty..
The front desk manger was very professional and helpful, he took care of all our needs without any hesitation.
Will definitely stay again !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian B, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments!!
It`s great knowing that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel and our location!!
Thanks for the constructive comments, this helps us to improve our services every day.
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Sincerely, Cristian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is pricy, but we stayed here because of location. You can't beat the location if you are going to visit the Falls (and why else would you go here) - because the hotel is right next to the park entrance, and you can walk to all sites within 5 minutes of your hotel room. There are amazing views of the falls from all of the lobbies, bar, and common areas. Because of this, I'd say you don't really need to pay a lot of extra $ to get the Falls view, unless for some reason you really want to. You are out hiking around the falls each day, so we didn't think it was necessary. We loved hanging out at the pool (very nice on a hot day after hiking), and also did the moonlight / full moon hike to the falls which was amazing (hotel will help you book it).

Not the nicest Sheraton you will ever stay at, but 100% worth it for the location!

Room Tip: There are amazing views of the falls from all of the lobbies, bar, and common areas. Because of this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian B, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments!!
We are really glad to know that you could enjoy our location and excellents views!!
We are looking to welcoming you soon!!
Regards, Cristian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I would say don't stay here if you don't plan on staying on the falls view side of the hotel, but, just the proximity to the park would make it worthwhile. So definitely splurge and stay here even if it's Garden View.

Overall, had a very enjoyable experience! We arrived early afternoon and were able to have room service lunch before heading out to the park. When one of our hamburgers was not acceptable, the manager on duty visited our room, personally apologized and replaced it. A skimpy burger is not ok at those high prices!

We were able to enjoy the devils throat until the park guide was ushering us back down the walkway to the last train out. We were basically the only people left on the platform at closing just because we didn't have to rush back and worry about catching the transport back to town. Although Sheraton guests do not enjoy extended park hours, they do get to use regular hours to the fullest extent which is an opportunity in itself.

The pool was really delightful and while not huge, was big enough to give everyone some space of their own to enjoy it. There is also a nice (overpriced) gift shop where I picked up some magnets.

The room itself would be more of a 3-4 star in the US. The shower head was awkwardly placed and very difficult for a taller person like myself to maneuver under. Bed was exceptionally comfortable and all was very clean.

Big negatives? Charging for wifi is not ok. Even it's in the middle of a national park, it's just ridiculous to charge as much as a night in a hostel (hostel with free wifi) for 24 hours of internet. Also the dining was not as great as it could have been. Expect to pay way to much for not great quality and you'll be ok. Breakfast was a lot of fruit and otherwise basic buffet.

Remember, you're paying for the proximity and the view. And trust me, it's worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian B, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments, they are actually very constructive. I would like to express our sincere apologize for all inconveniences you had encounter during your last stay. It`s great that you coul enjoy our location!!
We are looking forward to being of services to you again in the next future.
Our best regards, Cristian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We spent two nights at the Sheraton. If we were to visit Iguazu Falls again, we would choose to stay at the Sheraton again. But our decision is mostly due to convenience. The Sheraton is the only hotel located in the park. It was great to have a view of the falls from our room. And yes, if your budget permits it, get a room with a view of the falls. It's not everyday that you can wake up and look out your hotel room and see the falls.

The hotel could use some updating. Also, unlike the Hilton Buenos Aires, the Sheraton chose not to acknowledge the fact that we were visiting Argentina as part of my partner's birthday celebration. Of course, hotels don't have to do anything. But what a contrast between the two hotels. Both stays were on points and we are Gold in both the SPG and the HHonors program. There was absolutely NO acknowledgment by the Sheraton that we were celebrating a birthday. Whereas the Hilton gave us a double upgrade (from standard room to the Executive Floor to a Junior Suite). The Hilton also surprised us with two boxes of chocolates and three bottles of bubbly.

Generally, we felt the service was ok at the Sheraton. Most employees were pleasant and helpful if you asked for help. But it just seemed as if they all knew they didn't have to try too hard because they were the only option in the park. One server in the lobby bar (forgot her name) was the exception and we felt she provided excellent service. The food was pretty good, both the complimentary breakfast, and the food available in the lobby bar (more limited menu then the restaurant). We preferred the lobby bar because you could sit outside and see the falls. We did go into town the first night for dinner and thought the food at the Sheraton was pretty good even compared to the restaurant in town.

In summary, keep your expectations, and just enjoy being at such a beautiful park!

Room Tip: If your budget permits, get a room with a view. I
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Sheraton Iguazu Resort and Spa is all about the location. I cant imagine beating it. There's nothing quite like having a champs at the bar with the gorgeous falls starring back at you. Seriously, what better view can you get?

The staff were friendly, the rooms were clean, neat and had adequate supplies. Their bar and restaurants had enough variety of food (if you're in a meat coma after visiting BA) and there are plenty of short walks close by to go exploring of the beautiful location. Pool and pool bar are a great bonus if you want to relax and enjoy the location as well.

2 nights would probably be enough to allow time to pop over to the Brazilian side, but location just doesn't get any better.

Room Tip: Request falls from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian B, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments!! It`s great knowing that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel, is great to receive positive feedback from the services we offer.
We look forward to welcoming you soon again on your next visit to the land of the falls.
Sincerely yours, Cristian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I had to really think about this one for a while. I read some of the reviews from the other posters here who had gone before me, and then came up with mine. I took a side trip to Iguazu while staying in Buenos Aires in May 2013, and stayed at the Sheraton property. Let me first state that this is not a 4 or 5 star property in terms of amenities. Experience has taught me that when traveling in countries outside of the US, to drop the star rating back at least 1 star (w/ the exception of luxury chains such as Leading Hotels of the World etc.). In other words, if you are an American and plan to travel here, do not expect the Ritz Carlton or the Four Seasons. It is not that. With all of that having been said, it is a perfectly good property in a fabulous location. And that is what you are paying for. Location, location, location. The rooms are nothing special, but they are clean and well-equipped. Definitely get a falls view room - the view is magnificent. The food is just okay. The breakfast is perfectly fine - lots of fresh fruits, juices, champagne, breads etc. I'd probably go elsewhere for lunch and/or dinner. We went to the restaurant in the park called La Selva and food was better than at the hotel. Large parrillada with many selections, and a decent selection of fruits and veggies, salad etc. We found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly - no issues there. The most important thing to remember is that life moves at a slower pace in many other countries, so add an hour or two to the "estimate" you are given, and you'll be fine. And oh ------ the monkeys!! We arrived back at the hotel in the early evening after hiking the park, and the hotel was covered with Capuchin monkeys swinging from the balconies - and obviously well attuned to the fact that little children often drop scraps of food at the terrace restaurant!! We loved it..it was just so much fun to see. The hotel itself is average, but the experience is excellent, so I'm averaging and giving it a "very good" review.

Room Tip: Falls view room for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristian B, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and remarks!!
We are glad that you had an excellent experience here.
You were very lucky to see the monkeys so close!!
We look forward to see you again soon.
Sincerely, Cristian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa

Address: Parque Nacional Iguazu, Iguazu National Park 3370, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Iguazu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Iguazu National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Iguazu Hotel Iguazu National Park
Sheraton Iguazu Resort And Spa
Sheraton Iguazu National Park
Iguazu National Park Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.