We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the Best day Excursion I Have Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iguazu Falls

Iguazu Falls
Iguazu River, Iguazu National Park, Argentina
+54 3757 49-1469
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Iguazu Falls like an insider
Special Offer
$33*
and up
Full Day Tour to Iguazu Falls
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Iguazu National Park was created in 1934, with approximately 67,620 hectares/167,091 acres was declared "Natural Heritage to the Humanity" by the UNESCO in 1984 due to its scenic beauties and to the great biological diversity of the subtropical forest. This natural sanctuary, was declareted new 7 wonder of the world in 11/11/11. The Iguazu Falls are located in the Argentina's northeaster corner, bestowed with benevolent rains and temperatures (15ºC/59°F average in Winter and 30ºC/ 86°F average in Summer) brings about a very humid atmosphere almost windless due to the leafy vegetation canopy. The Iguazu river has a total extension of 1320 km/ 820 miles until flowing into the Parana River, 23 km/ 14 miles after the waterfalls. Inside the National Park, the river widens to about 1500 meters/ 0.9 miles and turns south, next it turns north, in the shape of a wide "U" where the river mouth presents the abrupt slump of soil which conforms the cataratas: a magnificent waterfall. All along the above mentioned prominent curve, a proliferation of reefs, islets and prolonged islands provoke the fragmentation of the river in numerous branches. When the river reaches the cliff, each branch becomes a waterfall and together comprise the great Iguazu Waterfalls. The Iguazu Falls appear grandiose and majestic in the Misiones forest dazzling visitors from all over the world. In celebration of all this beauty and unique attraction as from July 2001, a new concept of ecological tourism has been implemented within the Iguazu National Park, with an investment of 25 million dollars and service and facilities according to the international tourist demands, prioritizing at the same time the Park's care and preservation, a sample of the Paranaense Subtropical Forest declared Natural Heritage to the Humanity" by the UNESCO in 1984. The fundamental objectives of this enterprise are the recover and conservation of the Waterfall Area, and the incentive to the present and future generations to renew the legendary admiration arisen by this wonderful masterpiece of nature. Today, our visitors can enjoy safe and modern walkways from start to finish of the impressive falls and the Upper and Lower Circuits and the Devil's Throat, and facilities according to the natural environment such as the new Visitor Center and the alternative transportation of the Ecological Forest Train, which complies with international policies of accessibility and preservation of the World Union for Nature Conservation.
Rochester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Possibly the Best day Excursion I Have Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Please don't read and look at photos of Iguazu. You just have to be there and experience this incredible national park. I spent 1 whole day here, and it will be one of the most memorable days in my life.
2 Tips - . Bring plenty of Argentine Pesos as credit card payments to enter the park are not accepted. Credit card payments are accepted once you enter the park to buy food, drinks, souvenirs and additional tours. Visit the Brazilian side of the falls, so spend at least 2 days here and appreciate how big and wonderful these falls can be

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,885 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,171
    576
    89
    34
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“One of the wonders of the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We spent almost a day at the falls on the Argentinian side, travelling by truck, boat, train and mostly foot. The falls themselves are truly amazing from any perspective, but up close you can really get a feeling for the power. The boat trip to their base means that you get very wet as well as exhilarated and is worth the effort. We ended the day with an eco tour and we were fortunate to see two types of toucan and a cayman half out of the water. Go!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Iguazu Falls , Argentina side was absolutely beautiful, is tourist friendly,bilingual tour guides were very helpful and well organized, we were able to be very close to the falls and take amazing pictures,.The hotel were we stayed is close to the borders Brazil, Argentina and Paraguay,
The whole experience is unforgetful!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haines, Alaska, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“"Breath-taking, lots of options, hiking, so beautiful!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is the most beautiful natural thing in the world. the paths allow us to get right up to the waterfalls and be sprayed by their mist. There are beautiful butterflys everywhere and the park is clean and there is so many trails. One of the highlights to Argentina.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“So glad we went to see it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We decided to spend two nights at the Sheraton to visit Iguazu Falls during our recent trip to Argentina. We are so glad we did! The Falls are beautiful. Unfortunately, we did not go to the Brazilian side. We decided not to spend the almost $200USD/person to get the Brazilian visa (visa fee plus service fees).

We arrived on LAN the first flight into Iguazu from Buenos Aires. It is easy to get a taxi, there is a stand at the airport right after baggage claim. I believe it was 110 pesos to the Sheraton. Our driver, Pablo, was conversant in English and a really nice guy. We decided to call him later that night to take us into town for dinner (he waited for us and took us back to the Sheraton after dinner). We also had him take us back to the airport. He was always on time and very polite. See picture for contact information.

We were able to check-in as soon as we arrived at the Sheraton. After freshening up, we had lunch at the lobby bar and enjoyed the view of the falls. Because the weather forecast called for rain the next day, we were advised to visit Devil's Throat first, to take in the view while the weather was good. We took the train and went to Devil's Throat. Awesome view! We also went ahead and purchased a souvenir picture of us at the falls. The photographer had a great view of the falls and was able to keep his camera dry, something that will be difficult to do!

That night we went into town for dinner.

The next day, we did the lower trail first, and took the boat to the island, then we did the upper trail. Since we had extra time, we decided to go back and see Devil's Throat. We concluded the day by taking the train to the visitor's center to do some shopping at the souvenir shops. We stayed in at the Sheraton for dinner on the second night, as we wanted to just relax at the hotel.

Overall, we thought two nights was perfect for the Argentinian side. If we had gone to the Brazilian side, we would have done that the first day we arrived. While it can obviously be done, it would have been a much more "stressful" trip since we would have had to do a lot of sight seeing and hiking in two days. For those that want to see the sights but not be rushed and enjoy some relaxation between the sight seeing, we would recommend either three nights, or perhaps taking the last flight out of Iguazu to Buenos Aires. We took the first flight out.

By the way, flights from Buenos Aires were over $500USD/person. We used some of our British Airways miles for two free tickets on LAN. At 15,000 miles per ticket, it was a pretty good use of miles.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iguazu Falls also viewed

Puerto Iguazu, Province of Misiones
 

Been to Iguazu Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iguazu Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.