We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get all the facts before you go” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Canyon Ranch Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Grand Canyon Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Grand Canyon Ranch Resort
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   3750 E. Diamond Bar Ranch Rd., Meadview, AZ 86444   |  
Hotel amenities
San Andreas, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Get all the facts before you go”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2006

This ranch/resort promotes itself as being on the rim of the Grand Canyon. It is in fact 15 miles away by an unimproved dirt road. Accomodations are cabin or tipi and very basic, but expensive. Meals are supposed to be authentic cowboy fare, but they were mediocre at best. Dinner was a tough steak, frozen ear of corn, potatoes, roll and a salad with iceberg lettuce and a tomoto slice. Dessert was a gooey underdone chocolate mess that was unedible. We paid $374.00 for one night, and unless you are willing to pay an additional $119.00 pp to take a helicopter ride, you probably won't see the Grand Canyon from here. There was very little authentic about this weekend except we feel we were duped by misleading advertising. Aug 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    75
    28
    21
    63
See reviews for
118
125
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2006

This was a great experience. We drove to the place, whch is quite a drive from the main road and particularly bumpy for the last 7 miles. Probably the bumpiest road I have ever driven on. I expected this place to be quite commercilaised as it is in various UK brochures. Not true. It is like arriving at a working farm. No check-in, apart from telling someon we had arrived, no credit card details taken etx etc - which is a nice change. You are shown to your cabin and left pretty much to yourself. There are a number of real charachters on this ranch. The cabins are rustic, pretty small - abit like Little House on the Prairie inside. Didn't even see the grand canyon whe we were here. It would have been a number of miles further up the road. Didn't worry too much as we had just come from the South Rim anyway. One cowboy took our 4 year old son on a pony around the compound, once in the afternoon and once the next day as a courtsey - wouldn't even take a tip for doing it, which was a nice touch. My son enjoyed this as he hadn't really been able to get on horseback anywhere else we had been. You definitely get the feel that these are real hardworking cowboys. You are right next to the horses and a few cows so it also comes complete with authentic ranch smells and sounds. This was good for us but I guess not for everyone. The food was honest and apetising. The sing-along at the campfire was magical - no doubt helped by the wine you can buy to accomany the meal! It was a good experience but probably a bit overpriced - but then again what is the alternative if you like the sound if this kind of thing. Driving to and around the grand canyon over a week gives you an appreciation of the size, beauty and variability of the territory that flying in as a day trip from Vegas (flew to the South Rim 10 years ago) never gives you.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2006

Having looked forward to this trip as the "highlight" of our holiday we were sadly disappointed. To be fair, the Ranch staff were friendly (all barring one of the cowboys who was positively rude), the cabins comfortable (if cool..) and the food very good, but the much hyped flight over the Grand Canyon is a joke! We travelled a very short section indeed - spending at the most 8 minutes (it seemed more like half that!) within the Canyon itself. A bit like expecting dinner at the Ritz and being given a ham sandwich in the foyer - It left you feeling somewhat short-changed! We would recommend you look elsewhere if the Grand Canyon experience is what you are seeking.

Stayed April 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Meadview hotels

warrington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2006

We saw this trip in the Virgin USA brochure before we left the UK. The full trip included a helicopter flight from Vegas and back. It looked like great value when compared to other Grand Canyon helicopter tours. I had already been to the Grand Canyon a few years before so was looking forward to some fantastic scenery. I would not recommend this trip to those who haven't seen the Canyon before. Heli USA only flies you over a very small section of the Canyon and misses the awesome West Rim. On the way home, the helicopter doesn't take you over the Canyon or the Hoover Dam at all. We were very unlucky to have rain on our flight too which took away much of the 'wow' factor.

The ranch experience was good on the whole but did not live up to the expectations that were presented in the brochure. Our cabin (blue and white) did not have a real fire as stated in the brochure and the so called gourmet meals were more like those I used to get at guide camp! The starter was lettuce and tomato followed by a tiny plate crammed with baked potato, beans and steak. The breakfast was hardly 'gourmet' either.

The biggest disappointment was the horse ride - this is completely overpriced. We paid $55 to walk up a hill and back again with a glass of cheap fizzy wine - about a half hour trip. If you can ride in the UK, you will probably be disappointed. I also found the cowboys doing the horse rides rather fierce. That said, the sunset was amazing but save your money and walk up the hill yourself!

If you have already seen the canyon and ignore some of the hype in the brochure, this is a trip worth doing. The cabins are cosy and quiet and the ranch is a great overnight getaway from crazy Las Vegas. Singing 'House of the Rising Sun' around the camp fire under the stars is also not to be missed.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcatle UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2006

My husband and i stayed overnight at the ranch- it was unbelievable. The cabins are beautiful and the surroundings breath taking. It is not at all commercialised, and only a small group of tourists are there at any one time. Which all adds to the atmospere! The entertainment- Casey L Adams, who will sing all night and happily strum his guitar to any tune you can think of- a walking , talking duke box! What an experience! We didnt want to leave! The cowboys are great, the food was fantastic, we could not have felt more welcome! If your going to Vegas and have the chance to do this it is well worth every penny for the memories and experience We hope to go back one day! x Nicola & Luke (nicolamcpherson@hotmail.co.uk)

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Valley
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2005

What an awesome experience. A more than challenging drive to this lovely remote ranch was more than I expected. After proposing to my then girlfriend, now fiance, on the west rim, we stayed at the ranch the evening of the 19th. The cabin was clean, the food was decent, the campfire songs were a real treat, the breakfast superb and the geography like no other.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2005

The Grand Canyon West Ranch is situated in a very remote area, and is great for getting away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life! My boyfriend and I have just returned from travelling around the western side of America, and the ranch was definately a high light. The road leading to the ranch however is unpaved, and very bumpy with lots of rocks and stones - so watch out if you have a hire car, and are anxious about any car damage!! First impressions of the ranch were that we were in the middle of nowhere, and we were quite concerned that we were going to be bored senseless for 3 days. However, that was completly NOT the case. We had opted to stay in a pine log cabin which featured a double bed, bath tub with shower, and log fire place. Was very comfortable, and in a great location to watch the evening sun set. There was also the option of staying in a tipi. We had selected a package which also included western style gourmet meals, which was great. Dinner was at a set time, and was fantastic for socialising and talking to other guests - many of which had planned similar trips, so it was really good to compare and talk about different experiences. Meals were served in the ranch house, surrounded by the glow of an open fire, and candlelit tables. A typical meal was salad to start, follwed by bbq chicken, green beans and baked potatoe with a bread roll, and then a brownie for desert. With the wine flowing freely everybody had a wonderful time!! Evening entertainment included live western songs and sing-a-longs around a blazing campfire under the stars. The Cowboys were all truly welcoming, and were full of stories about their lives which were fascinating to hear. We also decided to take a sun set horse ride from the ranch which concluded with a glass of champagne at the top of the hills behind the ranch - a great experience with beautiful views. Helicopter rides are also an option. We found the Grand Canyon west ranch an ideal location to explore the west rim of the Grand Canyon, and also Lake Mead. We also decided to take the long drive (aprox 4hrs) and visit the south rim which was simply amazing, and worth the drive. All in all I would say that the ranch was a great place to get a way from all the crowds, and stresses of modern society. It is a fantastic place to sit back and relax without televisions blaring, and mobile phones ringing, and simply to watch the stars, and listen to the natural sounds of the canyon winds, and sounds of nature.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Canyon Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Ranch Resort

Address: 3750 E. Diamond Bar Ranch Rd., Meadview, AZ 86444
Location: United States > Arizona > Meadview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Meadview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Canyon Ranch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capture the spirit of the American West in a genuine pine cabin or Indian tipi. Join our Cowboys for a guided horseback ride or horse-drawn wagon ride and enjoy a Wild Buffalo safari. Only here can you experience a spectacular helicopter flight taking you below the rim of the Grand Canyon, flying further and deeper into the canyon with our new extended tours. Each night savor western cuisine in our historic Ranch House or join our cowboys for campfire entertainment under a canopy of stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Grand Canyon Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Ranch Hotel Meadview
Grand Canyon West Ranch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Canyon Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.