We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, nice amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tower Inn & Suites San Rafael

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tower Inn & Suites San Rafael to your Saves list
Tower Inn & Suites San Rafael
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hipolito Yrigoyen 774, San Rafael 5600, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in San Rafael
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great Location, nice amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I researched this place the night before, and it looked like the best choice for us, so we that was our target when we drove into town. After driving quite a ways off the highway to the center of town, it was easy to spot as the only tall building in the center of town. We parked in the underground parking garage, always nice and we didn't need to drive the rest of our time in town. It's kind of odd to get from the garage to the lobby: you walk through a service area and up a service stairwell, through an unmarked door. They put us in a room on the 9th floor looking west, overlooking the town with the snowcapped Andes in the distance. The courtyard with the pool was down below. It got a little hot in the afternoon, even with the AC battling away. Room was small, but nicely appointed. Bathroom was a good size with modern finishes.

The pool courtyard was a nice place to hang out for lunch, as it had a bar with food service, although the food, prices and service were nothing to get excited about. You want to get there early enough to grab a table in the shade or with an umbrella, it gets pretty sizzling midday. Pool is small but refreshing. They have a spa where I got a massage which was mediocre. There is a casino attached to the hotel I didn't utilize. There is a restaurant in the lobby, didn't eat there but did use room service: quick delivery and tasty fare. Great, expansive breakfast buffet in the morning. Great location in the middle of town. Big grocery store across the street, many restaurants and stores along the main avenue.

My big complaint was the WiFi in the room which was poor. Even though I told them upon check in that it was very important to us since my son attends school via the internet and despite several complaints, the problem was never resolved. We spent a lot of time in the lobby where the Wifi was good to get his homework done.

Room Tip: If WiFi and AC are important, make that clear to the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Ignacio M, Guest Relations Manager at Tower Inn & Suites San Rafael, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Google Translation
Le agradecemos por los comentarios sobre nuestro hotel.
Fue un gusto para nosotros tenerlos como huésped y esperamos poder recibirlos nuevamente en un futuro.
Tomaremos en cuenta todas sus observaciones sobre nuestras instalaciones para poder brindar un servicio de excelencia acorde a las exigencias de todos nuestros huéspedes.
El servicio de Internet esta en proceso de cambio, ya que estamos evaluando el cambio de proveedor para brindar un servicio acorde a nuestro hotel.
Saludos.
Rolando Biey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    108
    52
    10
    6
See reviews for
77
89
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
buenos aires
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The first room they gave us had a small bed and was the noisiest we've ever been at. We moved. The air conditioner in the second worked all night without stopping. Freezing cold! We moved. The air conditioner in the third worked only 5 minutes and then stopped. Sahara hot so we had to open the window. The street noise was terrible. They offered us to move to the fourth, but we declined. Four rooms for a 2-night stay was too much for us!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

It’s like one lone building standing on a long stretch of road. There really isn’t much to this hotel and we spent around a 100 US dollars to stay here which felt pricey given what we got. However, the room was nothing to speak of, the air-conditioning had been turned to heating only (since it was winter) and we had to call the front desk coz it got too hot. Eventually, we just turned it off. The bathroom too was a little small and the shower was weak. Breakfast..i suggest just skip it. The wifi worked well and was free. The good thing here was the staff, especially the bell-boy/concierge or whoever it was that received us when we got to the driveway. It’s a slightly complicated structure with basement parking and several doors to go through before you got to the room. This dude came with his trolley and took care of it all. Very helpful chap indeed. We didn’t get a chance to look around for other hotels and figured since we had only a day to think about we may as well go with this. Nothing wrong with this place but just nothing great. I’d look around for more options the next time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

I traveled to San Rafael for a Thursday-Saturday business trip and did not have a reservation when I got there. I walked into the Tower lobby and asked about available rooms. It was a busy weekend during the Copa America, but they had a room on the 7th floor. The front desk staff were all very courteous and professional, the room was clean and had a full-size desk the width of the room under the window. Bathroom was clean and water pressure was very good. Some friends staying at another hotel around the corner told me they had issues with water pressure. The hotel needs to upgrade the TVs to flat-screens, and faster WiFi in the rooms would be a help. The complimentary breakfast was a huge buffet spread on the second floor. There is a small business center off of the lobby with two desktops. Large outdoor pool deck which would be nice in the warmer months. Small gym next to the pool would benefit from some newer equipment. All in all, a great stay for the price. I would recommend and stay there again.

Room Tip: The side of the building facing the Sierra Pintadas has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

Excelent location in the city of San rafael. Very nice, comfortable hotel!

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

I am a bit confused by some of the negative reviews on this property. Despite what some have said It is a new hotel and nothing is worn out anywhere. It is perfectly situated in the middle of town and you can walk to all the restaurants etc. The architecture is quite modern,clean and a bit sterile. the is abundant underground parking and my room had good views of the city. the room was modern, effeiceint and had working WiFi. The included breakfast was great by Argentine standards. I did not check out the connected casino. I checked out the Gym and it looked quite nice. The restaurant in the lobby is rather elegant and seemed popular.
Nothing was particularly memorable about this hotel except the staff whom were very helpful and courteous. I would have preferred an upscale lodging with a bit more provincial atmosphere but this hotel was just fine and easy to find.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north bergen, nj
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

this is for the comment from Vermont..... your in South America if you forgot.. . This hotel is one of the best in town. As the hotel was being built it was a big deal for the town residents from this small town. This is not BA this is San Rafael. sol Y buen vino!

hotel: the staff were very polite , helpful and soft soften. The food good, and rooms well kept, bathrooms modern, towels - plush, wi fi in the lobby . pool looked great but change of weather couldn't use. i didn't use the gym,, but that's why you go hiking and climbing moutains. the message was ok, great for the price at that time
the location is great...about 6-8 blocks walking to center of town, across the street is el Vea a supermarket and phone booths.

good modern hotel for a small town

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tower Inn & Suites San Rafael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Inn & Suites San Rafael

Address: Hipolito Yrigoyen 774, San Rafael 5600, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > San Rafael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in San Rafael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tower Inn & Suites San Rafael 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Tower Inn & Suites San Rafael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Rafael
Tower Inn & Suites San Rafael Argentina - Province Of Mendoza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tower Inn & Suites San Rafael, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.