We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, Nice and Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suter Petit Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Suter Petit Hotel to your Saves list
Suter Petit Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hipolito Yrigoyen 3003, San Rafael 5600, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in San Rafael
Aracaju, SE
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Pleasant, Nice and Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

1) Very friendly owners / hosts: Carlos Suter and Maria Paz;
2) Large, clean and cosy room;
3) Beautiful garden;
4) This hotel is conveniently located, relatively near of two good restaurants: Franccesco and La Fusta 2.

Room Tip: Book a room at the back, preferentially suite Álamo. It is less noisy. We had booked Gran Suite Oli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    31
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
54
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brockham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Probably the best place we stayed in Argentina. We spent five extremely enjoyable, comfortable and relaxing days at Suter Petit Hotel. The rooms are large, comfortable, very well equipped and spotlessly clean. Carlos and Maria Paz are charming and very welcoming hosts and a great source of information on San Rafael and the area. Their two dogs are incredibly friendly, very well behaved and great entertainment! The gardens and pool are wonderful and each room also has a small private terrace overlooking the gardens complete with table and chairs. Breakfasts were excellent including fresh fruit and juice. We did not have a car but did not find that the hotel was too far out. A flat and shaded 20 minute walk will take you to a number of very good restaurants, bars and cafes, including Delicias, an amazing ice cream parlour. We also walked into the city centre from the hotel, but cheap taxis are also available.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

The secluded hotel is conveniently located off the main road from San Rafael airport to downtown. The hacienda-like building has several standard suites and 2 large suites facing the large garden. It all has an air of relaxation and peacefulness around it.
Our standard suite was clean and basic, with a large and comfortable king-size bed. The small outside patio in front of the room is equipped with 2 relax-chairs and faces the small pool and garden.
The hotel has no restaurant, but small snacks and drinks are available. Buffet-breakfast is included in the room-price.
The owner of th hotel and the few other staff are very helpful and give the establishment a feeling of being "at home".

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portalban (Switzerland)
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

We spent four nights in a suite at Suter Petit Hotel. That hotel is a perfect place to stay in San Rafael. The room was large and absolutely clean, towels smooth and the bed king size. View over the garden (see picture). Generous breakfasts. Clean water in the (relatively shallow) swimming pool. Two friendly and well educated dogs. Apparently, the area is void of mosquitos and we did not see or heard a single one during our stay at Suter Petit Hotel while sleeping with open windows.
The owner is a descendant from a Swiss family - the Suter - who emigrated to Argentina at the end of the 19th century for wine making ; they still own a winery situated not far from the hotel. The hotel management is in the hands of a very friendly local couple who saved no effort in making our stay comfortable. For instance, as there is no on-site restaurant, they allowed us to bring food to eat on our terrace and even provided tablecloth and wine glasses for our meals.
There is a nice and relatively cheap restaurant named "Villa Bonita" situated at the end of the holiday resort "Villa 25 de Mayo" when driving away from San Rafael towards "Los Reyunos". The roundtrip to the "Cañon del Atuel" is worth the drive and interesting. It takes nearly a full day. Do not expect anything comparable to the Colorado Grand Canyon in the US, but you can drive (dirt road, sometimes quite rough) along the bottom of the canyon. There are several unusual geological features to observe (photos) as well as a spectacular overview of the reservoir at "Valle Grande" (photo).
A final note: do not trust the location of Suter Petit Hotel as indicated by Google Maps. It is wrong. In fact, the hotel is at least two km out of town on the left side of an avenue of plane trees (photo) extending Hipolito Irigoyen street (ruta 143) in the direction of the airport and San Carlos.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in this very pleasant little hotel. The rooms are large and comfortable and everywhere is kept very clean. The breakfast had a good selection of cold dishes but nothing hot except for toast, tea and coffee. There is no restaurant but the owner allowed us to eat our take-away pizzas in the dining room one night.

The hotel is about 2kms out of town so if you do not have your own transport this might be a problem. We had a hire car from Alamo (good value and recommended – booked through Argus Cars) and we could park our car under a carport in the grounds of the hotel.

Hotel owners are very friendly and most accommodating; my husband broke his arm and they found plenty of pillows to help him have a more comfortable night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maniwaki
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

Everything about this place is thumbs up!! The hosts treat you as if you were one of their family members.
At first we had chosen another hotel but when we saw the location of Suter Petit Hotel and then their website we could not resist to make the change.
We chose the Grand Suite Olivo and we were extremely satisfied with our choice. Have a look at the pictures!!
The location is great for those who are planning to drive from Mendoza to Bariloche. The hotel is situated just off Route 143 and offers safe and free parking. Shopping and restaurants are just a short distance away.
We enjoyed Suter Petit Hotel so much that we decided to stay in the same room on our way back from Bariloche.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Suter Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suter Petit Hotel

Address: Hipolito Yrigoyen 3003, San Rafael 5600, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > San Rafael
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in San Rafael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Suter Petit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suter Petit Hotel located at the entrance to San Rafael, close to the airport and very close to the city. A beautiful tunnel of trees as a path leading to the entrance of our Small Grand Hotel.There are 10 Suites which offers Suter Petit Hotel, all overlooking the park of old poplars, eucalyptus and olive trees are sanctuaries perfect: warm, spacious and bright. The rooms are successor den along an extensive gallery showing the park showcasing a large pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Suter Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suter Petit Hotel San Rafael, Argentina - Province Of Mendoza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suter Petit Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.