We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, wine, setting & service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azafran

Azafran
Sarmiento 765, Mendoza 5500, Argentina
261 429 4200 / 4299009
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 373 Restaurants in Mendoza
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food, wine, setting & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Nicely decorated place, excellent bi-lingual service and a really helpful sommelier matching wine (by the glass) to food!

The food was lovely and I would recommend the steak with langoustine and the very generous dessert taster..delicious!

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Mendoza

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azafranmza, Gerente at Azafran, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your recommendation! We are so happy that you enjoy the place, food and wine. We'll tell your good comments to our personal. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    914
    455
    159
    52
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great service and fine food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

The bread is to die for, best ever during our stay in Argentina. Excellent wine selection and fresh n delicious food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azafranmza, Gerente at Azafran, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thanks for your comment! We are so happy that you enjoy the food and the breath! We hope to see you around here again. Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Saved the day......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We arrived in Mendoza on a rainy public holiday, didn't like our hotel and decided to move out...... Then got a table for lunch at Azafran. This place shouldn't be missed. Each course was tremendous, starting with the bread basket and right through the tasting menu. The rain had stopped by then! With the help of the sommelier, the wine was selected from the tasting room at the front of the restaurant. There was plenty of wonderful Argentinian wine to chose from. A great find.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
2 reviews
“Average food and terrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Visited on Sat evening Nov 23rd and were seated in the wine room. We have visited this restaurant on most of our visited to Mendoza and have never had a bad experience until this visit. Our dinner lasted an agonizing 3 hours. The responsiveness of the wait staff was ridiculous and when we asked to talk with the manager this request was also ignored. When our dinner was finally delivered the chef claimed issues with his supplier and his oven but apologies or excuses were less than sincere. Given the number of good restaurants in Mendoza it will be a while before we visit this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Had our best meal so far in our South America trip. Menu is small but sufficient. Food was beautifully presented and cooked to perfection. Tasted fantastic. Wine room is superb with over a 100 bottles to choose from. Would definitely recommend this place for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azafran also viewed

Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
 
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
 

Been to Azafran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azafran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.