We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost Money in Mendoza” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cordon del Plata

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cordon del Plata to your Saves list
Hotel Cordon del Plata
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 de Julio 1539, Mendoza 5500, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 90 Hotels in Mendoza
Leipzig, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lost Money in Mendoza”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Recently I booked this hotel on Booking.com
Due to restriction of the rental car we could not travel from Santiago de Chile to Mendozo. Both booking.com and the hotel refused any compensation using each other as reason. Two rooms went down the tube.
We would have accepted a fee, but taking the whole price was really a bummer. Next time better deal with the hotel directly .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    88
    83
    37
    20
See reviews for
47
109
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, Brazil
Top Contributor
333 reviews 333 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Its fantastic location - in the downtown's heart, on 9 de Julio street - doesn't attenuate the poorness and plainness of this said to be 3-star hotel, ranked as the best of its category in town. Friendly, but very informal, neglecting and unprofessional front desk staff causes a very bad first impression. My single room, booked thru an important reservation website, was disastrous - for lacking comfort and space. Therefore, yeat cheap, it has been way to much for what I got. Air conditioner needed to be fixed upon my arrival as it lacked the control buttons, either lost or stolen. Safety box available. Bathroom was absolutely clean, but very small and plain. Breakfast was terrible - just a few options of mostly sweet food - and the buffet was poorly, carelessly arranged and managed. TV image was disastrous.

Room Tip: Never take rooms 102 or 202 as they are as small as monkey's cellars. One must be either standin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I was looking for a centrally located hotel at a good price. This hotel fills those needs. While it is not a 3 / 4 star hotel, it is clean, safe, and the staff was very nice and accommodating to me.

When I asked to be able to stay two extra hours for a late checkout, the staff accommodated my request.

The hotel is located in the central area with many good restaurants close by.

The breakfast was OK. My only gripe about breakfast is that they do not put out cold mile for your cereal or coffee. I think this was more a local custom rather than a bad service issue. The staff did accommodate my request each time when I asked for cold milk.

I like low price hotels, and this one had a reasonable price.

Some of the staff does not speak English. So having an ability to speak Spanish would be helpful when staying at this hotel.

I would stay here again on another visit to Mendoza.

Room Tip: You might ask for a room that does not face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

A nice centrally located hotel in the heart of Mendoza. Although the staff did not speak English they were extremely polite and helpful.

The overall appearance of the hotel was good, but the room was rather a disappointment for the price that you pay (had a single room). The room was on the dark side and could have done with a little bit of a renovation. However, it was clean and served its purpose. There is no wifi in the room though. If you want to have a wifi connection you have to go downstairs to the lounge/reception area.

I stayed here on two occasions for the simple reason that the location was very appealing. The other hotels in the same area did not look that appealing unless you severely wanted to over dose on your budget.

Breakfast is an open buffet and is good value. It does get crowded though as a few tour operators use this hotel to put up their guests. A lot could be done to improve the hotel, but I did like it.

Room Tip: You maybe lucky and get wifi on the first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arica, Chile
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

This hotel is terrible. The room was dingy; The carpet was cheap and had stains to show that it had not been cleaned for many years. The carpet on the stairs was torn in many places. The wi fi that was supposed to be in the room was not; had go into the hall to use the wifi. uit was a joke; bad bread and the fruit was either green or overly ripe. The people in the hotel were terrible, and the room looked out on another wall 5 feet away. The place seems to be one that caters cheap tours and the clients do not care about anything but the price. I paid a hugh price for the room; it is not worth ten dollars. I think the reviews are a fraude; I am more and more disenchanted with trip a dvisor and these other places. I left Cordon del Plata after one night and found several places that were much better and much cheaper. Going on to Buenas Aires tomorrow and will not use a booking agent; seem to be crooks.

Room Tip: Stay away from this place at all costs!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayaguez
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

My wife and I traveled to Mendoza from Santiago, Chile for a 5 day getaway. we were looking for a centrally located hotel, and Cordon del Plata did nt fail. It is close enough to the center of the city so you can walk to most anything the city has to offer. The chec in was very smooth and the staff was friendly. We got a room located in toward the bac of the hotel, away from the busy street running in front of the hotel. The room was large, came with safe for your valuables and a large bathroom area. The room had a jacuzzi style bathtub/shower and this area is separated from the bed area by a large glass door, which was missing in our room. Because of this, the room A/C had took forever to cool the room after I took a shower. This was the only complaint we had with the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room torward the back of the hotel. You will avoid the noice from the street in front of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

The lobby of the hotel looks really nice - a well known tric of hotels in Argentina to get more stars than the hotel is actually worth. Had to wait quite long to check in (always busy at the front desk), but staff is friendly.

The rooms are pretty run down and smelly, old dusty carpet, pillows with spots and covers to small, poor lights (if not broken), really noisy at the streetside (busy street, lots of traffic), thin walls, toilet didn't flush very well, had to reset the alarmclock every time we had left the room due to the automatic powercut.
There is no 'do not disturb sign', and cleaningstaff starts quite early so one morning we made our own sign to put on the door.

Breakfast is fine, quite a lot of different things to eat however staff had some trouble in keeping up in refilling everything.
Free wifi worked well, tv has a lot of channels, airco worked fine. The room was clean, for as far as this is possible with the old carpet and curtains, towels are huge and the shower was nice.
When we stayed here, the hotel seemed to be fully booked by Argentinian elderly people, crowding the hotel and being picked up every day by large tour buses.

It is not exactly in the center of Mendoza, but like a 10 minute walk.

Room Tip: if possible, try to stay in a room that is not at the front side of the hotel, and not next to the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cordon del Plata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cordon del Plata

Address: 9 de Julio 1539, Mendoza 5500, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 90 Hotels in Mendoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cordon del Plata 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live from your heart the City of Mendoza. Within meters of intersection of Avenue Las Heras and San Mrtin, nucleus of commercial activity of our city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Cordon del Plata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordon Del Plata Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cordon del Plata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.