We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villaggio Hotel Boutique

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villaggio Hotel Boutique to your Saves list
Villaggio Hotel Boutique
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 de Mayo 1010, Mendoza 5500, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 89 Hotels in Mendoza
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We spent 3 nights in December and we liked it. Helpful staff, excellent location, fair price. Other than the noise from the street (avoid rooms towards the 25 de Mayo street) and not so diversified breakfast (but after a late dinner which is typical in Argentina a sim breakfast is even better) nothing to be unhappy about.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosental, Gerente at Villaggio Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank You for taking the time and write a Review, we hope to have you as a Special Guest on your next visit to Mendoza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    188
    56
    13
    9
See reviews for
67
233
25
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

It's clean, it's modern, the rooms might be small and have terrible views, but it's good value for the price. There is a breakfast buffet (way better than other hotels in Argentina), and a pool with lounge chairs.

We stayed on New year's day where NOTHING is open in Mendoza (I kid you not: absolutely nothing is open) and we were about to survive on the minibar contents but luckily the lounge bar was open. We had great sandwiches (Argentina style: they put a whole steak in it!) and wine.

It's good value for the location and the staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

But dark dingy little rooms, stained carpets. One of the reviewers here had a large room? We rubber necked when the maids were cleaning and didn't see a one. On the street side, bus traffic won't let you sleep but other rooms, the windows open onto an air well that makes the room a fish bowl that anyone walking down the hall or in the room across the way can see in. On the positive side, the staff was friendly and helpful, location was terrific with lots of good restaurants just around the corner on Saramiento. The pool was swimmable in a garden and the breakfast among the best we had in Argentina. Loved the beautiful town of Mendoza, parks and plazas. Avoid a tour to Atuel Canyon. 4 hours of nothing but landscape that makes west Texas look like paradise with a droning guide telling you more than you want to know about the lack of rainfall.

Room Tip: avoid the noisy street side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosental, Gerente at Villaggio Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We appreciate comments and feed-back from our guests, and take them into account to improve our services.
While our Management’s objective is to keep every single guest’s stay a memorable one, there are instances where one particular point of view or policy may not work for all guests alike, although if notified in advance, we will work to accommodate any guest’s particular need, such as change rooms o special ocation .
Had you pointed this out to the hotel manager, we could have found a solution to your problem during your stay.
As you mentioned our Premium location and our services are part of our Identity and Pride, and one of the reasons why the Villagio Hotel is a great choice for a Stay in Mendoza, providing Value for Money, and being recommended by over 90% of the travellers. Yet, we are constantly working on enhancing our facilities and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights on our honeymoon. Unfortunately we were disappointed with our experience. The hotel itself is well located , rooms are comfortable and pool is nice. I feel that the hotel has the potential to be much more. Our initial welcome to the hotel was quite cold. Despite emailing the hotel in advance and also mentioning that we were on our honeymoon it was never acknowledged, even just to say congrats. At breakfast the first morning the eggs were cold as the heater flame had gone out. We saw the same food - ham,cheese, cakes every morning for the next 3 mornings. One of the mornings the eggs didn't look fresh either. The staff overall weren't very friendly. There were exceptions to this (1 girl on reception, the housekeeping staff and one of the waitressing staff). The pool was nice and quiet most of the time.

The fitness centre upstairs was not air conditioned. The hot tub was empty and looked like it had been for a while. The sauna also wasn't switched on. Overall I think with a little more attention to detail and almost zero cost this hotel could really do better. I appreciate it is a 3 star. I wasn't expecting 5 star but just staff who may smile at you and say hello and and a fresh breakfast.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosental, Gerente at Villaggio Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Our clients’ feed-back is welcome and we take your comments and suggestions into account to help us improve our service

Your comments frankly come as a surprise to us, because:
1. The Concierge (front desk) discussed with you the possibility of a late check-out, and you were agreed
2. Had you pointed this out to the hotel manager ? we could have found a solution to your problem during your stayservice
3. Our Spa & Gym facilities are open from 11 am to 7 pm , you have to make appoinment to use it as front desk clerk mentioned on chek in
4. Breakfast is our most valued service from our guests, we will review our standards

As you describe it, your own experience with us had more positives than negatives aspects to talk about.. Our Hotel does focus on Customer Service, has a prime location, and receives great feedback from our passengers as it provides excellent value for money, especially when compared to similar hotels in the Area, which offer the same categories and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at the Villagio for three nights in November. We got a great deal - less than $100 on expedia. Our room was HUGE. We had a king size bed, table and chair, flat screen TV (with cable and some channels in English), and big bathroom. The breakfast in the morning is great - cold and hot food items. We enjoyed using the pool area- it isn't huge but it was never crowded. Every aspect of the hotel was extremely clean. The location is perfect, you are only a few blocks away from the main square, restaurants, and shops. The staff here are OUTSTANDING. I needed help with some travel arrangements and they went out of their way to help me. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I highly recommend the Villaggio. The staff is friendly and helpful, and it is just a block from the main square, and therefore conveniently located. Not too far from a stroll to the nightlife section of Villaneuva Aristides ... bonus! I have traveled to Argentina extensively, and the Villaggio has one of the best breakfasts going, although, as one reviewer aptly noted, better get there early, because they don't restock. The rooms are good sized, although just slightly in need of an update. All in all, a great place to stay in Mendoza!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosental, Gerente at Villaggio Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank You for taking the time and write a Review, Our guest’s feedback is appreciated and taken into consideration as it helps us identify opportunities for improvement. We are going to work to restock our breackfast buffet faster for each guest to enjoy.
We hope to have you as a Special Guest on your next visit to Mendoza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a hotel that looks really good on the label. Great location, nice size, swish interior, chocolates on your pillow, shiny breakfast...but that's typical, all sizzle no steak.

Staff were uninterested in us after failing to sell us their commissioned tours (shop downtown for more variety), the breakfast looked great but was the worst we had in 2.5 weeks, the shower took 3 minutes to heat up and the water outlet was chest high for me (I'm tall but seriously), rooms only moderately clean, and I could go on.

This is not a bad hotel. It has some decent reviews and I could see why. But when you get good service elsewhere, this feels like a complacent hotel which knows it's decent and knows the variety of hotels in Mendoza is poor.

Go here and you probably won't have a bad time - the location is really perfect, but that's due to wonderful mendoza not average Villaggio.

Room Tip: Pick no view but quiet or street view but noisy - quiet worked well for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosental, Gerente at Villaggio Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We appreciate comments and feed-back from our guests, and take them into account to improve our services.

We are very sorry to hear that your stay was not the most enjoyable one, although as you mentioned, you did receive good customer service , which we are happy to hear.

We are more than happy to arrange or suggest private driver’s services to visit wineries in the area, but these are not services provided by the Hotel and the guest is made aware that this is an outsourced service. Although our concierge can give our guests an estimate on the cost of the trip, will be provided by the driver or company accordingly. Our front desk employees are friendly and have goodwill, and only act as a liaison between the passenger and the drivers company .
We only recomend privates torus , because the image comes into play if there is any inconveneinte occur , others companynies who provide tours you can easily finded in downtown Mendoza .

We would like to clarify the concept or definition for a Boutique Hotel in
Argentina:
The Boutique Hotels are defined as small properties which posses a trendy architectonic design. The concept is focussed on small but functional spaces designed and decorated with character and comfort, observing the furniture, accents, decoration and design styles and lines, and complementing them with a more personalized attention to passengers.
These characteristics are the main reasons for guests to choose this kind of accommodation, and are present at the Villagio Hotel through the comfort and services provided to create a unique and friendly relationship with its guests.
It should be noted that this definition defers from the European concept, where it is common for the Boutique Hotels to provide luxury, and in many cases to offer furniture or Art pieces for sale. These properties are often also referred to as Relais or Chateau, which charge a rate of around U$S 350.- per night (not comparable to the Villagio).

The Villagio Hotel is not trying to pose as something it is not, but only following the standard definitions of the local Hotel Industry.

Our breakfast , as most of our guest´s mentioned , has a variety of cereals, breads, cold cuts , scrambled eggs, yogurt, juices, variety of fruits, coffee, assorted teas, cocoa, toast, cakes, cookies, cheese. This is what you expeted to have any 4 o 5 star hotel in any major city .

As I said at the beginning, we do value the passengers’ feedback, and take it into account to make improvements and continue to provide excellent customer service.

I trust you will take my comments well, and I hope you give Villagio Hotel a second try to prove we are still a convenient value- for- money option for travellers visiting Mendoza.

Sincerely,

MR
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villaggio Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villaggio Hotel Boutique

Address: 25 de Mayo 1010, Mendoza 5500, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Mendoza
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mendoza
#16 Romantic Hotel in Mendoza
#21 Family Hotel in Mendoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villaggio Hotel Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villaggio Hotel Boutique has been created to satisfy theneeds of an increasingly demanding market, with a modernarchitecture, a customized service and state-of-the-arttechnology. We provides 26 rooms: 22 Classic, 4 Superiorand 2 Departments. All rooms decorated with paintings byauthor, include Proximity Door Opener System., Wi-Fi freeof charge throughout the hotel, safe box for notebooks andLCD 32´. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villaggio Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaggio Hotel Mendoza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villaggio Hotel Boutique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.