We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hostels we have stayed in!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Empedrado

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Empedrado to your Saves list
Hostel Empedrado
Patricias Mendocinas 1959, Mendoza 5500, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Mendoza
Certificate of Excellence 2014
london, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of the best hostels we have stayed in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Where do i begin.. there is such a friendly homely feel to this hostel. Loads of activities every night and we did 2 tours with Maya who was really nice. Its not a "party hostel" which is good, we slept well every night and even though the room could do with a lick of paint, the other facilities more than made up for it. The kitchens are both cleaned all the time and there is a free glass of wine and washing machines to use. Breakfast was the best I´ve had in 3 months, pastries, eggs, toast, cereal fruit and pancakes! Highly recommend this place :D

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    67
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
1
80
46
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Great atmosphere, shared kitchen is good. Stayed in a double room with private bathroom. Bathroom was so small you could hardly use the toilet. Pillows felt like they were stuffed with newspaper. Location is ok. Activities are great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The staff at this hostal went out of their way to welcome us and help us plan our stay in Mendoza. The hostal was comfortable, warm and there were lots of free activities planned - empanada making, wine tasting, maté tasting etc. There are lots of activities available through the hostel or they are equally happy to tell you how to do it yourself on the cheap.
The breakfasts were huge and delicious, there were lots of communal areas, 2 kitchens and plenty of batrooms. Our room was a little worn around the edges but comfy enough.
We had a very happy stay here and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here. Not the best location but can easily walk everywhere. Staff were really great, really did everything they could for you. They have bbq nights and making empanada nights. Free glass of wine every evening. Rooms were basic but fine. Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

The hostel isn't central but its within easy walking distance of everywhere and very close to a huge supermarket. Anna (I think that was her name) was very friendly and helpful and went out of her way to see to your needs. The computers were a little outdated but adequate enough. The kitchen was quite big and breakfast was very good as well. The hostel has a washing machine which was free to use and you get a free glass of wine of an evening which was great. Its quite small for the amount of rooms and beds they have and although the beds weren't the comfiest the hostel overall had eveything you would need and plenty of private bathrooms which was a major bonus. The trips on offer were great, especially the horseback riding at sunset which was one of the highlights of my entire time in South America. All in all a good resonable hostel

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I stayed at Hostel Empedrado 2 weeks ago for a few days and can honestly say that this is the best hostel I've ever stayed in - and I've been backpacking all over the world. What really makes a hostel is the staff and I was so taken back by how accommodating and helpful they were.
To give you more detail, I accidentally left my work blackberry phone at the hostel and made my way back to Buenos Aires. This was a friday and I was leaving the next day (Saturday afternoon) for my flight back to the states. I basically had a small window on saturday to go pick it up before my flight. Anna researched all modes of transportation and sent my phone via Andesmar overnight buses which got in on Saturday morning. I can't thank her enough for going out of her way to make sure I received my phone. I of course, sent money back to cover the costs via Western Union but the level of customer service was truly amazing. I would recommend this hostel without a doubt. It's small details that make a difference, they could have simply told me that I was out of luck and needed to buy a new phone or sent it to the states which would have cost me a fortune, but instead Anna came to the rescue! :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I'm sad not to give this place a good review, as the staff were kind and the atmosphere was good - imagine if you're a total budget backpacker and don't care about comfort etc, you'd have a great time here - there are good communal areas and lots of group activities (many free or cheap) to join in.

However... the beds were like rocks, pillows felt like they were made from scrunched up newspaper and our room was tiny and way too hot. We had an ensuite room on the top floor - the ensuite was so tiny, I had to sit 'side saddle' on the toilet - and I'm only 168cm tall! The shower was pretty crappy and all in all we weren't too impressed.

Other reviews rave about the outdoor area and pool - the pool - well, this might have once been a (tiny) pool, but when we were there (sept 2011) the pool was green and full of goldfish... definitely more of a pond than somewhere to cool off!

Location was ok - not super central in Mendoza, maybe a 15 minute walk to the CBD? Very close to a big supermarket, so good for self catering. Staff were friendly, shame the room and 'pool' were pretty terrible.

Room Tip: Don't take the ensuite double room on top floor- bathroom ridiculously small, way too hot and be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Empedrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Empedrado

Address: Patricias Mendocinas 1959, Mendoza 5500, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Mendoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good option to lodge in Mendoza. Clean, sure, and nice Hostel located to 4 stables of the principal avenue in a cobblestone street. It has free swimming pool in a camping 6 km from the hostel. The tariff includes breakfast, Internet, swimming pool and use of the kitchen. The best wines of the world, the Aconcagua Mountain (6959 mt.) and a sunny climate wait for you in Mendoza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Empedrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Empedrado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.