We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location with great hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Plaza Italia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added B&B Plaza Italia to your Saves list
B&B Plaza Italia
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   685 Montevideo St, Mendoza 5500, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 92 Mendoza B&B and Inns
Konigswinter, Germany
1 review
“Excellent location with great hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in this comfortable b&b very much. The location is perfect, it's only a short walk to all attractions of the city of Mendoza. The home is very nicely decorated, the rooms are well equipped and it is absolutely quiet (despite the nearby street). The best of all are the hosts. They are very friendly and helpful, speak perfect English and spend all effort to fulfill the wishes of their guests. Perfect!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    64
    9
    9
    1
See reviews for
40
304
40
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed at B&B Plaza Italia for a few days on our honeymoon this November, and we both agreed it was a true introduction to Argentine kindness and hospitality.

The room was large and spacious (and we even had an adjoining additional room!), the bed was comfortable, and it was pretty quiet and peaceful as it was at the back of the house. The owner, Mercedes, was absolutely lovely to us from the moment we arrived jetlagged off various flights from London. She gave us advice on where to visit, where to eat, and on every other topic we could possibly need to know.

Located bang in the centre of the action in Mendoza on the pretty Plaza Italia, the B&B is basically her family home converted I think, and it had a real family feel. Breakfast was communally shared around two grand wooden tables in the reception room, a good chance to meet other guests and enjoy some very tasty Argentine pastries.

We also booked to go on a wine tour arranged by Mercedes' son, Javier. From the morning tour we did manage, we visited a great little winery and had a fascinating discussion about how they grow and harvest the grapes, and tasted some lovely wines -- highly recommended! Unfortunately my wife fell ill half way through it (not related to the tour!) so we had to abandon the lunch and afternoon, but Mercedes, Javier and the rest of the staff were so kind and helpful to us -- it really felt like having the family support!

Javier offered to continue the tour the next day if we wanted and, when it became clear this couldn't happen for us, gave us a full refund for the lunch and afternoon bits of the tour. The family regularly asked after my wife's health, gave us plenty of advice and even offered to prepare light and plain snacks for her to help her recover.

A lovely home in a lovely city run by lovely people. When we return to Mendoza, for sure we will stay at B&B Plaza Italia!

Room Tip: Our room faced the back and was quiet, our bathroom faced the front and was a bit noisy -- ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This hotel is ideally situated for those wishing to stay in downtown Mendoza. It was affordable (they take cash only though), ckean, quiet and comfortable. The hosts are very helpful in arranging activities and they speak fluent English.

Room Tip: I peeked at most of them and they all looked good. Ours did not hae ensuite bathroom, but the bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Beautiful large home in a great central location in Mendoza. Mercedes was extremely helpful upon check-in, giving us a map and pointing out areas of interest and restaurants. Comfortable bed, clean bathroom, nice to have AC in the room. At breakfast, Cecilia made sure we always had plans or a tour booked for the day.

Javier's wine tour was one of our highlights. It ended up being a private tour, just my husband and me. We went to 5 different wineries in Maipu and Lujan de Cuyo. He drove us to places that we would never find on our own. Excellent tours provided by the wineries and a good selection of tastings. Lunch at Ruca Malen was outstanding with the wine and food pairings - the best meal we've had in Argentina.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We couldn't stay there as we didn't book it in advance. What a pitty, it's sooo cute and peaceful. As we didn't stay, we shouldn't review? Well there it is, la señora de la casa, mercedes, invite us to sit down in the charming living and finds us another great place to stay + tips and trics to do and a the best places to have a great dinner! Thank you sra Mercedes, we've had a great 2days Mendoza!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We can not fault this wonderful B&B. The location was lovely and convenient. Mercedes and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The house and our room were beautifully furnished with a welcome and homely feeling. The continental breakfast had a great range of tasty foods and they catered especially for my gluten-intolerance. They were very helpful in suggesting and organising places to see and good restaurants. We strongly recommend this boutique B&B.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in November. The room was very large and clean and the home was well situated. It is a beautiful home with an open and has an inviting courtyard where we relaxed and drank wine and talked to other travellers. Breakfast was simple but tasteful. Mercedes was very helpful with her recommendations on sights, tours, restaurants. Her son Javier took us on an excellent wine tour for the day. The lunch was delicious and the setting against the mountains was stunning. They also found us a room at another hotel since they were fully booked when we decided to stay an extra nite. Great place and service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Plaza Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Plaza Italia

Address: 685 Montevideo St, Mendoza 5500, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Mendoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Plaza Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a high-quality two-story house with spacious rooms. Elegantly decorated with nice classic furniture which makes it a comfortable and enjoyable place. Located within the most privileged part of Mendoza, a place of fancy residences opposite Italia Square and a one minute walk from Independencia Square. Nearby, there are important hotels, a casino (located inside Park Hyatt Hotel), convention center, pedestrian area, famous Aristides Villanueva Ave. with its clubs and pubs. Fancy ice-cream parlors, exclusive bars, restaurants, grill rooms with the best Argentine Beef and the latest "Wine Bars." Tour and Excursion agencies, cash machines, money exchange agencies, Laundry, Supermarkets and many other services that you may need as a visitor are at easy walking distance.B&B Plaza Italia also organizes personalized Wine Tours to the best wine areas of Mendoza, heart of Argentina's Wine Country. Free and unlimited internet wireless connection available in all the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your B&B Plaza Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Plaza Italia
b&b Plaza Italia Hotel Mendoza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Plaza Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.