We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner Party of the Year!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pirca Food and Wine

Pirca Food and Wine
San Martin, Mendoza 5500, Argentina
542616832720
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 375 Restaurants in Mendoza
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: International, Diner, Argentinean
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
chicago, illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Dinner Party of the Year!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had the great privilege last month to host Pablo and Alejandro in Chicago. They prepared an absolutely spectacular meal for a dinner party of ten here in our home and it was an amazing evening that won't be forgotten by anyone in attendance.
From the pre-dinner cocktails all the way thru to the incredible desserts the night was executed with incredible precision. The delectable food offerings along with the perfect pairings of the Zuccardi wines brought in especially for the occasion were over the top. Not to mention the warm personalities of this great team that have such a passion paired with extensive knowledge of all that is food and wine--an absolute delight in every way.
I highly recommend anyone that has the opportunity to participate any type of a dinner done by Pirca to do so--whether it's their home or yours. It is a truly memorable epicurean experience that will touch all your senses and leave you spoilt for anything less!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It Doesn't Get Any Better, Anywere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I recently attended a 6 course wine dinner that was being held at the DoubleTree Hotel in Asheville North Carolina. Chef Pablo Renea was the guest Chef featuring the wines of an Argentinian winery, Bodega Gratia. Allow me to say that I am a restaurateur, a wine aficionado and have travel far and wide to find great culinary experiences and culinarians.
I found Nirvana that night. I found one of the greatest wine pairings I have ever experienced. I found a gentle, kind talented culinarian like no other. I was blessed with the food of Chef Pablo Ranea. He spoke when every course was presented and was the most knowledgeable Chef regarding wine I have ever experience. His creations married the “criolla” style of Argentinian cooking (traditional and old recipes) with modern techniques and presentation. His subtle flavors and perfect amounts of each ingredient where sublime.
We started off with an Hors d’Oeuvre reception featuring Yerba Mate Martinis then were greeted at our table with an Amouse Bouche of Mojellas con Humita, Sweetbreads with Humita and a Chipa with Torrontes Reduction paired with 2012 Bodega Gratia Sauvignon Blanc. The Maine courses were Carpaccio de Mar, Sea Bass Sashimi and a Sea Scallops Carpaccio with “Chimi-Churri de Mar” paired again with 2012 Bodega Gratia Sauvignon Blanc. Next came Empanada Criolla traditional Empanada of Argentina (the finest I have ever had) paired with 2010 Bodega Gratia Malbec. Next, Pato con Hongo, Maple Leaf Farms Duck Breast with a Malbec Blueberry Reduction with Wild Mushrooms Pears and Caramelized Shallots paired with 2010 Bodega Gratia Cabernet Sauvignon. The final Main was Lomo Envulto en Hojaldre a perfectly cooked Petite Filet wrapped in Philo Dough stuffed with Blue Cheese Portobello Mushrooms and a Spanish Sweet Potato Pure and Roasted Bell Pepper Coulis paired with 2010 Gratia “Marchiori Vineyard” Malbec. Then dessert was a White Chocolate and Raspberry Marquis with Dulce de Leche and a Dark Chocolate Garnache Strawberry Carpaccio paired with 2007 Susana Balbo “Virtuoso” Late Harvest Malbec. Need I say more.
The evening was divine. Chef Pablo was divine. The wines were divine and the experience was one I will never, ever forget. If you ever have the opportunity to experience his food and talents you will be blown away.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa General Belgrano, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Incredible!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

An experience for all of the senses!!!! what a treat. If you want to have am unforgettable evening you must add this to your list of places to go!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A once in a lifetime experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Amazing food prepared by the most acclaimed Chef in Mendoza, there is no comparison. Personal service as if you are a guest in their home, innovative and cutting edge cuisine prepared with the freshest ingredients, all expertly paired with the region's finest wines. I cannot recommend Pirca Food and WIne highly enough. 6 stars!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Must do in Mendoza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Pirca food and Wine is a “must do” for any foodie visiting Mendoza. Known throughout Mendoza, Pablo and Alejandro cook and present a meal for the ages. There were 11 of us that dinned with them which was more than they usually take. I believe, and my memory is foggy for certain reasons (wine), we spent 4 hours with Pablo and Alejandro dinning on their delightful and artistically created cuisine. Seven courses later, with expertly matched wine with each course, we left their home with a memory of Mendoza that will be a highlight of our trip. DO NOT LEAVE MENDOZA WITHOUT THIS EXPERIENCE!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pirca Food and Wine also viewed

Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
 
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
 

Been to Pirca Food and Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pirca Food and Wine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.