We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puerta Del Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Puerta Del Sol to your Saves list
Puerta Del Sol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Garibaldi 82, Mendoza 5500, Argentina (Formerly Cadena Del Sol Mendoza)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 90 Hotels in Mendoza
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Amazing pkace for backpackers! Clean good lication great stuff and lots of fun. def recommended for everyone out there!!!
the common areas are well cleaned and fully equiped....
go and u will not regret it i asure you amigis!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    11
    11
    6
See reviews for
15
8
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

The Hotel is old and feels cheap in every corner. I was there for only one night because of a flight cancellation. The bed was so tight i can barely turn over, and a I an avergae 1.75m/74kg person. Bathroom was kind of faded, clean, but not nice. The room door has an akward system for lock, using an old fashioned metal key. But, as you have to slide the typical modern plastic key to activate the room's energy, I had to separate the metal from the plastic key, otherwise I would not be able to leave the door locked from the inside during my sleep. Wierd.
Breakfast was chaotic. The tables were the self service breakfast is served is cramped in one corner of the room and everybody's all over the tables. Very bad organized, lacks attention more than budget!
I won't come back, except if I get a veeeeeeeeeeery low rate on a very short stay, two night, max.

Room Tip: Avoid standard rooms, unless you're on a tight budget !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guarulhos, SP
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Simple place, but very well located. The staff is very friendly. There are noises outside, but the room is ok if you are interested in walking around the city. Don't accept to stay in the mountains, in Gran Hotel Uspallata. It's totally different. Prefer to stay in the city.

Room Tip: The attendant Cláudio is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

We chose the hotel because it appeared to be close to downtown attractions. The location was indeed within walking distance of many shopping, entertainment and cultural options. The hotel has a sunny little courtyard where guests can lounge.

The room was simple and clean with no alarm clock and an older TV. The street noise in the second-floor room was very loud. The windows did nothing to block the noise from the street traffic in front of the hotel. Earplugs are a must.

Otherwise, the complementary breakfast had a nice selection of bread, fruit, meat, cereal, juice and coffee. The Internet workstation in the lobby never seemed to have a connection. As well, the public wi-fi signal only seemed to be available in the lobby - not the room.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwold, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
334 reviews 334 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
307 helpful votes 307 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

I had a double room on the third floor
It was basic but clean and comftable
I booked the hotel on arrival at the bus station
It cost 140 pesos which maybe was a bit expensive but id did not have time to go searching myself.
The staff at the reception were pleasant, helpfull and spoke good English.
Did not hear any of the noise mentioned in the previous review
Located quite centrally, clsoe to resturants and about five minutes walk from indepedence plazza
Breakfast was served in a very pleasnat sun patio to the rear of the hotel
overall happy with the hotel and would be happy to return

  • Liked — Very Clean
  • Disliked — the lift
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2007

This hotel has been renamed and is now called the Puerta del Sol.

Although this hotel is highly recommended in the first edition of "Moon Argentina," I had a real bad experience.

The hotel is on a very noisy peatonal (pedestrian walkway). I got stuck on a Friday night on the second floor, next to an elevator, with a bed the size of a postage stamp and a pillow as hard as a rock. The noise from the street was so bad that I was only able to sleep about 2 hours for the night (even using earplugs). The next day, I spoke to several other guests, all complained about the street noise. The cost for a single was a very overpriced 120 pesos.

I checked out after one night and moved to the Hotel Crillon - where I was very satisfied.

Caveat: I sent an email to the author of "Moon Argentina" after getting home. He responded that mine is the only negative review he has received regarding this hotel. If you want to stay here, definitely ask for a room on on upper floor away from the street noise.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — street noise
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puerta Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerta Del Sol

Address: Garibaldi 82, Mendoza 5500, Argentina (Formerly Cadena Del Sol Mendoza)
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 90 Hotels in Mendoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Puerta Del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Puerta Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puerta Del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.