We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, good for a short trip” 2 of 5 stars
Review of NH Cordillera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added NH Cordillera to your Saves list
NH Cordillera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda.Espana, 1324 | City Center, Plaza San Martin, Mendoza M5500DWN, Argentina   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% EXTRA DISCOUNT
Ranked #21 of 90 Hotels in Mendoza
montreal, quebec
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“great location, good for a short trip”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

very central location downtown on San Martin square.
Rooms are very small and noisy. Staff had no ear plugs available and only gave the advise to check at a pharmacy the next day.
Don`t go to the so called gym, the few machines are broke and thus dangerous and only there to meet the standard. Same goes for the sauna and the outdoor pool.
Breakfast was ok and the location made up for the

Room Tip: Make sure you don`t get a room that can be combined with the next room. The doors between the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    224
    105
    23
    6
See reviews for
83
134
29
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jacksonville, fl
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The NH Cordillera is in a great central spot in Mendoza. BUT - it has very small rooms. The bed was very comfortable, but we had problems with the phones in the room. Pay the upcharge and get a room with a balcony - you will need the space to sit out in and relax after a long day exploring the wineries.

The staff was very helpful. I would only recommend this hotel is you were staying a max of one or two nights.

Room Tip: Pay for the room with a terrace, but it might be a bit noisy with the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRASILIA
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed at the Spanish-owned NH Cordillera for three nights.

The standard room was just that -"standard"- nothing more, nothing less. Perfectly clean and rather small for USD140 a night, but not too pokey, with smallish but moderately comfortable twin beds. The TV had 80+ channels but nothing from abroad (outside of Argentina) that we could find to tune into except CNN. Hence no real news from neighboring countries Chile, Brazil etc. which would have added to our 'experience'. The floor in our room was one of those hard plasticised fake-wood jobs, I suppose designed to cool the place in the hot months. Good bathroom with excellent hot water but with none of the expected 'luxuries' apart from a toothbrush, a piece of unusable 'ecological' soap and a tiny tube of toothpaste which had gone rock-solid. Towels not brilliant white as in many up-market hostelries.

On the plus side, the hotel seems to be very well located, a stones-throw from clothes and other shops (if you need that sort of thing) and tree-lined squares, monuments etc which are all there is to see in Mendoza city. Nothing is more than a few pesos taxi ride away in Mendoza. The surrounding area seemed fairly safe late at night. A few moderately good eating establishments are within a 15-minute walk (Calle Belgrano etc). Two further pluses are the copious breakfasts and the genuinely hospitable youngish front-desk staff of the hotel.

All in all, if you really need to be in Mendoza 'city' rather than the wine-growing area to the south, you might consider staying at the NH. I personally thought it was mildly overpriced and I would rank it as a European 3-star business hotel rather than the 4-star tourist establishment that it has awarded itself. Admittedly I have no experience of other hotels in the city, so it´s difficult to compare quality and prices, and we did opt for the cheapest room. But I would not take a blushing bride there for a honeymoon!

Room Tip: No idea. Our room was very ordinary, somewhere at the front of the building. Very little traffic noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This is a big hotel in the center of Mendoza. While it is extremely well located, it is also on two busy streets, so it is a toss up of street noise vs noisy airconditioner. There was also an extremely loud bell that had something to do with the parking and would go off at random times. When we complained about it, we were told we were the first to complain? The room and bathroom itself was small but functionable. The gym was a disgrace very little equipment and some of it broken, sauna still not fixed. The pool area was nice but looking "tired".
The breakfasts were by contrast amazing, lots of variety and the best pastries, which were frequently replaced. We spent four nights, which was definitely too long.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

After spending a great night in a B&B, unfortunately they did not have space for the remained of my stay and so I had to find an alternative. I am not usually one to complain and have travelled all over the world staying in hostels that cost a few pounds per night to expensive 5 star hotels.

Ok the Hotel is generally run down, things broken in the room, the pool is dirty and unusable the sauna was non existent, and its no surprise as the staff do not seem to care. On the second night when I returned from dinner there was a leak in the room from the AC. It was dripping and there was already a pool of water on the floor. I called the front desk who said they would get it checked. 1 hour later no one had come to the room. I went to the front desk and then went back to the room to show them the leak. It felt like I was putting them out and they started getting annoyed with me. I did change room which was in a bit better shape, however I would suggest that there are many other places to stay in Mendoza especially reasonable B&B's so don't waste your money staying here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alna, Maine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

The hotel is well located in the center of town; however, the facilities are rather shabby, especially the rugs in the hallways and the pool area. The breakfast is very good and plentiful. But what makes this place special is the young, resourceful staff. We did not have a wine tour planned, but Celina at the desk helped with a very cheerful driver named Alberto, who took us to the most beautiful wineries. Lunch at O'fournier was a surreal experience for it was just incredibly stunning in every way. Celina at NH also helped get us into Salentein, another handsome winery with an outstanding art gallery.

Room Tip: Rooms facing sare with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Stayed four nights on a business trip and was very satisfied. The room I was given was on the second floor, next to the bell of a nextdoor delivery door. It rang often in the first two hours I was in the room so I asked that they give me another room. They quickly and efficiently gave me a superior room on the higher floor, with a balcony, at no extra cost. Rooms were very decent and clean. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast buffet had a good variety and was frequently restocked, which was important since the hotel was full and breakfast hours were really busy. The hotel is in a beatiful, central and safe part of town, within walking distance of Plaza Independencia, shops and markets. Fully recommandable hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Cordillera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Cordillera

Address: Avda.Espana, 1324 | City Center, Plaza San Martin, Mendoza M5500DWN, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mendoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Cordillera 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Mendoza Cordillera hotel is located in the center of Mendoza, very close to the main square and just a short stroll to the principal shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, NHHotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your NH Cordillera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Cordillera Mendoza
Nh Cordillera Hotel Mendoza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Cordillera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.