We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bonarda Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bonarda Hotel to your Saves list
Bonarda Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uspallata 840, Mendoza CP 5519, Argentina (Formerly Microtel Inn & Suites Mendoza)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 89 Hotels in Mendoza
Georgetown, Guyana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Could have been better!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Decent property with potential. it is my opinion that the staff may have been overwhelmed (particularly housekeeping) by the amount of guests that were at the property during my stay. There were three international field hockey teams in addition to other guests so the demands would have doubled or probably tripled. The front office staff were very helpful with external food orders, directions to different attractions, restaurant, and shopping options.

The Wi-Fi kept going in and out and the Hot & Cold only operated at extremities (Very Hot or Very Cold). I ate at the hotel twice during my stay and the room service was the better option even though my pasta was just boiled with no sauce, herbs, and the steak though good (after all we're in Argentina) could not compliment the pasta.
The lobby is a comfortable lounge hangout area.

Property is within walking distance to a24hrs Wal-Mart, Supermarket, and Mall. 10 minutes by taxi to the larger Mall "Mendoza Plaza Shopping".
I have friends that stayed at the Sheraton and they had similar complaints but, there were also two international field hockey teams there too so, it may have been the traffic that threw everyone off their game.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back of the property (East I think) are generally quieter but the views are not wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    59
    22
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
35
3
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vicenza, Italia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Hotel was confortable with no exceeding expetation. Room was confortable but very basic. Bathroom with all complimentaries but no particular details. Very limited breakfast. Staff at reception very friendly also a late check in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Clean bedrooms with plenty of space, good parking, and easy to get to - just off the highway. It's 10 min from Mendoza plaza, and next to Walmart. The staff was very helpful - we came without an appointment at a vineyard, so Pablo at the front desk started to call a dozen or so places until he found one with an opening. Great service!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

It´s a comfortable clean place for rest after enjoying the city. We did a lot of things during the day, and dinning in the center at night, and the hotel was a great escape for a nice sleep night.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

We were told the hotel was a "high rated 3 star hotel" in the town of Mendoza. When we showed up it was a very different situation very far from the center of town in an area that msot certaintly appeared unsafe. You could not walk around outside of the hotel - although even if you wanted to there was nothing but a highway to see. The rooms felt dirty and unkept, with dirty towels, used shampoo bottles and hair balls lining the stained rug. I have stayed in nicer hostels than this hotel. If you are looking to spend as little money as possible this might work, otherwise the hostels in the actual town of mendoza looked much nicer.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonardaHotel, Gerente General at Bonarda Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2009
Dear Mariel,
The location of the hotel is available on line and in every webplace, flyer and advertisment material we appear in. There was a mistake of the agency not being clear with you about the hotel location.
The hotel is located at the entrance of the city, there are some restaurants, supermarkets, malls and shopping centers in the surroundings, but not all of them are at a walking distance. But we have, for example, a free shuttle to the Mendoza Plaza Shopping, you just have to ask for this at the front desk.
Your booking was for 3 nights and you stayed just 1 night. Nobody at the hotel knew why you left earlier. You didn´t complete the Comments and Suggestions form, neither asked to talk to the person in charge, nor told anybody about your disagree when you were at the hotel. So is very difficult for us to give you an answer or to solve the situation if we don´t know about it.
We were very surprised when we received your comments because nobody before has settled a critic like this. We would be happy to help you or to solve this situation on time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2007

On the outskirts of Mendoza, just off the high way, this is a clean, well appointed Inn. The rooms are big, comfortable with a safe and mini bar. The only negative was that the air condition was hard to adjust to keep temperature. A small but very clean pool and small garden with long chairs was appreciated. The breakfast was more than adequate. The personnel spoke English and were most helpful. It was easy to go to town or visit the vineyards.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — air condition
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bonarda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonarda Hotel

Address: Uspallata 840, Mendoza CP 5519, Argentina (Formerly Microtel Inn & Suites Mendoza)
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 89 Hotels in Mendoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bonarda Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonarda, is a high standard three-star hotel, located on the Wine Road, near the main wineries and industries in Mendoza, Argentina. Our personalized assistance, the coziness of our rooms and the traditional Argentine dishes with a particular gourmet touch will make you feel comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Bonarda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Mendoza
Bonarda Hotel Mendoza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonarda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.