We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended by a local” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maria Antonieta

Maria Antonieta
Belgrano 1069, Mendoza, Argentina
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 352 Restaurants in Mendoza
Cuisines: Argentinean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Recommended by a local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We were supposed to have dinner at Azafran but while tasting wine at Vines of Mendoza, spoke to Maria who works in client services. She was winding down her day with a glass of wine herself. She suggested going to Marie antoneita for dinner. The chef was the girlfriend of the owner of 1884 restaurant. It was a bistro style food in a very modern and open kitchen setting. The food and service were excellent. My husband had the risotto and I had the steak and potatoes. To his delight, his risotto was made and presented to him in a le creuset pot. My steak and particularly potatoes were delightful. The only thing we noticed was that we were the first dinner guests for the evening--at 8:30pm. The locals eat late so other people were only coming into the restaurant when we were leaving after 10pm. Since it is a relatively new restaurant, it seems that it has not yet garnered the tourist following yet. It is only one block down the street from Vines of Mendoza on Belgrano.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    181
    31
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice food, good selection of wines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stumbled by this restaurant on our recent trip to Mendoza, and did not have any special expectations. We were seated outside on a pavement table, the inside also looked good, with an open kitchen. The food was quite good, but not exceptional. More informal than some of the other top rated restaurants. In total a nice place to eat in Mendoza.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Warm and charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great find!This is an oasis of quality food & service among the array of less than average reataurants that crowd the area. Delicious, unpretentious and tasty dishes. Wine at a reasonable price. Great desert. Charming and cozy atmosphere. Enjoy it!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Let them eat cake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This restaurant did not exceed our expectations though it is a charming restaurant. The food was decent as was the service but we think you might be better off at a simple parillada.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent afternoon option!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have been now 6 times to Maria Antonieta in the 3 months I've been back to my home in Mendoza. It is wonderful option for a nice brunch, superb coffee and delicious eggs!! I love going with my boyfriend to unwind after a long day at work nearby and have a nice conversation over coffee and exquisite jam and cheese croissants! Great service, Celina is outstanding! Nothing but praise for this place

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria Antonieta also viewed

Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
 
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
 

Been to Maria Antonieta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maria Antonieta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.