We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giovanni's

Giovanni's
Sarmiento 693, Mendoza, Argentina
(0)261 429 8447
Improve this listing
Ranked #323 of 352 Restaurants in Mendoza
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Springfield, IL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We liked it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Wow, I'm glad I didn't read the reviews of this restaurant before we went. We stopped here for lunch and had the provolone pizza. We really liked it. The crust had that good flavor from a wood burning oven. I would go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    6
    4
    11
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exceptionally lucky not to get sick after our meal!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

The less said about this restaurant the better. Worst pizza we have ever tasted - you really have to try to mess up a Margherita pizza. Even the Mendoza street dogs stay away from this place!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I wish we had done a little research, but we were in a hurry and the restaurant looks nice and was conveniently located on the corner next to our hotel. We ordered a menu including bife de lomo and were presented with a tiny empanada and a thin fatty piece of meat with four slices of fried potato.

When we complained about the standard of the meat we were told that this is the way the food is always served here and that this is a "Mendozan" bife de lomo. Having traveled to Mendoza before and all over Argentina, I almost laughed at that. We went to the restaurant across the road the next day and of course there is no such thing as a Mendozan bife de lomo. Apart from the food, the service is horrible; the staff do not care about the reputation of the restaurant and when you complain they just want you to go away as fast as possible - which we did, without even waiting for the dessert we'd paid for.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Indifferent service, nothing in the food to recommend it.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

This restaurant presents well with outside tables and good location on Sarmiento. It should not though be that difficult to order one of the specials prominently displayed on the board for passers-by. It should not take 10 minutes to get the waiter's attention to pay the bill, and then 30 minutes to get the bill and receive the change.

Poor overall.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wouldn't feed dog there.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011 via mobile

Overpriced substandard food cooked to a crisp. I'm sure someome forgot to remove the saddle before they killed the donkey they served up. The service made faulty towers look like the Ritz. Sad, because the location was good. Gordon Ramsay needs to give this place the once over.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's also viewed

 
Lujan de Cuyo, Mendoza
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
 

Been to Giovanni's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giovanni's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.