We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Andino Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Andino Hotel to your Saves list
Sol Andino Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Godoy Cruz 102, Mendoza 5500, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 98 Mendoza B&B and Inns
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We were booked to this hotel in a tour. It is 6-7 blocks away from the main plaza. The staff at the reception are all friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet offered was nice. It has different kinds of bread, ham, cheese, but no eggs were provided. We stayed here for three nights. The property is old, only one small lift which was probably made in the 30-40's, but still functioning well. The air conditioning is not always working as the same at home. It takes hours to cool down the room in a hot days like 35c yesterday. The wifi at the lobby is very good, though it would be better if wifi is accessible in the room. No need to buy water here. The water dispenser at the Cafe on the ground floor provides water refill in my own bottle during day times.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    19
    44
    29
    27
See reviews for
30
52
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Sol Andino is a decent 3 star choice in Mendoza. It is well located in the middle of town. Rooms are small, but comfortable and relatively clean. Showers are good with plenty of hot water. Breakfast is basic Argentine buffet with no frills. This is a good choice for a couple nights in Mendoza if you are travelling on a budget and want to stay in a place right in the heart of town.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not directly above the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Chile
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is a very tidy and friendly hotel in the middle of the city centre of Mendoza. We had a great time there and the staff were excellent. We had an emergency during our stay and the staff helped us out by getting a doctor come to our hotel room within 15 minutes. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, ON
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Hotel was convenient for walking to the pedestrian street or to one of the many parks. The elevator was small for people AND luggage but stairs weren't too bad to the 5 th floor.

The beds were tiny but clean. Same with the bathroom. But didn't spend a lot of time in the room as this is wine country!

Breakfast was included and had a good selection of breads and cheeses. Seemed to be a lot of tour groups at the hotel, so the breakfast area was busy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

The only good thing about this hotel is its location. Great to walk to restaurants and get a feel for the city. The breakfast wasnt anything special but I cant say it was bad since the majority of the hotels we stayed at in South America didnt serve great breakfast. I usually had a ham and cheese sandwich with some milk. The room was dark and extremely noisy. We had lots of trouble sleeping and the hotel staff made noise late into the night and early mornings. I guess by South American standards this is a great hotel but we stayed in better for the price we paid here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendoza
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

Through the window, you could hear the roar of the street. Then, in the middle of the night, the very loud AC turned on by itself. The sheets were thin and uncomfortable. There was a hallway phone that rang loudly all night. Then the maid knocked on my door while I was asleep first thing in the morning. Then she let herself in. Then she waited 20 minutes and yelled into the room some question about towels. All this while she blasted music while cleaning rooms at 8 am. Awful.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Andino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Andino Hotel

Address: Godoy Cruz 102, Mendoza 5500, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Mendoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Andino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Sol Andino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Andino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.