We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambience and a great grill” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Patio Jesus Maria

El Patio Jesus Maria
Aristides Villanueva y Boulogne Sur Mer - 5ta seccion, Mendoza, Argentina
0351 4770728
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 352 Restaurants in Mendoza
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sandnes, Norway
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Ambience and a great grill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Utmost friendly staff that really try their best, nice food however lacking somewhat in timing and routines. Nevertheless an ok choice when in MDZ

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    39
    18
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice feed Mendoza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We went here for a Argentinian BBQ. We did not really get this, but the food and service was great. The location is handy, just near the San Martin Park.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Top Contributor
381 reviews 381 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“OK food, good service, pleasant location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We visited Jesus Maria on our first night in town. We wanted to eat some beef while sitting outside. Jesus Maria certainly met (though probably didn't exceed) our expectations. We each had the parillada and were served a range of cuts of beef, pork, and goat. There was plenty of food and the pacing was good. By the end, we were slowing down, but they made sure to offer more of any cut that we particularly liked. I particularly like the selection of sausage. In addition the meat, the parialliada was served with french fries (in the local style with scrambled eggs on top) and empanadas.

Our server was great -- helpful and attentive -- and the setting was very pleasant -- at the border of the park.

The restaurant also has an indoor area and could handle large parties easily.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent steak, efficient waiters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was one of the first steaks we had during our Argentina vacation and - after many steaks in many parts of the country - this steak still ranks among the best. Perfectly prepared as I desired (medium rare) with some peppers and onions on the side - muy excellente!

I also had french fries with scrambled eggs on top. As it turns out, this is a typical side dish in Argentina and they were quite yummy!

There is a not-too-big wine list at this restaurant, which I appreciated.

As a typical American with an early tummy, the restaurant's late opening was a bit shocking. We arrived at 9:30 and were the first customers of the night; by the time we left at 11:30 the place was packed with locals.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
“Really, really good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I am surprised to read the negative reviews! We had a really nice meal at this restaurant. We actually stumbled upon it by accident as we were walking in town. We already had reservations at the acclaimed Don Mario but we gave them up because we'd need to take a taxi there. We had been wondering around in town and this restaurant was central and looked busy. We asked a stranger on the street what she thought of the restaurant - she said it was excellent.

We made reservations for 21h00 and returned to find it heaving with people. The patio was completely full and we were lucky to have made a reservation. It was a warm and wonderful night. Everyone was enjoying themselves and they were all local - we were on to a good thing. Try to get a table outside - it's a great atmosphere.

Huge salads, wonderful cuts of meat and great steak. I'd still have to say we had much better in Buenos Aires (apparently, the beef is better in BA) but the meat was really good at Jesus Maria - tender and really well cooked. Side dishes were also great.

Service was really nice. Maitre D was buzzing around making sure everything was going well. Looked like the owner was also surveying things - looked like a tight ship was being run.

Really enjoyable meal and nice and centrally located as well. A nice walk in the park behind was nice as well.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Patio Jesus Maria also viewed

Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
 
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
 

Been to El Patio Jesus Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Patio Jesus Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.