We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Las Tinajas

Las Tinajas
Mendoza, Argentina
Improve this listing
Ranked #331 of 373 Restaurants in Mendoza
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Mendoza, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“not good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Not good restaurant. In a not nice place. I dont like it. Food is not dome with love.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    62
    57
    34
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great bargain eatery in Mendoza, Argentina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Unfortunately, i only found out about this place on my last night in Mendoza. It is fairly centrally located and was only a few blocks from my hotel. The place is very spacious, well lit and a very good variety of things to eat and naturally meat of all sorts. The waiters take your wine or beverage orders, which are extra. Credit cards are accepted. As i recall the fare was 63 pesos, which amounted to about US$ 14 plus the wine.
I do not agree with some of the other comments here which downplay the place. Are there better places to eat - yes - but for the money, its a deal. Ran into a fellow American there who was also very satisfied with the place and was wasting no time going for a second round.
I would also mention that it does fill up fast. The locals seem to flock there....hmmmm, doesn't that tell you something? I will attempt to add some pictures.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayaguez
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very Good Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

This place offers a great variaty of food and a fantastic Agentinian grill area, with al sot of local flavored meats. Their pasta is also great. Get here early, it get crazy crowded!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bochum
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“OK, nothing special but good to eat a lot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

I saw the ratings on Tripadvisor before and checked the restaurant. Quite big with lots of tables, free seating. The restaurant serves food in buffet form so you can eat as much as you can handle. Price depends on the weekday. Monday, e.g. 56 p.p. + drinks.
Food variety is good although there is noting special, Parrilla meat quality is average, dessert extremely sweet. Most tourist will go for the meat while local people also enjoy things like Pizza, noodles or simple Sushi.
This restaurant is good if you like to select yourself and if you are really hungry and want to be full. Don't expect fancy things but I have nothing negative to report. The ambience of the restaurant could be improved.

Parking is free after 21:00 outside cross street. (2-3 minutes to walk)

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
498 helpful votes 498 helpful votes
“nice but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

we had some buffet with salads and meat .for whatver obscure reason it is difficult to find decent meat in argentina (in spite of their self propulsing lie to have the best in the world:).but the salad bar was okay and very tasteful.meat without any flavour and not very well done.in texas you ll surely het better quality.really ! ahh.nice staff and good wine though.
to be recommended.better than a fast food place. ahhh we had some great empanadas. dont miss out on those !!!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Tinajas also viewed

Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
 
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
 

Been to Las Tinajas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Tinajas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.