We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Esquisite Experience at 1884!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Mallman 1884

Francis Mallman 1884
1188 Belgrano, Godoy Cruz,, Mendoza, Argentina
261/424-2698
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 373 Restaurants in Mendoza
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Esquisite Experience at 1884!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This restaurant is like no other in Mendoza or anywhere else we have eaten for a long time!
The entrance to the restaurant is like going through the gates of an old castle- the restaurant itself is set in a courtyard all beautifully lit up show casing the clay oven burning on the far side. This place would be amazing in the summer months sitting like a Queen in her courtyard!
After an extremely nice welcome we were shown through to our table passing the bar area which seemed to be stocked with some tasty looking beverages and into the restaurant.
We passed a table of home baked breads which later we would be served on our table.
There was an amazing atmosphere in the room which I find many places find difficult to get right- this place was perfect, it had just the right balance of romance, buzz and etiquette which made the boundaries of what would be an exceptional evening.
We had a lovely glass of champagne to start then chose a bottle of Cabernet Franc which we had tried the day before at the Zuccardi Winery- it was and still is delicious!
Our starters were Empanadas for me and my husband enjoyed a sizzling dish of Shrimps in a cast iron dish with a dressing of lemon and herbs to compliment them.
Followed by 7hr Lamb and Mash for me and my husband chose Pork Ribs served again with delicious sides and on a wooden plank Argentinian style!
We probably did not need dessert but one could not resist after such a glorious menu of puddings so we opted for pannacotta and ice cream which again did not underachieve!
The view of the main kitchen can be seen through a large, long glass window which I think is a nice touch as it seemed to not over power the room as the main focus but allowed the diner to engage visually with the kitchen.
Likewise we were able to go outside and watch the oven clay chef in action and have photos taken.

All in a all a truly memorable and wonderful experience that everyone should try at least once!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    586
    203
    112
    56
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of our best meals in Argentina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

If you're going to Mendoza and wonder weather or not it is worth it to visit this restaurant: it is, definitely go. This is the only Argentinean steak that met our expectations during a ten-day visit. All other orders were excellent as well.
They have a great wine list and you can find some excellent wines with low prices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Very good dinner in Mendoza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We chose to dine at this resturant because of the fame of the chef.
We had a little trouble finding the restaurant as it is inside a bodega, the Escorihuela Gascon, there is no sign writing his name on the front. Stay tuned! If I had not seen the site before reaturante, could not know. The hotel had made reservations for us, so we had no trouble being met. The service is good and the menu offers many options.
The environment is very beautiful and has a very interesting clay oven.
The wine list is quite extensive.
Dinner was good but not unforgettable or memorable.
But I think it's worth knowing. Especially if you're interested in knowing restaurants

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow! Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We dined at the resturant as a group of 5 on our last night in Mendoza. The resturant was faultless from the moment we entered until the time we begrudgingly departed.

Excellent choice of wine and fantastic atmosphere, combined with 1st class food. Well recommended.

Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A superb restaurant in Mendoza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had a delightful evening with delicious food at Francis Mallman 1884 restaurant in Mendoza Argentina. Located in an old bodega, the worn exterior belies the de luxe interior with great appointments, tables and chairs. Superior service with nice pacing, this is a steak place that has better meats than many of the Argentinian steakhouses as well as delicious fish entrees. Appetizers and deserts were excellent. Certainly the best food we have had in Argentina outside of Buenos Aires.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francis Mallman 1884 also viewed

Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
 
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
 

Been to Francis Mallman 1884? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Mallman 1884, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.