We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Mallman 1884

Francis Mallman 1884
1188 Belgrano, Godoy Cruz,, Mendoza, Argentina
261/424-2698
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 400 Restaurants in Mendoza
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“World class cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

During our 10 day holiday to Argentina we had an opportunity to visit Mendoza's wine country. One of the highlights was dinner at Francis Mallman's 1884. We weren't familiar with his notoriety but after dining there we would not hesitate to return. It was certainly one of the best meals we had, not only in Argentina but any where we have traveled. What he did well was to not stray from the principles of Argentine cuisine, so the menu was full of options for good beef (bief), They took it to another level by incorporating sophisticated sides and accompaniments without altering or covering up the wonderful flavors of wonderfully grilled steaks. I would, without hesitation return, it had not only great food but also a sophisticated atmosphere that elegant yet welcoming.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    586
    203
    112
    56
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We loved our dinner at 1884. We sat outside in the garden having a cocktail while waiting for our table to be ready. We hadn't specifically reserved outside seating but it was such a lovely night that we decided to wait for one instead of eating inside. We literally watched as the waitstaff picked the mint in the garden for my mojito. Completely refreshing. The open grill is fun to see. We thoroughly enjoyed the grilled empanadas, steak with chimchurri (the biggest I've ever seen...750g..easily shared), and the specialty, baby goat. It is expensive but delicious.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Best meal in Argentina that wasn't steak! What a feast! The atmosphere and food made for a superb evening. We got there as the sun was going down and ate outside. We were a large group and they served appetizers family style so everyone got to taste everything. No one was disappointed and we didn't need the main courses because we were already full. The pigs that we are, we did eat more and thoroughly enjoyed it. We went through 3 bottles of the Malbec they recommended too. Desserts were the restaurants only weakness, but after that meal who needs dessert?! Highly recommend this place. It's not inexpensive, but worth every single penny for the wonderful experience to know Francis Mallman.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A mix of great and not so great..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

First of all the restaurant was crowded, with primarily Americans but it was Christmas Day and few restaurants were open. That's still no reason to neglect us for more than 45 minutes. We tried unsuccessfully to attract the attention of a waiter until someone finally came over and said "Did I take your order?" ... Our response, " no, we are waiting for menus!" From then on the meal was memorable..I chose shrimp in a clay pot for starters and followed by tenderloin wrapped in bacon, the waiter's suggestion, both yummy. For our party of three it was a very leisurely meal on the patio, which for us was fine as we saw tables turn from early diners (primarily older tourists and those with young children) to late night eaters. Getting transportation back to our hotel was a challenge, and we had to wait about an hour for the restaurants cars to take us into Mendoza, had we been at the beginning of our trip we might have been frustrated but as this was toward the end we were already used to Argentinian ways!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Might be the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I love to eat out and love restaurants and could go on and on here so I will make this short and sweet. This might be the best meal and best restaurant I've EVER been to. It's that good. Seriously. We have our celebrity chefs in the U.S., but Francis Mallman might be the best there is.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francis Mallman 1884 also viewed

Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
 
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
 

Been to Francis Mallman 1884? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Mallman 1884, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.