We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Estancia Los Potreros

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rio Ceballos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Estancia Los Potreros
Save
You added Estancia Los Potreros to your Saves list
Casilla de Correo 64, Rio Ceballos 5111, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fabulous in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

What a wonderful place.

From the moment that you arrive, you feel like a guest of the family.

The ranch is beautiful and vast. The accommodation is tastefully furnished and very clean.

The horseriding is terrific and the guides are patient and knowledgeable.

The meals are delicious and the atmosphere genuinely warm and relaxed.

First class and highly recommended. The highlight of my trip to South America.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
21
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I stayed for 7 nights. I am a competent rider and I thought the horses were very good indeed; all maintained to an excellent standard; well mannered and managed and oviously content. In fact I thought they were outstanding. The location is lovely; beautiful scenery ; wonderful wild flowers. The accommodation and food are good and the people professional, helpful and kind. Perhaps a little old England in Argentina.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Los Potreros was amazing, my husband and I had a really excellent stay and can highly recommend it (and have to anyone who will listen). We stayed in early December and were very fortunate to have the run of the place to ourselves for the first 5 days of our stay and this enabled us to get the very most out of all the rides. Kevin and Lou were a pleasure to deal with, very gracious hosts, and the 4 guides who were there were equally as welcoming and fun. Our room was very comfortable, and spotless. The food was excellent, varied and very plentiful.

We had the opportunity to take advantage of the complete range of activities Los Potreros has to offer; a full moon ride, herding cattle (which I enjoyed immensely), lassoing cattle (which I was absolutely awful at to the extent that even the calves themselves were mocking me!) and a spot of polo (both playing and then watching a local tournament). All of our needs were catered for, we never felt rushed or hassled but the days were full and varied and there was always a welcoming glass of wine to be had. All in all a tremendous stay that will live long in the memory.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

loved our stay at Estancia Los Potreros. Room was comfortable, food was good and plentiful, the riding was out of this world. Would recommend the experience to one and all. Lou and Kevin are great hosts, the staff are young and so enthusiastic. The estancia is enchanting. No pressure, just rides in wonderful open fields. The horses are fabulous, well trained, responsive and fun.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural SC
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Kevin and Louisa run a wonderful estancia outside of Cordoba
Argentina. With a maximum of 12 guests at a time, and all your meals
family style, it feels more like a house party than a hotel. The focus of
the trip was horseback riding, and they have lovely horses (120 of them)
that are extremely well trained and responsive. We have been all over
the world on horseback vacations, and this was the very best ever.
It was a great riding vacation, with no detail overlooked and very well organized
and lots of fun. We plan to go back next fall.

Room Tip: All of the rooms (there are only six) are unique. The honeymoon cottage would be perfect for a coup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

What a place..... Estancia Los Potreros has found the perfect balance between experiencing the traditional charm of Argentina and the comforts of a 5 star holiday.

In contrast to most of Argentina which is fairly flat, Los Potreros is set in the most beautiful location I have ever seen! The traditional estancia is surrounded by hills of grazing lands of horses & cattle and flowers & wildlife. The English guides provide an excellent communication link to the Gauchos for those of us less fluent in Spanish, and tend to your every need during your stay. I visited in mid Dec and the weather was fantastic, 28-34 degrees and sunshine every day (apart from one great storm)! At night the clear skies give amazing views of the stars and you can fireflies blinking away in the trees (a new experience for me)!

The room was fantastic and comfortable, the food and wine delicious and the service second to none. The horses are wonderful, with a different horse on every ride you really get to experience the lovely Paso and Criollo horses which were fun, safe and comfortable to ride. The rides to the waterfalls and rock pools were particularly picturesque and lovely to swim in on the hot days.

The range of activities on offer included herding cattle and yearlings, lassoing, polo and a more relaxed game of croquet! All of which were great fun. There is also a swimming pool with deck chairs for those looking to relax.

This estancia is family run by Kevin and Lou who are wonderful hosts and tell fascinating stories. The number of guests is limited which gives it a lovely intimate feel. I cannot recommend this place enough and really hope to be back before too long. A big thank you to all the staff and guides and to Lou and Kevin for a wonderful holiday (not forgetting Buma, Harvey, Pippa and Delphi)!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Staying on Estancia Los Potreros was the absolute highlight of our trip to Argentina. Kevin and Lou are the best hosts and they, together with their staff, make you feel like you've arrived in paradise! The horses are lovely, the food is delicious, the setting is beautiful and I could go on like this forever... It is just impossible to put in words how perfect this place is. We cried in the taxi when we left and we would love to go back again soon!

Just go there, I can guarantee you will have the time of your lives!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Estancia Los Potreros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Los Potreros

Address: Casilla de Correo 64, Rio Ceballos 5111, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Cordoba > Rio Ceballos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Rio Ceballos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estancia Los Potreros, a 1574 estancia, is set in a beautiful reserve at the top of the Cordoba hills in the centre of Argentina. It is an organic working farm that breeds cattle and horses, and it has been in the family for four generations and sets the highest standards of accommodation, combining the pleasures of estancia life with exceptional riding. Home rides, polo, assisting the gauchos with cattle are some of the many activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Estancia Los Potreros Hotel Rio Ceballos
Estancia Los Potreros Rio Ceballos, Argentina - Province Of Cordoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estancia Los Potreros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.