We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had to cancel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Creekside Preserve Lodge and Guest Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mayer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Creekside Preserve Lodge and Guest Cabins
11255 S.S.R. 69, Mayer, AZ 86333   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Mayer
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Had to cancel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Made reservations but had to cancel due to my 91 year old father being put in the hospital. They didn't care charged my credit card anyway. Will definitely not be going there ever. After reading the reviews really makes my mind up.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    4
    6
    8
See reviews for
5
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a little rustic getaway..we entered our room and at first glance looked ok. Short version..we were killing roaches and spiders all night, a/c was rattling so loud we could not
sleep, light from cabin next door lit up our whole room, jacuzzi tub had cracks all around tile and smelled moldy, bottom of bed held up by bricks..I could keep going..we got NO sleep. We went to check out as soon as they opened. We had paid for 3 nights. Owner would not refund our night's stay, no apology, nothing! Stay away people! We left and stayed at the Jerome Grand Hotel and it was fabulous so trip was not a total loss!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

When arrived on the 4th we had to carry our entire car full of things down a steep hill from a parking lot. The path to the room is dark and we had already seen a snake. We had a flashlight that helped. The food was horrible they use packaged roast beef lunch meat for roast beef sand which. The staff in the restaurant was excellent and very helpful. When the chef was told about the meal she offered free breakfast. A gentleman in his 50's was great he had a great sense of humor as did the chef working during the day. The location sucks 30 miles from town no water in the creek NO WIFI in rooms. Breakfast that is complimentary is juice coffee bagel or cinnamon roll
You do get 2.00 of coupon each day. I would NOT stay here again the restaurant staff was the positive...oh yes as for pets the porch is screened in which is nice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I love this little place! I moved out of super 8 motel and found this gem.
Let me begin by saying that in past reviews the place was marked down as dirty. This isn't a 5 star hotel, but a southwest style cabin. Yes, the water here is hard, full of minerals, that is why the wonderful heart shaped tub is covered in white dust when drained. But that is explained when you check in.
I have heard it said that the owner can be hard on his cleaning staff. When he hires and maintains good staff the place is clean, but when not, the place gets dirty.
I love the huge pine bed. The back porch is lovely and semi private. The staff is friendly and eager to help. Food is good.
All that said, the place is a little funky, as in quirky. They have plastic deer outside, and large painted horses. It's unusual which I like.
I asked for the coupon rate and got my king room marked down from $109 to $99. Comes with continental breakfast and a 10% discount on dinner in the lodge restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Two night stay at a hideaway while the kids are at the nearby Chauncy Ranch Y. The cabins are separated from each-other just below the view of the nearby highway in Mayer. Even with the close proximity to the road, we enjoyed a peaceful night stay.

The rooms have the "Unique" red heart tub next to the bed over looking a stone fireplace and is equipped with a microwave, refrigerator and a large CRT television (who would expect a high end TV at a creekside lodge anyways?).

The rooms also had A/C and a separate bathroom with a shower if you did'nt want to use the Heart tub.

Back porch overlooking the dry creek was screened to keep whatever may buzz around out.

Breakfast a decent and service was great at the small restaurant, downstairs in the main building.

We also took a side trip to Smitty Big Barn Antiques, just up the highway from the Creekside, neat place!

Room Tip: Room 13 is under-used.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a perfect quiet geraway. We stayed one night and hiked up to tge vortex, enjioyed the great hot tub, and had dinner at the lodge. To all the bad reviews.....you dont book a $79 cabin and expect resort amenities. The cabins are really nice and comfortable. The service at the lodge was excellent. We will go back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stopped here as a mid-point before heading up to the Grand Canyon. The room was clean and comfortable. Settling back to relax in the heart-shaped jacuzzi while enjoying the fire was mmmm, mmmm good. The waitress Becky in their restaurant was the BEST. She was an immediate friend right from HELLO. She made us feel so welcomed. This world needs more people like her.
Only one thing, we forgot a back-pack right in the lobby after check-out. I really wish the manager would have attempted to call us on our cell phones when he found it rather waiting for us to call him when we arrived in Las Vegas 270 miles later. We then had to turn around to retrieve it and waste an entire day of our vacation.

Room Tip: The cabin was quiet. The screened porch would have been perfect had it been warmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Creekside Preserve Lodge and Guest Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creekside Preserve Lodge and Guest Cabins

Address: 11255 S.S.R. 69, Mayer, AZ 86333
Location: United States > Arizona > Mayer
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Mayer
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabins on the creek with in-room red, heart-shaped Jacuzzi hot tubs and fireplaces. On site resaurant & saloon for dinner. Seculded feel but highway access. Cabin back porches back up to Big Bug Creek area. Watch wild animals from your back porch. Bring you dog or horse. Close to Prescott, Sedona, Jerome and Crown King, casinos, forrest, high desert, golf courses, & more! Cabins start at $69 a night mid week, $99 a night on week ends & holiday periods. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Creekside Preserve Lodge And Guest Cabins Hotel Mayer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Creekside Preserve Lodge and Guest Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Creekside Preserve Lodge and Guest Cabins to your Saves list