We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Honeymoon/Birthday” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Creekside Preserve Lodge and Guest Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mayer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Creekside Preserve Lodge and Guest Cabins
Save
You added Creekside Preserve Lodge and Guest Cabins to your Saves list
11255 S.S.R. 69, Mayer, AZ 86333   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mayer
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Some Honeymoon/Birthday”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I thought that this place would be a great little getaway for a daytrip from Phoenix. Because of the hard water, we could not use the heart-shaped jacuzzi (which was one of the main selling points for us); the water made us itch like mad. The biggest downside to our trip was thinking that a nice dinner at the lodge on site would be great. There was one girl working who was obviously the waitress, bartender, and cook, all in one. We both ordered the $14.95 steak dinner, which is a good price for the amount of food we received. However, the vegetables (corn) were microwaved - and barely warm, the "baked" potatoes were also microwaved - and hard; and the steaks were not cooked to order. Mine was cold in the milddle, and I was only able to eat a few bites before becoming violently ill. Needless to say, we will not be returning to Creekside Preserve Lodge and Cabins.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    18
    5
    6
    8
See reviews for
7
32
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anthem, Arizona
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed one night in one of the Santa Fe style cabins (with a pet). The cabin wasn't a log cabin. It was more of a stucco style. It was clean and quaint with a nice deck off of the back. We had cabin #8 which was a handicapped cabin (even though none of us are handicapped). It was the last cabin in the row of SantaFe style cabins and had a big bathroom and you could drive your car down the hill to park and unload right in front of this particular cabin. Not so for the other cabins which required a walk from up the hill a bit. You are allowed to drive your car down the hill just to unload but are not allowed to park. The other cabins which are not SantaFe style are in a separate area not far. I think they are Western theme.
Check-in was efficient and friendly. Although there are warnings everywhere about 1000 ways to get stung, eaten or otherwise killed by local critters, none of which we saw. We did see big black beetles and a lizard.
The restaurant/bar wasn't fancy but you got huge servings for a reasonable price. "Peanut" the gal who waited on and cooked our meal was a real go getter!
All in all this was a nice cabin for a weekend get away for 3 people. Any more than 2 or 3 in this small cabin would be a pretty tight squeeze. The cabin did have a microwave, fridge and sink which was convenient. WiFi didn't work in the cabin but supposedly it did in the lobby of the registration area.
The Creekside cabins are located a short distance off of Hwy. 69 and not far from I17. But there is not anything close unless you want to go into Precott Valley or Prescott which is an easy drive but some 25 miles away.
I would stay here again since it only took us about 25 minutes from Anthem to get to this cabin.
So for a 25-30 minute drive we can have cooler temps and different landscape other than desert.
I would recommend Creekside Preserve Lodge and Cabins to family and friends.
Safe Travels!
/scarlett329

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Was looking for a little special get-away for my wife's birthday. Even though the property is not to far from Phoenix, it looked fabulous and romantic online. Went on a Sunday night. It was everything I hoped for. Cute cabin surrounded by trees, log furniture, heart shaped jacuzzi right next to the bed, small kitchen area, screened porch and a fabulous fireplace. All this for 75 dollars???? I have spent hundreds on cabins not a quarter as nice in the white mountains. Prescott was a leisurely ride away and a wonderful dinner was found. We even headed up 89A to Jerome for something to do. It was a perfect getaway that was very reasonable. My wife had the free continental breakfast and I had ham, hash brown casserole (yum) and a cinnamon roll, all served with a smile and unlimited coffee, total bill, $5.40. What a deal. Yeah, the grounds could use some updating, but the cabins are fantastic. No water in the creek but hey, I knew that going in. The expensive cabins in the mountains had no water in the creek either. For the money you will spend your getting a DEAL! If you really want to complain about a place, pay your 300 plus a night and then you have a right to complain.

Room Tip: They have 2 kinds of cabins, the newer ones are stucco and have beehive fireplaces, the older ones h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Less than an hour from Phoenix and this weekend 30 degrees cooler. Delightful well designed and appointed cabins with space to walk between them. Rustic log bed just the right size, a delightful heart shaped hot tub and a wonderful gas log fire. Nice deck to sip your morning mimosas and in our case to cook our breakfast, in the evening the best place for 'sundowners' and to watch the cottonwoods or the stars. Pet friendly, welcoming staff, clean, functional and just right. We will definately be back - don't forget to check the internet special rates. Also check our review of the Parched Pig Eatery the in house restaurant and bar area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Valley, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Clean, well designed cabins w/ inviting porch overlooking cottonwood trees. Good food and friendly staff - restaurant and large bar area together, so can be noisy eves. Hiking trails abound (including walks to cabins.) Five minutes. up the main Hwy is Mayer, a quaint town w/unique flower shop and gift store that supports a local animal refuge. One min. further is a horseback riding stable w/ gentle horses and fun trails.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

After receiving coupon in mail and wanting to take my husband somewhere different on his birhtday, which is Valentines Day, I picked Creekside preserve Lodge. For us it is close, (within 50 mile), and has jacuzzi tubs in each cabin. The two thing I was looking for. I read the reviews and even though there were some not great ones, there were also some pretty good ones. We did not expect a 5 star hotel wth all the fancy amenities, we were more thinking a rustic cabin. The cabin was perfect, private, clean and looks like they are recently updated. We enjoyed the jacuzzi tub and it was clean even though it had some hard water stains, (so what, I have those also at home), it was perfect. I was surprised that the bathroom was bigger than I imagined. Bring your own shampoo but they supply small bars of soap. We stayed 2 nights and it was so relaxing, we ate at the on site restuarant, nothing fancy but pretty good and service was like visiting a friend. All in all, we have decided to go back when the weather is a little warmer and take our dog to do some hiking, yes, they are pet friendly. If you are one of those snobs that expect best of the best, don't go here but if you are looking for a clean, quiet and relaxing place to hang, this is the great little get a way.

Room Tip: Santa Fe cabins are closer to HWY but noise did not bother us, Cowboy cabing furhter away from HWY
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed here because it's just 15 minutes from Arcosanti, Paolo Soleri's self-contained city of the future, where the Different Skies annual music concert was held. "Cabins" here are sort of pre-fab, bare-bones, but the biggie is the screened porch that each one has overlooking Big Bug Creek. The creek was not flowing when we were there, but we sat on the porch and enjoyed the birds, and listened to the cicadas.
As advertised, rooms have little gas fireplaces (weather was too hot for us to use) and heart-shaped red hot tubs (kitschy, but fun if that's your thing), a little coffee maker, fridge and microwave so you could tuck in for a few days and still not starve.
Pillows are the rubbery kind, and the mattress is not a pillow-top, but there's a tv, and the bathroom has a shower (no tub), and is well-lighted. Everything was very clean, if worn a bit. Continental breakfast has bagels, huge muffins, fruit juice, coffee,microwavable croissant sandwiches, probably more stuff that we didn't stay to discover. There's a restaurant open from 4-8 p.m.with a limited, cholesterol-heavy menu, but if you're into steaks, burgers and hot dogs you'll be OK.
The reason to stay here would be to avoid pricier digs in nearby (30 miles) Prescott, or to bring your horse (they have horse boarding) or dog.
If you have limited mobility, be aware that there is a paved path from the lodge where you check in to the cabins. Part of it is fairly steep. I wouldn't want to push a wheelchair, or walk with a cane along this path.
But bottom line is that it's fine for what it is, and the staff is friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage that has recently had foliage trimmed so you can see the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Creekside Preserve Lodge and Guest Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creekside Preserve Lodge and Guest Cabins

Address: 11255 S.S.R. 69, Mayer, AZ 86333
Location: United States > Arizona > Mayer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mayer
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabins on the creek with in-room red, heart-shaped Jacuzzi hot tubs and fireplaces. On site resaurant & saloon for dinner. Seculded feel but highway access. Cabin back porches back up to Big Bug Creek area. Watch wild animals from your back porch. Bring you dog or horse. Close to Prescott, Sedona, Jerome and Crown King, casinos, forrest, high desert, golf courses, & more! Cabins start at $69 a night mid week, $99 a night on week ends & holiday periods. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Creekside Preserve Lodge And Guest Cabins Hotel Mayer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Creekside Preserve Lodge and Guest Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.