We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is all you pay for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grand Hostel

Le Grand Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Le Grand Hostel to your Saves list
Le Grand Hostel
Buenos Aires 547, Cordoba, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 167 Specialty Lodging in Cordoba
Buenos Aires
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Location is all you pay for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I would not recommend this hostel.

The room with the twin bed and private bathroom is nice. It's clean and so is the bathroom. Unfortunately, it is extremely hot which makes it hard to get any rest during the summer (which is not usual for me, but when I say extremely hot I really mean it). There is a fan on the ceiling and that's it...which is loud and annoying.

The staff is not very helpful. They are nice, but they don't usually have a clue or care, so don't waste your time asking them for help.

The location is EXCELENT. I would recommend finding another hostel near this one! The nightlife in the area (it's called Nueva Córdoba) is awesome, there are bars and shops nearby, and the bus station is also very close. And it's close to the downtown area.

Overall, it's not THAT bad, but it's expensive for what you get and I would not go back or recommend it to anyone. Find another hostel!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else, or stay in the room with twin bed and private bathroom during winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    17
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
2
16
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We went to Cordoba for the long weekend with my group of girlfriends. We paid for a room with 6 beds and private bathroom. The staff took a while to give us sheets for the beds and the bathroom had not been cleaned, as there were a bunch of hairs in the bath tub. I found the staff to be not very helpful, but they were not too bad. What really bothered us is that most rooms are looking at the patio and they have really loud music going on until about 6:00 am and a foosball table that can be super loud as well. I guess it could be a great place for you if want to party at the hostel, but if you want to party elsewhere and just sleep there, I would not recommend it. Also, the photos of the place are deceitful and far from what it looks like in reality.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here in April. The staff were a bit too cool for school, but the location was good, the room ok, and the wifi worked. Not the ritz, but no bed bugs

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

The location is fine and the place is in decent condition. Butt he staff or complete morons and nasty to boot. There was an inçcident with another traveler and I was assaulted. They mishandled the sitation and let the girls go instead of being arrested. Then, they refused a refund, even for the night I was not going to stay there. I had to demand to speak witht he owner/manager. More than an hour larer, he shows up and says theat because his staff didn´t witness the incident, it did not happened. He said ´´Maybe you punched yourself.´´ This is absurd!!!!

It´s a grungy plane that is overpriced with horrible staff.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

We thought this place was just awful & the only nice thing about this place is the exterior of the building - step inside and it all slides downhill.

OK, so it's pretty clean (but shabby) and in a semi-decent location if you wanna be near to a few bars but the double room with private bathroom we had was UNBELIEVABLY hot... too hot to sleep in and MUCH hotter than outside. (Think there must be pipes under the room or something, altho when we mentioned it to the receptionist she just said in a vague , not-in-the-least-apologetic way: "yeah... the rooms are really hot...".
I got sick on the second day in Cordoba from eating in a local veggie restaurant & had to sweat it out in the room all day & that was a hideous experience, given that there's a city-wide powercut every day for at least 3 hours (or so the staff say) so all the fans and internet etc cut out.

The breakfast was dire & def not worth getting up for, unless you like coffee that looks and tastes like sewage. Staff were OK - perfunctory & not that friendly - and altho they charged us each 10 pesos less for paying with cash, they got it back pretty swiftly by charging us 20 to keep our bags in their store cupboard till our bus. Not impressed - one of the worst we've stayed in in all of south america.

Our advice to those thinking of staying here? Find somewhere better and don't be deceived by the pix on the website.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

The hostel is new, with nice rooms, comfy beds, great bathrooms, internet, etc. The breakfast was not great. The price was great and the location was good. But, this was the loudest hostel on earth. It was a combo of the running of the bulls, Formula 1, and the floor of the NY stock exchange rolled into one. I would not recommend it for anyone over 22 or anyone wanting to sleep more than 1 hour a night. The music plays 24 hours day, as does the party in the center courtyard. The noise travels through the closed windows, the walls, and under the door. We heard every noise in the hall, in the kitchen and the courtyard. the party ended at 5am and noises started again at 7am with construction workers, housekeeping and guests. Could not sleep at night, late in the am, and even for siesta. Would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

This hostel is the closest thing to a great hotel as you´re going to find. It´s brand new, sparkling clean, loads of room, great friendly staff, funky lounge areas, loads of internet availability, superb rooms, towels, clean and comfy beds, great new kitchen space, massive BBQ area in the most amazing grand building. Forget all other hostels in Cordoba, this has to be your choice for value for money and comfort. Cordoba is a great city to hang out in for a few days and this hostel is perfect for it.

Don´t miss it.

  • Liked — The building itself
  • Disliked — Nothing, it was great
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Grand Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hostel

Address: Buenos Aires 547, Cordoba, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 167 Specialty Lodging in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Grand hostel is the biggest Hostel in Córdoba, Argentina. It is located in the residential area of Nueva Cordoba, one of the safest neighborhood in Town. Nueva Córdoba is a student`s area with young people from different cities of Argentina. Are you looking for a Hostel in Cordoba? Then let us give you a warm welcome to LeGrand Hostel, within 31 rooms (20 of them with private room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Le Grand Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grand Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.