We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lots of bedbugs!!! december 2011” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cordoba Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cordoba Backpackers to your Saves list
Cordoba Backpackers
San Martin 414, Cordoba, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 80 Hotels in Cordoba
argentina
1 review
“lots of bedbugs!!! december 2011”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

There's nothing much to say about this place... it's old, ugly and it has a bedbug problem. I woke up covered in bites and the girl at reception tried to convince me that the bites were from a rare type of mosquitos you can only find in Cordoba... I wasn't the only one with a problem and moved out of there as soon as I could. I am staying at Aldea hostel now which is much better and for the extra 10 pesos i am paying I am getting breakfast and a clan, bug free bed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
1
6
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bilbao, Spain
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
307 helpful votes 307 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed there a couple of nights, and the experience was average. It wasn't absolutely disgusting, but there was nothing that really stuck in our memories.
The rooms were darkish so we needed our headlights to read in beds but then again, this is what I take it for.
The staff was absolutely excellent and provided us with all kind of information we asked for. They might have been a little bit on the paranoid side recommending us a taxi to the bus station, but then again - better safe than sorry.

Overall, I would probably not stay there again unless there's a shortage of cheap accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, Brazil
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

We booked two rooms by phone and then we were informed that only one room had bathroom inside. So we booked this room and another, without private bathroom. When we got there, they gave us two rooms without bathroom, saying they gave the other room to someone else.

Anyways, we decided to check on the place and left completely horrified. Definitely it was the most disgusting place we have been to. It’s an old building with dirty, humid and moldy walls.

Don’t believe the pictures on the website: they show modern splits, but on both rooms the air conditioner was an example of the first ever designed. And yet you can’t turn them on and off when you wish: they have schedules to turn them on, maybe because they don't want you to get killed on the eletric wires showing on the room's walls.

On the time we got there, it was a hot December night and yet the temperature there was higher than outside, the air was smelling like someone had sprayed a whole tube of those deodorizing scented products (probably to disguise the “natural” nasty smell of the place), humid like a warm house, completely claustrophobic.

We left in five minutes and asked our money back. We don’t know how the dorms are, but judging from these private rooms we got, we wouldn’t recommend it to our worst enemy.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2009

Stayed in a private room in the annex across the street. The main lobby seems to be that of a typical HI hostel, loud music, young travelers, drinks for sale, computers with internet access, and Wi-Fi. We stayed in the annex across the way which has a large kitchen and is somewhat well equipped but other travelers make it a little dirty. The room we stayed in was in the kitchen area and we found it to be loud, stuffy (it lacked windows but had a fan), and very dark. We met some travelers also in their late 20s that stayed in the room next door. The guy counted 80 bites on him after staying at Cordoba Backpackers. His room was infested with bed bugs and it seemed that the Hostel knew of the problem but essestially ignored it. We were on the look out for bugs after this incident and killed 2 small black bugs that were filled with blood on subsequent nights. 2 days later, my husband's feet were covered with tiny bumps. I can positively say that we found the bathrooms to be spacious andsufficient in number. We never experienced a wait. The shower stall is very large and had hot water for every shower. The excursions that the Hostel offers are expensive. We were not HI members which means we paid even more to go. We heard that the hikes were well worth it but felt we could do the trip to Villa General Belgrano for cheaper. The Hostel is well located in the city. It was about a 20 minute walk to the bus station. Breakfast is very good and offers tea, coffee or hot chocolate, 1 bowl of cereal, a pre-packaged muffin and some toast with jam and butter. If we didn't have the bed bug issue, I would recommend it for a budget traveler.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

This hostel is in a great central location, and is really friendly and welcoming. The common area is great, with 2 computers and free internet access - people tended to stick to the time limit too so it was easy to get access to the computers. The hostel is really clean, the dorms are pretty comfortable, if not that big, and the breakfast is good. The main downside is that there are not enough bathrooms for the amount of people the place accomodates. It wasn´t full when I was here, but there were still plenty of people waiting for the bathrooms in the morning - there are only 3. Other than the bathroom issue, it´s a nice place to stay with a good atmosphere.

  • Liked — the friendly staff
  • Disliked — not enough bathrooms
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

Standard HI hostel. I stayed in the private rooms across the street. The rooms were ok. The shower doors never fully shut but it was never a problem. There is a pool table and bar there but for some reason the people in the hostel did not interact much. The staff was really nice and they have a cute dog too. Overall an avergae hostel but do not go there to meet other travelers.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cordoba Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordoba Backpackers

Address: San Martin 414, Cordoba, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 80 Hotels in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your Cordoba Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cordoba Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.