We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique argentine experience unlike any other.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Estancia Ongamira

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Capilla del Monte
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Estancia Ongamira
Save
You added Estancia Ongamira to your Saves list
Ruta Provincial 17 | Valle de Ongamira, Capilla del Monte 5184, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Buenos Aires
1 review
“Unique argentine experience unlike any other.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Estancia Ongamira is absolutely AMAZING! Having now traveled throughout Argentina, I can safely say this place is unlike any other. Family owned an operated, Estancia Ongamira takes you in as one of their own. I am truly blessed to have been able to spend 3 unforgettable days with this family. The food was out of this world and the beds were warm and cozy. I simply can't say enough great things about this place. Thank you Estancia Ongamira for taking me away from the hustle and bustle of smelly Buenos Aires and bringing me into an enchanting mountain paradise.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

Estancia Ongamira is located in the Argentinian Sierras, a beautiful site crossed by the Paris-Dakkar in 2010. The accommodations themselves were good, and the owners are very nice and helpful. I's a rather small hotel, so don't expect to arrive at anytime in the restaurant and have food waiting for you - but feel free to ask for something to munch on, and you won't be disappointed.

The kitchen led by Australian chef John seems to follow two keywords: freshness and joy. As the chef put it himself, most of it is not food you should be eating in your everyday life, but it did leave me wishing otherwise. What makes his food so great is that, no matter whether it's omelets for breakfast, a 'parrillada' for dinner or anything in between, he goes the extra mile to make sure that food served is as good as he can get it to be. It may appeal to some that most - if not everything - of what he uses in his kitchen is grown in the region.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

Besides of the beautiful location and very relaxing and welcoming atmosphere the food is awesome. John is an excellent cook who uses local products to make delicious dishes that go far beyond the typical countryside food in Argentina. We were rather new with riding horses, their local gaucho Domingo really made us feel comfortable and took us on quite some beautiful rides in the countryside and the hills. The ride to the hills was unique, even got to see a condor. Rooms are simple but spacious. Tina, John and Kelly, thanks for the wonderful time we had with you.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

We spent four delightful days at Ongamira. The location is fantastic and the owners (Tina, John and Kelly) really do their best to go beyond their guests' highest expectations. As a result, one cannot but feel extremely well treated. The place offers plenty good options for trekking and horse riding, amazing birdwatching possibilities (with the mighty cóndor included) and a charming pool where to relax under the sun. John the cook will surprise you with local and international delicacies and from Tina you can learn amazing details about the history of the valley. It was the middle of summer, and ¡no mosquitoes! (a special mystery of the valley, it seems).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cordoba
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

we stayed just 3 days at this homely Estancia. Nothing was too much trouble. We ate so well, we slept so well, we rode beautiful horses, walked in absolute peace and quiet. We'd recommend it to anyone, couples, families, all ages.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

My wife, 23 year old daughter and I, found everything that we needed to stay engaged in activities...horse back riding into the hills, poolside sun bathing, condor viewing, hiking, and reading. While I, because of a bum knee, enjoyed the tranquility and beauty of the estancia's grounds and views and having great conversations with Chef John regarding cooking, beer production and distilling. The warm hospitality, service, comfortable rooms and excellent food made this an unforgettable vacation. Thanks Tina, Kelly and John for making that happen.

Phil, Susan & Lucy

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

John, Kelly and Cristina made sure our honeymoon was the time of our lives. The scenery, the food and the service are all first rate. We cannot recommend the Estancia highly enough, and we will certainly be back to visit again. If you are going to Argentina and you're looking for quiet, secluded luxury, this is one place I would recommend without hesitation.

James and Tania Wood
Edinburgh, Scotland

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Estancia Ongamira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Ongamira

Address: Ruta Provincial 17 | Valle de Ongamira, Capilla del Monte 5184, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Cordoba > Capilla del Monte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Capilla del Monte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estancia Ongamira is a rural hotel situated in one of the most beautiful valleys of the Cordoba hills. Enjoy the absolute peace and tranquility of the countryside, with its pristine beauty, imposing red rock formations, and pure mountain spring water. The valley and hillsides offer a variety of horseback riding trails. We provide the standards of service you would expect of an international hotel. Open all year round. English, Spanish, French and Italian. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estancia Ongamira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.