We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs cleaning and less clutter” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Casona del Rio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Casona del Rio to your Saves list
Casona del Rio
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Rio Carapachay 29, Tigre 1649, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 24 Tigre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Moraga, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Needs cleaning and less clutter”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The setting is beautiful. The rooms are full of "antiques" but it feels dusty and cluttered. The bathroom was OK until the used toilet paper overflowed from the waste bin. They should empty it at least once preferably a couple of days.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    18
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
28
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC, and New Paltz, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Im glad so many people had a wonderful time there and wish we had. The Inn did not seem overly clean or friendly. Much of the lawn furniture was broken and couldn't be used. Would not recommend this inn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Hola! We really enjoyed our stay at Casona del Rio. The rooms are neat and tidy and nicely decorated. The owners were welcoming and the kitchen is well equipped and the food served is delicious. My only suggestion would be that if you do not like cats and dogs then be aware that they have 2 of each and they are in the house at times, however, this should not put anyone off as Casona del Rio is great value for money and very relaxing. Loved it, thank you for having us!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there for a 3 day break from Buenos Aires and loved it. The owners are really friendly and went out of their way to rescue us when we got stuck on the mainland at night and couldn't get back!

The area is serene and chilled; perfect to relax, sunbathe, read... The owners also rent out canoes which we hired one day to explore the delta and loved it.

For evenings bring lots of books to read and mosquito spray.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Surrounded by the river, in the middle of exuberant sorts of green one finds Casona del Rio. I spent there, last year a whole week in the company of its friendly hosts, in the most relax atmosphere .
Conveniently near to Buenos Aires but far away enough from it to enjoy , relaxing, eating, and perhaps some rowing.
The Casona del Rio has the most comfortable facilities , full of light , a huge garden, and easy access to Tigre and as I mention to Buenos Aires.
For an easygoing holiday , no fuss , no stress I strongly recomend Casona del Rio.
Best Regards Maria del Carmen Diaz Buelna

Room Tip: All rooms are Ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Al llegar, navegando el río, te encontrás con un entorno natural salvaje y verde. Y en medio de todo ello, la Casona del Río te recibe como a uno más de la familia, con una atención de amigos. Uno no se siente un cliente, sino lo que buscan los mejores hoteles del mundo: hacernos sentir HUÉSPEDES.

Upon arrival, navigating the river, you find yourself with a wild and green natural environment. And amid all this, Casona del Rio welcomes you as one of the family, with an attendance of friends. We are not just customers, but what the best hotels in the world want: making us feel GUEST.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

It was in October 2011, we find the place by chance in the internet. We went there for 2 nights with my two kids and my wife. The place is really nice and friendly, 10 minutes from Tigre. We relaxed like being home, we jumped into the river with my kids, walk around, made an asado and canoeing. The kitchen is shared as well as the bathrooms, and everything was very clean. Excellent place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casona del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casona del Rio

Address: Rio Carapachay 29, Tigre 1649, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Buenos Aires > Tigre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tigre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casona del Rio 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IN THE DELTA, FEEL AT HOME: Just a 15-minute boat ride from downtown Tigre, this country-style cottage offers rooms with free breakfast on an island in Carapachay River. There is an antique clay oven and fishing is possible on site. Casona del Rio has nicely decorated rooms with dark parquet floors and wood furnishings. There are white or blue bedspreads and rooms feature work desks and shared bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Casona del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casona del Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.