We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, nice Atmosphere, ok food.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Penasco's Restraurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Penasco's Restraurant
20046 N John Wayne Highway, Maricopa, AZ
520-568-7362
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 55 Restaurants in Maricopa
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Maricopa, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great staff, nice Atmosphere, ok food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This place has a lot going for it. The staff are very friendly, great service & professional. Atmoshere is great with outdoor eating. We live in Maricopa & We have been there about 3 times. One out of three times the food was really good the other 2 times it was lacking in food quality. It's a shame, but they need to up their game if we're to come back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    9
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“It's open and serves some food...so it must be a restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

If you read the reviews to this place, you'd think the town of Maricopa had split personality. People give it ones, others give it fours. What's up?

Well, you have to understand Maricopa, which is not a huge town, and which is separated from the next closest area with multiple restaurant choices by a long stretch of road. Therefore, people here are happy to have restaurant choices period. Some folks would give McDonalds four stars just for having their doors OPEN.

I think that is all that may be keeping this restaurant from financial disaster.

Contrary to the experience of others, our service was good. The waiter checked on us often, and was nice enough to explain items on the menu. He was knowledgeable about the product he was serving, as well.

The queso was good. It was a large plate of queso, as well. The chips were nothing special. I would guess probably bulk buys from Sam's club. The Salsa, again, probably bought in bulk. Nothing amazing there.

Then the meals came. I ordered a chimichanga, my husband a burrito. We got the same thing. Neither were fried, the wrapper on mine was nearly completely uncooked. I ended up taking the meat out of the middle and just eating that. The meat in mine was tasteless. The red sauce was bland... The beans were very good, but that was hard to enjoy when the rice was bland, with no seasoning whatsover. Spanish rice should have cilantro, seasonings, ...kick! This stuff was lying there quite dead.

My husband ordered white rice. It came filled with carrots, peas, and other vegetables. Clearly not just white rice. This is not explained on the menu.

We ordered dessert--fried ice cream. They were out of ice cream. How can you be out of that with two grocery stores within your line of vision? It was explained you have to buy from "approved sources" when you are a restaurant. This is such bull that it isn't even worth dignifying with an answer.

Of course, we went to Dairy Queen afterwards for ice cream, and they didn't have any vanilla ice cream. Have you ever heard of a DQ without ice cream? Again, welcome to Maricopa...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere Inconsistant Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a nice "white table cloth" restaurant with the atmosphere you expect in a little upper scale type restaurant. It's a shame that the food doesn't match. On top of that, it's a little pricey because of the quality. I haven't anyone else tell me that it's changed, so maybe they can get a good cook to fix that (unless of course it's the owner) but for now, if you only care about the "atmosphere" go for it, but there's better food around.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was our first visit. I had the fish tacos, which was the lunch special for the day. It came with two tacos, rice and refried beans. My husband had the carne asada tacos--three tacos, rice and beans. Warm chips and salsa were brought to the table when we were seated. Refilled that and brought us salsa with a little "heat". My husband said it was excellent. Service was friendly and attentive, but not overly so, that we couldn't enjoy conversation between bites. We will definitely visit again--probably for dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I had during my trip (Phoenix/Sedona)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We sat outside for lunch; friendly prompt service. Salsa was too smoky - but, upon questioning them - they are going back to original recipe. This was had cumin (?) in it I believe.
Yummy hearty fish taco's w/ a bowl of black beans and rice. Very filling. ABSOLUTELY wonderful prickly pear margarita (and on Friday it's thier special!).
For Maricopa - it is a must try!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penasco's Restraurant also viewed

Maricopa, Central Arizona
Maricopa, Central Arizona
 
Maricopa, Central Arizona
Maricopa, Central Arizona
 

Been to Penasco's Restraurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penasco's Restraurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.