We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at Cliff Dwellers Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cliff Dwellers Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marble Canyon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cliff Dwellers Lodge
Save
You added Cliff Dwellers Lodge to your Saves list
HC 67 Box 30, Mile Post 547 N Hwy 89A, Marble Canyon, AZ 86036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marble Canyon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Surprise, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great time at Cliff Dwellers Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent three days at the Cliff Dwellers Lodge and had an awesome time. The staff was friendly and helpful (thank you Erin and Cassie!) and the food at the restaurant was really good. The rooms were minimal but that's exactly what I expected. Who spends time in the room anyway when you visit such a beautiful place. I'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    73
    24
    12
    4
See reviews for
47
72
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Page, Arizona
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just spent the night at Cliff Dwellers with 25 friends headed down the Grand Canyon the next day. Rooms were fine - though a few complained of old beds. Dinner and breakfast were well done, delicious and fairly priced. Best part was the friendly staff at all levels. Every helpful and cheerful with the most basic of tourist needs. Friendly despite the pressure of serving so many people at once. And friendly in a sincere way, like you really were making a new friend, not just being played. And, of course, its a beautiful venue which ever direction you look.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando Valley, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Cliff Dwellers Lodge is the perfect stop-over for rafters on the Colorado River headed downstream to Grand Canyon as well as hikers, kayakers and fly-fishers hoping to land a big trout at Lees Ferry. With an adjacent fly-fishing tackle store and guide service - gas station and restaurant - it's perfectly located. The restaurant is geared for people on-the-go except for dinner when you can take your time to ooh and ah over the adjacent Vermilion Cliffs as the sun sets. Food is amazingly good with maybe the best bbq ribs anywhere and some sinful desserts. Breakfast is, well, breakfast; while lunch has a nice selections of burgers and salads.

Room Tip: They get a lot of group rafting trips, so best to make reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We decided to stop here on our way to Zion and were so happy we did. The guests ranged from serious fishermen to rafters ready to embark on a thrilling adventure. We enjoyed dinner and breakfast at the restaurant, both were great but the corned beef hash was the best ever! We stayed in an older room, it had a great big window with an expansive view. The bathroom was small but spotless. It couldn't be better that sitting outside your room at sunset with endless vistas. It was amazingly quiet. The staff were knowledgeable and fun.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there before a backpacking trip and fell in love with the restaurant (not just good, but decadent). Excellent ribs. The chocolate mousse pie is positively sinful. Oh yes -- the hotel. It's fine. We stayed in the newer wing. Decent accommodations in a remote area. I'll stay there again for the great eats.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Cliff Dwellers Lodge does not look like much from the road but you will be pleasantly surprised. The location is fantastic only a couple of hundred yards from the base of the Vermillion Cliffs. We stayed in one of the older units which are roomy but in need of some paint and TLC. The beds are comfortable. The bathroom is small and rustic, the shower is a little funky but it works. The restaurant is great. They serve very good food in big portions and after traveling through Utah having a beer or drink is a bonus.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

For $90 you'll get really good, clean beds, a coffee maker, flat screen tv with lots of channels, all in THE location to do your rafting trips or get access to world class trout fishing. We were there for a before and after stay for our week-long river trip and everyone we met there was a repeat customer. There's minimal choices for lodging here, really minimal. If you have an RV, it looks like CD may also offer sites.
The restaurant next door is terrific.

Room Tip: Rooms 31 and 32 have no shared walls except each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cliff Dwellers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Dwellers Lodge

Address: HC 67 Box 30, Mile Post 547 N Hwy 89A, Marble Canyon, AZ 86036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Marble Canyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marble Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cliff Dwellers Lodge sits at the base of the Vermilion Cliffs and is adjacent to Vermilion Cliffs National Monument. Cliff Dwellers Restaurant was voted one of the "10 Best" 2013 by Arizona Highways Magazine. We are in the center of all the National Parks in the region and an easy drive to the North and South Rim of the Grand Canyon as well as Zion and Bryce Canyon National Parks. Lees Ferry, the put-in for all the Grand Canyon rafting trips and a world famous trout fishing destination, is a 15-min drive from the lodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliff Dwellers Hotel Marble Canyon
Cliff Dwellers Marble Canyon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliff Dwellers Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.