We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ugly smell in rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Mar del Plata Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Mar del Plata Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Mar del Plata Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Alem 4221, Mar del Plata 7600, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 148 Hotels in Mar del Plata
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ugly smell in rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I booked a non smoking room. When checking in i forgot to double check if they were giving me a non smoking. When in the room the smell was disgusting. It was a smoking room. Went back to front desk. They said the reservation thru booking.com didnt specify if non smoking. Probably not true. And they said they didnt have any non smoking roooms available. Not true either. Then after i shouted they said they found a room. But to my surprise the smell to cheap ugly deodorant in the new room was so bad that was even worse than the smoke smell in the first room. Rooms and service are not worth more than three stars. Bed linen is old and not nice. Floor carpet broken and dirty.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    215
    96
    31
    8
See reviews for
157
162
18
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torremolinos, Spain
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
994 helpful votes 994 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We arrived on Christmas Eve--hotel was full.
Wonderful view of Golf Club and port.
Had a really great dinner in hotel that night with acceptable wine.
Quality of food and service excellent.
Superb suite and good breakfast daily.
My only concern was the main ADULT OUTSIDE swimming pool--the water ALWAYS LOOKED UNCLEAN.
We had many black beetles in the water and a far greater effort should have been made by the pool man to keep it clean.
Asa result of these beetles in the water--people were not using the pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel is a great hotel!!! It is modern, clean, confy and super nice. It has got a really nice building, and the best of all, the personnel is SUPER KIND AND SERVICEA LE!! It was a great experience, i highly reccomend it!!!
Otherwise it is quiite far away from the centre of mar delnplata, there Are sever attractiojs in he hotels surroundings!!!
I really loved this hotel!!!
I RECCOMEN IT!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

The furniture in the room was like a 3 star motel and really did not match the price nor the fancy look of the lobby at all. We were tired after a 5 to 6 hour drive from BA city so could have slept anywhere so we managed to have a rest. The gym in the hotel was well equipped for a hotel gym (and compared with the room) with a great view looking out into the coastline. There was a spa but we did not try it. Buffet breakfast was in a spacious and comfortable room but the selection was lacking and the scrambled eggs looked a little grey so i was not prepared to try it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I spent 1 week on business at this hotel. The lobby and the restaurant was really nice & modern. The room was clean and has a nice LG TV but for a Sheraton you would just expect more! The bathroom facilities were calcified and I could hear my "neighbors" next door.
The staff was nice and helpful and the hotel is located in walking distance from restaurants and shop.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Starwood, pick up your act on this hotel - even though I love you guys

A flight to Mar del Plata to check into a room for over 400 US a night (after tax) only to find an imitation sweet sleeper? Sealy mattress had the name sweet sleeper on it calling it a feather top. The mattress was rock hard and made a terrible squeaking sound. The linen was threadbare, the pillows were foam and broken apart on the inside, and the "down" duvet was polyester of the cheapest type.

I've posted a video of the "Sweet Sleeper" from the room - if you know Sheratons you can decide yourself if you think this is one. I can tell you that the Sweet Sleeper in a very, very comfy bed, but this time we barely slept

Here is the link:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oz17UyM51Ls&feature=youtu.be

The suite I booked was large and "renovated". However, in changing the floors they destroyed the baseboards and the plugs and nothing was fixed. The furniture was old and tired although they call the room renovated it was re-done 10 years ago and they are still calling it renovated.

The room itself is not all that bad, tiled floor and a new table and desk, new flat screen TVs (hung on the wall with chipped non-matching plywood) ... and a large bathroom but old Jacuzzi which was starting to rust

The Internet was down for the first 14 hours I was there and I was told I had to wait until Monday morning for the IT manager to return. It came back up when he arrived 08:30 Monday.

The Spa smelled dusty and to me unusable and the breakfast, well, you had to put bread through the toaster 3 times to make it light brown.

We did not get a chance to use the pool, we arrived for a 5 night stay and checked out the next morning at 10 -

The front desk manager manager was extremely nice and apologetic, he said he wished I had contacted him the night before - which of course I tried, many times, but the front staff were left helpless for the past 14 hours as nobody from the outside support to the hotel answered any phone calls.

At 75 dollars a night I might have stayed here, maybe 125 for the suite I booked, although I would never book a hotel at 75 dollars a night - The lobby and look of the hotel when you arrive is actually beautiful (and misleading)

They say it is a short stroll from the town, I guess it depends how longs your legs are but the front desk recommended a taxi and so would I

Many people commented that this is a good family hotel, for a mid range to lower end I could agree but then it would be for people who are looking for lower end hotel, being dishonest about a bed when selling a room is just down right wrong and I wasted 36 hours of my time and 2 paid flights from BA to Mar Del Plata

To be fair the room itself was not so so bad, but when I pay 400 US for a hotel I want the bed I was promised, things to work and some attention to detail - not a so called renovated room from 10 years ago and false pretenses about a Sweet Sleeper

- and the front desk manager tried to do whatever he could to correct but there were too many things wrong in such a short period without any manager to speak to, just very very lovely front desk staff who had been working their for a month

Room Tip: Ocean view the city view is actually a graveyard view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Stayed at Sheraton over Christmas of 2011 and we had a great time. The room was very nice with a great view of the ocean. The hotel is a nice Sheraton, nothing special. It does have a beach close by but we chose Honu beach by the lighthouse and had a blast. The breakfest has a good selection but everyday the hot food was cold. It was not the best food I have had at a hotel at all. The pool is nice and is a fine place for kids but nothing fantastic. I would stay again but I may also look at other places if I go back to Mar del Plata.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Mar del Plata Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mar del Plata Hotel

Address: Alem 4221, Mar del Plata 7600, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Buenos Aires > Mar del Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Mar del Plata
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mar del Plata
#6 Business Hotel in Mar del Plata
#6 Family Hotel in Mar del Plata
#9 Romantic Hotel in Mar del Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Mar del Plata Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Media 8, Inc., Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Mar del Plata Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mar Del Plata
Mar Del Plata Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Mar del Plata Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.