We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salads great, staff not friendly but ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Janio

Janio
Malabia 1805, Buenos Aires, Argentina (Palermo)
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,479 of 2,523 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Palermo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Salads great, staff not friendly but ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Today we we walked around and sat here for lunch. Staff isn't really friendly, food was great.

Prices are pretty high: 240 for two salads and a bottle of wine and water. Then again, this is the first day in BA after traveling through Argentina.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    32
    24
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great good and ambiance!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Super good location on Plaza Viejo. Cute outdoor seating on the sidewalk, and a nice terrace, but make sure to wear bug spray! Portion sizes are decent and prices are fair for the area (AR$50-70/dish). Great salads and veggies with rice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice cafe in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stopped at Janios on a number of occassions for a coffee and a milkshake for our 4yr old son. Service was great to just ok and I think this was due to our lack of Spanish. Janio was often packed especially with the live music and a had a good feel about it.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“plaza armenia food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

a bit expensive and the staff could stand to be nicer, but the food I've tried was GOOD. the goulash is my fav, pumpkin/spinach ravioli second.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, average food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012 via mobile

Situated on the corner of a busy junction (but not on a massive road) is this busy restaurant serving mixture of Italian and Spanish food. I can't tell you how big the interior was as we ate outside. Bread plus the usual side dip came quickly. The main course came 20-25 mins later. (it was Saturday and very busy). The dishes were generous in size, the wife unable to finish her veal escalope and mashed potato. We had still water. The bill was 180 reals including tip. They charge 10 reals each for cover charge. Good atmosphere and good for people watching.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Janio also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Janio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Janio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.