We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“please come and feel home....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Livian Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Livian Guesthouse to your Saves list
Livian Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Palestina 1184 | Palermo, Buenos Aires, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 249 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
“please come and feel home....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My name is Pilar, I am from Mexico and I use to travel to Buenos Aires frecuently.
This time I really made a good search because I wanted to stay far from a conventional hotel.
As I looked at some photos I decided Livian was definetely my place.
And I really made an excellente decision
Livian smells home. This women makes you feel like that. Not just them. The spaces, the comfortable living room, the terrace, the garden...simple things that make your stay so nice!. Things are arrenged like home, you can go and take something from the fridge and just write dowm your name in post-it. The rooms are neat, you have fresh flowers, beautiful light....
Breakfast is ready at 8:00 am Not the way mexican or american people have breakfast. Just a very good coffee, juices, nice bread, some fresh fruit.....and then you can meet other people coming to have breakfast that seems to be so familiar to you.Prices are very decent compared to other hotels that offers much less. A nice young woman opens the door as you ring the bell...
There must be something at Livian that attracts people from the same tribe!!!
So don´t miss to stop Livian and have this experience!
Thank you all Livian people and see you very soon!!
Pilar

Room Tip: Serena is downstairs....very near the garden, with a beautiful view and it´s own bathroom...really n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LivianGuestHouse, Livian Staff at Livian Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Pilar,
Thank you very much for the nice things you wrote about our house.
Your wellbeing and satisfaction are the best reward for us.
It was a pleasure to have you in Livian, filling the house with your good vibes!!! You recharged our energies :)
We hope you come back soon and we will be waiting with arms wide open.

Warm embrace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    81
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
27
111
46
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I have been to this hotel 3 times and this is the 2nd time I have been upgraded to a lovely room
Rooms were cleaned on a daily basis and standard of cleaning was really good.
Always great breakfast
Staff will be glad to help you with all your needs .
Overall a really good stay in a lovely and friendly hotel, you wont find any better

Room Tip: There are 2 new rooms on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LivianGuestHouse, Director General at Livian Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Jose! Thanks a lot for your nice review! Was a big pleasure have you here one more time! and the fact that you choose us again makes us feel great and very happy!!! You are already part of Livian! We hope to see you soon and next time bring your daughther with you!!! Big Kiss!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at Livian with two couples and one little boy for almost two weeks and enjoyed it very much. The staff is very friendly, helpful and secure. The atmosphere in the guesthouse makes you feel at home. The breakfast is good and the antique dishes and cups makes it a nice experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally quiet. The one on the top floor might be the most private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LivianGuestHouse, Director General at Livian Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Hello family! It is very nice to heard from you, and we loved your opinion about your experience here!!! those days were plenty of children , and created a very happy and warm atmosphere! so, thank you again for choosing us to spent your vacations and in the future we would love to see you guys again in buenos aires!! A big kiss to Tim from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The Livian Guest House in Palermo is so far our best find in Buenos Aires. We arrived travel weary and immediately felt at home at the Livian. From the warmth of the staff to the very special ambience created with an eclectic aray of antiques and furnishings, soft lighting and exeptional cleanliness. Comfortable beds and plenty of hot water and staff who go above and beyond to help with any enquiries. Would not hesitate to recommend the Livian Guest House to anyone looking for a pleasant, comfortable and relaxing place to stay in Buenos Aires. Do yourself a big favour and stay at a very special place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LivianGuestHouse, Director General at Livian Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Hi Robyn!!! Thanks a lot for such a lovely review!!! You and your daughter have a beautiful energy, and thats make us feel great and really contributes to the atmosphere of the house!!! Thanks again, and we´ll love to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Enjoyed everything: the room, service, breakfast, location, staff were fantastic people. Would recommend the Livian to anyone. Full price is a bit expensive for young/student travelers, but check if there are discounts because we recieved over 35% off for our stay thanks to what I believe was an off-season discount. As I said, enjoyed absolutely everything, but especially the great staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LivianGuestHouse, Director General at Livian Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Hey Sal! Thanks a lot for your nice review, we are very glad with your comments, and we would like to have you here again !!! You guys are already part of Livian, and we are so happy to have happy people as you!!!! Hope to see you soon!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The great attention in the Livian started since the questions were made to book, very grateful because our flight arrived too late to Buenos Aires and despite this we were greeted kindly at that time, I thought I would use the hotel only to sleep but felt a home environment, tranquility, peace, harmony not feel it anywhere else, this due to the attention of people attending the hotel, facilities, infrastructure, ate breakfast by the way very good and stayed within the hotel to feel the warmth of home by sitting on the terrace to see the garden, we could also use a computer with internet access to verify the places we would visit, has a variety of works of arts.
The boys also advised about the tourist sites we could visit, I have no complaint on any type of service "hotel Livian Guest" is excellent so we recommend it with your eyes closed, our stay was only for one night and due to good service stayed until our return to our home country

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LivianGuestHouse, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Livian Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Such a nice review!! Thank you very much for this, guys. We love hearing that you have chosen us for more days that you´ve expected because of the way you felt here. We would love to have you both again around this part of the world. And you couldn´t say it better.. this is already your home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I booked Livian for just one night for my mum and me as it looked full of character and I'd read all the reviews which were good. I'd originally booked the suite, which would have been a bed each, but a week before the guest house e-mailed to say this was no longer available(must have had a more lucrative booking for a few nights!) so they had booked us into a different room. They said it was lovely & cheaper...so I thought, well,that should be ok. We had stayed in different parts of Buenos Aires already, and I was trying to show mum a different type of lodging. We arrived quite late, about 8.30pm....a lovely girl checked us in at reception & then showed us to our room. I was really disappointed to find it was on the ground floor right next to reception & the front door. There were 2 extremely small single beds, quirky furnishings and a tiny bathroom, in which you had to squash into a corner to get the door closed. Shower also in this room......my mum I have to say hated it!!She didn't feel comfortable being near the front door & reeption and when we were going out to grab something to eat she felt uncomfotable leaving all her stuff in the room. So not a good start!!We were shown round the rest of the guest house.....up the stairs and there was a lovely lounge area with an amazing piece of glass acting as a partition.....great art on the walls.....nice dining area for breakfast etc. Also a computer which anyone could use....then a long corridor with the other bedrooms and finally a terrace looking down on the garden, which seemed lovely, although we had to leave early the next morning so wouldn't be able to use it. The girl also said we could help ourselves to drinks in the fridge, and you just had to write it down on a pad.Again, my mum didn't like that idea....
We went out for an hour....it was about a 10 min walk to the main Palermo area with restaurants etc....got approached a couple of times for money on the way.......so not sure I would feel comfortable on my own at night walking round, but perfectly ok during the day.
We had a sleepless night.....could hear every noise at reception...the phone etc, plus we both nearly fell out of the beds as they were so small. They did set breakfast out early for us which was nice.....cereals, fruit, coffee....perfectly ok. All in all, I think it was the wrong place to pick for my mum, as the room itself wasn't that comfortable and she didn't like the communal feel of the place. I imagine a lot of people would like that feeling......the art and quirky furnishings were lovely......there was also a chest in reception with a load of knitted cardigans for sale, done by local people, but they didn't know any prices for those. I think if we had had the original room we'd booked it would have been fine.....but the ground floor one just made us feel uneasy and not that comfortable.....if you were upstairs its probably a different experience.My mum is very well travelled, it just wasn't her kind of thing, and she appreciated the art and antiques etc, but just didn't think the comfort aspect was there......

Room Tip: Don't book the ground floor room as no privacy....too noisy near reception & the front door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LivianGuestHouse, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Livian Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
First of all, we want to thank you for writing this review about our hotel. Such a pity you´ve arrived late, and had to leave early because of you schedule, i´m sure that if you had stayed more time here, you will enjoyed better. And we also want to thank you for appreciating the decoration and furnishing.
We couldn´t give you the room that you had booked because of a leak in the ceiling, which had to be fixed up for several weeks by workers, doing a deeply improvement into the building. In fact, the room that you booked and the one that we offer you, both are in the ground floor, close to the reception. The excellency of our employees, plus the 24 hours receptionist that we have, make our space a safe and secure house, but we also try to built a young and fresh atmosphere where everyone can relax. We have never had security problems into the hotel. Signs of this are the truth system that we use with the fridge where everyone writes down in a list if they take something from there, or the free use of internet and the computer too. And this is not a communal feeling, it´s because be trust in our guests.
The room that we offer you is one of the best rooms that we have, with private bathroom, and a small private garden. Maybe because you were here for just a few hours, into a narrow schedule, couldn´t give you the chance to relax and have a good sleep. Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Livian Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Livian Guesthouse

Address: Palestina 1184 | Palermo, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 249 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Livian Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a travel experience shared in a lounge, a dining room offering buffet breakfast and a tranquil garden. Take a breath.Feel relax in private suites, with facilities and services designed specially for you. Livian Guest House is your choice in Buenos Aires to feel “local” in and out of a 1920’s classic French house with artsy and mystic spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Livian Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livian Guesthouse Hotel Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Livian Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.