We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most charming hotel in Buenos Aires!!! Excelet stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Legado Mitico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Legado Mitico to your Saves list
Legado Mitico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gurruchaga 1848, Buenos Aires 1414, Argentina (Palermo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 441 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence 2014
São Paulo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The most charming hotel in Buenos Aires!!! Excelet stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

I went with my boyfriend for a 4 day stay in Legado Mítico. We stayed at the 'El Tanguero' room and loved the experience.
The room is spacious, charming, with a huge bed, good hot tub and great air condicioning sistem. The service is impecable, without beeing all over you. You receive a weather report every morning, the make all the reservation in restaurante and offer you a welcome drink. Much more than I expected. The breakfast is very good as well.
But the best thing about the hotel is the great tast decoration, very argentinian, with leather, dark wood, books... It gives a cozy feeling... Perfect for a winter stay...
Absolutly loved it!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    52
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
188
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

One of my favorite hotels in the world: it's quaint, beautifully appointed and smack in the middle of Buenos Aires' oh-so-chic Palermo neighborhood (kinda like NY's West Village or LA's WeHo). I loved the juxtaposition of Argentine design staples like silver and leather against dark walls with white trim. The hotel's design celebrates Argentine legends - hence the name, which in English means "mythical legacy." There's an Evita room, a Carlos Gardel room, and I wound up in the Secretary room - which was lovely and overlooked the courtyard. I loved waking up to the breeze and the swaying white curtains and the chirping birds outside...not to mention a delicious breakfast of strong coffee and sweet pastries. I loved the bed - it was great to come home to after some major shopping in the nearby stores. I'm glad I found this place on my recent trip to BA, I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Legado Mitico for our honeymoon. We spent three nights in the El Pintor room with a balcony overlooking Gurruchaga St. I considered other boutique hotels in Palermo Soho but chose this property because the rooms were large and quiet. Plus we appreciated the style and decor which was more about Argentina and less about modern minimalism. Home Hotel, Tailor Made Hotel and Mine Hotel just didn't look very romantic. Legado Mitico is very warm and quiet. We felt like we were the only ones at the hotel -- we rarely saw or heard another guest. The service was very good. Breakfast was excellent as long as you are not expecting eggs. We loved the breads, cereal, cafe con leche, fruit bowl, tea and juice. Our waitress was friendly and fast. The front desk service was good but not great. They were always friendly but not that knowledgeable. Overall, we started our honeymoon at a lovely hotel that we would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

I hate gratuitous hyperbole, though boutique hotels do rank with electricity and the human genome as a defining advance in civilisation. Establishments like Legado Mitico compete on that commercial knife-edge of limited accommodation, by cosseting a discerning international clientele. The place is small, only 11 rooms, freshly and beautifully decorated in the Ralph Lauren style of faux English gentleman’s club; lots of peaceful putty green and books on dark wood shelving, but with that twist of Tango you'ld expect. Each bedroom is themed, ours after Carlos Gardel, the legendary chain smoking 1920’s Tango star whom we had never heard of. Monochrome photos of this brylcreemed smoothie, as famous as Byng and Piaf, were everywhere. The room was thoughtfully comfortable, with drifts of fluffy white towels and fragrantly expensive gels in the bathroom. No doubt the other rooms are equally original and just as restful.
The service from the moment we booked was welcoming; all our questions answered and whims pampered for the five days we spent in BA. I even received a lesson from the concierge in how to savour a calabash of tongue scorching mate, through a silver straw. As national pastimes go, it’s right up there with Morris dancing.
For surfers there is free wifi, but the tango music in the spacious 'library', is tiresome if you are trying to read after the day’s foray. All piped music is musak whatever the rhythm or cultural relevance, if its wall to wall. There is only so much vibrato glissando you can take. Breakfast was a bit sparse, possibly because I asked for Evitabix. (No I didn’t really).
BA is not the world’s favourite city, its vast, teeming, polluted and run down, but the location of the Legado Mitico in Palermo Soho, is ideal. It has something of London’s Portobello about it; a bit boho, low rise, tree lined, and lots of boutiques and cafes. There is even a milonga nearby where for 15 pesos you can glide your amor around the dancefloor till dawn. And I am reliably informed by my expert that the nail bar across the street is the home of the perfect manicure, which is a comfort. All in all we really liked the Legado Mitico and would stay there again.

Tourist Cautions: If you are quoted US dollars for anything ( a tour, a Tango show), you are probably being ripped off.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

we stayed three nights here from april 16th. we loved the large room and stylish design features. the area is good for shopping, restaurants and bars. the staff are very helpfull and friendly. this hotel was just up our street as we like the more personal approach, taxis are cheap so we found it much nicer to be in this area with good access to the more central areas but in a charming location. would recommend to anyone if you like boutique style hotels

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradenton florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

three nights in a most welcome boutique hotel. Rooms are large and comfortable.
The staff was fabulous....assisted us with every request, and went above and beyond when needed....we had the Che room with our private rooftop relaxing area.
Need to like to walk to get to the main areas or be adventurous and use the subway.

Will be staying here again soon!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

The hotel is in the Palermo Soho area - so a 20min subway or taxi ride from the centre of town. But its a lovely quiet area to stay in. There are great cafes and restaurants. Recommended are: Freud and Fahler just 3 mins down the street - expensive by BA standards but an amazing meal. The hotel has a jacuzzi on the roof, great space for breakfast and a quiet library with an open terrace. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Legado Mitico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legado Mitico

Address: Gurruchaga 1848, Buenos Aires 1414, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#10 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#85 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Legado Mitico 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is a wonderful combination of old and contemporary, ideal for those who seek the authentic and sophisticated. There is a friendly, cosy atmosphere at this eleven room hotel, with each ensuite room decorated differently and dedicated to different legendary Argentine characters. Each room has its own full bathroom and is air conditioned with an LCD flat screen television, minibar, and safe. There is a jacuzzi and solarium and internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Legado Mitico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legado Mitico Buenos Aires
Legado Mitico Hotel Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legado Mitico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.