We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in BA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Legado Mitico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Legado Mitico to your Saves list
Legado Mitico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gurruchaga 1848, Buenos Aires 1414, Argentina (Palermo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 440 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in BA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Legado Mitico in Palermo, BA is excellant in most respects , superior rooms are the best.
A classic room has a small bathroom but still very nice.,
No Gym but it is an upscale B&B
Service is very good and management very nice.

Has free WIFI and a computer in library for guest use.

Room Tip: Superior Room or better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    47
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
167
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

It was our first visit to Buenos Aires and as we were staying for 9 nights, much research went into finding the right hotel. We felt pretty smug that we'd got it so right with this lovely hotel...
I think that because we were there for so long, we were upgraded at check in from a Superior room to a Deluxe room - a great start after a 14 hour flight.

All the rooms are decorated differently as you've probably read, but the main difference in the 3 categories of room is the bathroom size. Our Che Guevara bathroom was spacious with double sinks and the option to have a most invigorating spa shower!

The rooms have glass french doors which you can open for some fresh air and look out upon the street (reasonably quiet) or courtyard. The glass is double glazed, so quite soundproof. If you're at the back, the school behind provides quiet chatter during the day. Our only gripe was that on Saturday night, the adjoining house had a party which went well into the early hours. Not much could be done, so we turned on the air conditioner which dulled the noise and slept pretty well.

We thought breakfast was perfectly fine - 2 types of cereal, yoghurt, fruit, pastries, breads, toast, the usual cheeses & meats, and eggs cooked to order. The waiter is also happy to make a cafe con leche or cappuccino if you ask.

The location is brilliant - cafes and bars and no end of shopping almost on the doorsteps. Pleased we weren't "on the other side of the tracks" in Palermo Hollywood - we went for a walk there and weren't inspired.

The staff were so helpful in helping us choose restaurants and the right tango show - we wanted smaller, rather than an en masse venue... they were equally happy to book restaurants for us - or look up ferry times, buses etc

We were quite at home, and would happily return.

Room Tip: If you're happy to pay for a Deluxe room, ask for the Che Guevara room - it's on the top flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Starting with my correspondence on line prior to arrival and ending with our goodbye as we left the hotel, our experience could not have been more wonderful at this incredibly chic and charming, perfectly located hotel in Buenos Aires. The experience could not have been better!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in early September. The manager was warm & friendly. The foyer opens into a large lounge and dining area, decorated with picture books. Each room is named for a famous Argentinean. Ours was El Heroe, named for Belgrano. A very nice room, with view onto Gurruchaga. The hotel is right in the middle of a very cool, hopping neighborhood. We ran down to the Botanical Gardens, walked to great restaurants (esp. La Cabrera), and found cabs easily. The managers were always very helpful in recommending restaurants.
BTW - taxi drivers seem to have never heard of this place. Make sure you have the address written down to show them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

As tourists in our city, we decided to leave our home for a night and went to Gurruchaga 1848, few blocks away. An old house, nicely restored. Excellent service since a young man opened the door. A perfect place to take a break from the routine.

Room Tip: The rooms are named after characters in the local culture, we stayed at Martín Fierro, the "gau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

For the last portion of our trip, after coming back from spectacular Salta & Jujuy, we decided to stay at Legado Mitico so that we could experience Palermo Soho. The neighborhood definitely has a different and younger feel compared to our earlier stay in stately Recoleta, with more shops, restaurants, and just in general more activities and people strolling about in Palermo.

The Hotel itself looks just as shown in the photographs on the hotel website: a combination of plush rich color tones but with a little bit of whims! One rings the bell to enter, so that one feels that one is entering a private club. The staff is very friendly, attentive, and polite; from the beginning, all of our e-mail communications with Leandro and Damian were prompt, clear, helpful, and very welcoming. We had the El Tanguero deluxe room, which is spacious and very quiet as it looks onto the interior courtyard. The decorative fireplace provides a nice touch on a drizzly winter day in August. The large bathroom comes with 2 wash basins; a walk-in rainshower separate from the bathtub; and plentiful bath amenities. Our room and the public spaces are all very clean and decorated with warm colors. The breakfast buffet does include eggs cooked to order and is served in a small area, next to the richly decorated, inviting, and well-stocked library. One evening, after our early dinner, we came back and wanted to browse in the library, and the very kind staff offered us steaming cups of herbal tea with candied orange peels: how sweet! In fact, we felt that we were guests at a private club, well-looked after by very discreet, warm, and polite staff. There is no full-service restaurant on site for dinner, but there are numerous cafes and restaurants nearby, and La Cabrera is just several easy blocks away, where we had a very enjoyable and plentiful lunch.

Room Tip: Let the staff what type of room you want, and they will help. They are very responsive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Add the word 'boutique' into the description of a hotel, and you have our attention. And this place epitomises everything that's good about small, high-end, privately owned establishments which employ staff who care, provide facilities which exceed expectations, food which delights and unparalleled location.

The room we had (El Tanguero) was quirky, fun, well appointed and well positioned overlooking the courtyard. Knowledgeable front desk staff were ever-keen to please, giving good advice and direction. The breakfast set up was superb.

Great base to explore Palermo and Buenos Aires, don't hesitate.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Legado Mitico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legado Mitico

Address: Gurruchaga 1848, Buenos Aires 1414, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#12 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#94 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Legado Mitico 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is a wonderful combination of old and contemporary, ideal for those who seek the authentic and sophisticated. There is a friendly, cosy atmosphere at this eleven room hotel, with each ensuite room decorated differently and dedicated to different legendary Argentine characters. Each room has its own full bathroom and is air conditioned with an LCD flat screen television, minibar, and safe. There is a jacuzzi and solarium and internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Legado Mitico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legado Mitico Buenos Aires
Legado Mitico Hotel Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legado Mitico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.