We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timing.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Chacra

La Chacra
Av Cordoba 941 | San Nicolas, Buenos Aires C1054AAI, Argentina (Retiro)
011 4322-1409
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,400 of 3,007 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Cuisines: International, Barbecue, Grill, Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Retiro
Jax, FL
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Timing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Would have had a better experience had our tour promoted it as an evening out. It was promoted late in the AM tour for lunch on the day of our big evening dinner. It's obvious as you enter what their specialty is. If you're not up for meat, it's pointless. It is local cuisine at gourmet prices. Had I known that I wouldn't have been disappointed at the size of my big salad. Costanza is lucky he didn't pay for Elaine's salad here. The only item I found to maintain its humbleness here is the empanada. Seems to be sacred throughout BA. They were very good here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    113
    81
    22
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great blast from the past!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had a great night out at this restaurant. We loved the "good old days" atmosphere and service. We had the suckling pig and it was very tender and cooked to perfection.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The service was great.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Not great. Service was good. Open pit meat was bland with no smoke flavor. The steak was huge but was tough as nails. The salad was tossed table side and was awesome... Better off somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“I must write I review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

I was in La Chacra with my wife and we had a great experience with this resturant. The waiters are professional and very kind, the prices are pretty fine and the food... WOW! In my next visit in BA I will probably come there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Fantastic service mixed quality of Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stumbled across this place while strolling around Buenos Aires and the smoking meat around a fire drew us in. The service was amazing and very detail oriented from the waiter mixing the salad and dividing it evenly to our individual plates to cleaning a drop of wine off the stem of my glass after he poured it. My steak was fantastic and I was very satisfied. But my girlfriend didn't like her steak and found it hard to cut (though I personally thought it was a good steak). All in all I'd recommend it, but not everyone would agree.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Chacra also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to La Chacra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Chacra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.