We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis Of Calm With Fantastic Staff & Great Details” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mine Hotel Boutique

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mine Hotel Boutique to your Saves list
Mine Hotel Boutique
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gorriti 4770 | Palermo Soho, Buenos Aires 1414, Argentina (Palermo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“An Oasis Of Calm With Fantastic Staff & Great Details”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

Mine really was a home-from-home with beguilingly lovely staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they always went the extra mile, anticipated our needs, were very friendly and knowledgeable and really made our stay.

The hotel is very nicely and relaxingly designed in muted tones, with lots of glass, polished concrete, good lighting, soft music in the public areas and a small plunge pool/water feature in the garden. The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable but small, although the bed, Jacuzzi bath and TV are large. There is also a DVD/CD player and a good library of DVDs available free-of-charge. Wireless broadband is also free and a great benefit. Breakfast in included, very good and always served with a smile, although the choice is limited. Overall, the attention to detail is great and really makes the place.

We were there twice, with a week between stays. Our first room was on the top floor and the second on the floor below, both looking over the garden but directly opposite a very high, large wall. The first was much lighter and had some view over the wall and roofs, while the room below had no view beyond the garden and the high wall and was much darker, but had a small balcony, which was nice. So, the trade-off is between light/view and balcony. Either way, I would definitely recommend taking a higher category room because both of ours - superiors - although very comfortable, were very small.

This place has some of the best service I have ever come across. Everything is really easy and happens without any fuss. We left a case in the store between stays and, when we returned, it was already in our new room, on a stand. A small thing, but very thoughtful and most welcome after a long trip back. The staff was also happy to recommend bars and shops and reserve restaurants, etc.

One word of warning: avoid the nearby La Retirada restaurant, which was by far our worst restaurant experience in Argentina - bad food and shockingly bad service.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    169
    22
    9
    2
See reviews for
92
666
57
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

The hotel is located in a gentrifying area with all sorts of trendy shops and places to eat. The staff goes out of their way to share their knowledge of the area and all of Buenos Aires. We had a fantastic visit, which in a very large part was due to the friendliness of the staff. In essence we were treated as family and we loved the care and attention we received. One of the front desk attendants volunteered to walk three blocks with me to an ATM in case I had trouble with the language. At breakfast the staff knee exactly how I liked my coffee and it came out perfectly in an instant. The room was clean, large and comfortable, with free wi-fi internet access. Because of recent back surgery I requested a stall shower instead of a tub, and that's what I got.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Mine Hotel for three nights in August 2009 -- we were truly impressed. We travel internationally frequently, and it was one of the best hotel experiences we have had. We chose Mine because of its excellent TripAdvisor reviews.

We arrived before the normal check-in time and were greeted by Angela at the front desk. She was incredibly helpful, giving us a map of the area (noting the areas we shouldn't walk at night for safety reasons), a list of restaurants near the hotel with descriptions, and an international power adapter for use during our stay.

We waited in the cozy lounge for our room to be ready. The hotel has a collection of Buenos Aires/Argentina travel guides that are great to browse if you haven't brought your own guidebook. Our room was on the smaller side, but that's to be expected of a boutique hotel. The modern decor was excellent -- our room had a pink theme, which was cheerful. The bedding was comfortable and the maid service was very good.

Angela's restaurant suggestions were great (La Cabrera, a local steakhouse with huge portions and great food; Mundano, a nice lunch spot near the hotel that has a prix fixe menu for about $10/person; Mott, a trendy lunch place; and Godoy, an Asian fusion bar/restaurant). She also recommended and booked for us a very good city tour (I think it was called Opcion Sur -- costs USD $40 per person, but was worth it -- it has video montages before every stop and we ended up being the only ones on the tour so it was private) and a very nice tango show (El Viejo Almacen). We wanted to visit Uruguay -- Angela suggested that, instead of going to Montevideo as we had read in the guides, we go to Colonia, which is a small colonial village that is closer to Buenos Aires. Angela called the ferry company to book our tickets and, once again, her recommendation was great! Colonia had a very different flavor from Buenos Aires and we thoroughly enjoyed our day trip.

The restaurant serves a nice breakfast and good snacks/dinner. The servers in the restaurant were always very nice -- one afternoon, we ordered a cheese & meat plate that we weren't able to finish, and the server offered to keep it in the kitchen fridge for us to finish later.

We were sad to leave Mine Hotel upon our checkout. We were back in Buenos for one more night after visiting Mendoza and, although we had planned in advance to stay at another hotel, we almost wished we were back at Mine, as it was very hard to live up to that experience! We were in the neighborhood of Mine and stopped by the hotel to ask where we could buy postcard stamps -- the hotel staff was again helpful, despite that we were no longer guests at the hotel.

All in all, we would highly recommend this hotel for visitors looking for a boutique hotel experience in one of Buenos Aires' best shopping/eating neighborhoods. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

This was a great hotel and location for an introduction to Buenos Aires. Palermo Soho was a chilled shopping, restaurant and cafes neighbourhood, particulalry nice to stroll around on a sunny sunday. Mine was a really attractive well-managed hotel with friendly professional service and good food/wine. Great breakfasts in particular. The communal areas were lovely to hang out in for tapas or a pre-dinner drink. It was too cold for us to use the outside areas but they were also very attractive.

Our room (1040 was small but attractive and well equipped with a great shower. There was a permanent electrical hum from somewhere but I slept with earplugs to avoid it. Beds were very comfy too.

If you can - eat a couple of streets away in La Cabrero. (Well worth the queue).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

The rave reviews about the Mine really do reflect the quality of the hotel. The service of the staff is as good as any 5 star hotel, location is great, and the hotel and rooms are warm and inviting yet very well decorated. My wife and I really enjoyed our 4 nights here and hope to return.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

I just returned from a third stay at MINE Hotel and I must say this is one place that keeps getting better with time. My congratulations to the owner Marcelo for maintaining the vision
of a top rated hotel. Upon our arrival Angela and Guillermo greeted us like family and it truly felt like home. The staff continues to provide great service and is always profesional and knowledgeable. The food and room service are excellent, unlike may other hotels the
food is actually delivered hot. I was a little concerned with the flu scare however, the rooms
were aired and so clean that I soon forgot all about it. The place is impeccable. Thank you
guys for making our stay memorable every time. We will certainly keep coming back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

We stayed at Mine Hotel for 3 nights, but could have easily added more! It's a lovely boutique hotel (no trying too hard to be trendy, like Faena) with a small restaurant/bar serving tasty food and good cocktails located right in the heart of uber-cool Palermo. The rooms aren't the largest, but they are tastefully decorated and ours had a massive spa bath (great for relaxing in between shopping and tango!).

The location is perfect - close to all the cool boutiques, bars and cafes of Palermo, and only a short taxi or subway ride from Recoleta and the centre of town.

As most other reviews have mentioned the service is incredible. The staff are incredibly knowledgeable and are able to arrange anything you need, from tango lessons to tickets to a soccer game. If we were lucky enough to go back to BA we'd definitely be stayin here.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mine Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mine Hotel Boutique

Address: Gorriti 4770 | Palermo Soho, Buenos Aires 1414, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#5 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#6 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#27 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mine Hotel Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mine Hotel is a beautiful 20 rooms- hotel in the heart of Palermo Soho, the most trendy neighborhood of Buenos Aires. Esthetics, avant-garde and a warm style of personalized attention are combined in this new option that offers a garden with pool, wi-fi and great food (at room service or the Bistro) Most rooms with Jacuzzi and LCD. All rooms with mini bar, DVD, laptop-sized safety box and complimentary amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Mine Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mine Hotel Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mine Hotel Boutique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.