We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific, small, well-located hotel. Charm, but not luxury.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mine Hotel Boutique

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mine Hotel Boutique to your Saves list
Mine Hotel Boutique
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gorriti 4770 | Palermo Soho, Buenos Aires 1414, Argentina (Palermo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Los Angeles, California, U.S.A.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Terrific, small, well-located hotel. Charm, but not luxury.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay and the hotel is in a terrific neighborhood, very hip with tons of shopping and dining walking distance. The staff speaks fluent English, which was useful to us in communicating finer details of our trip. They made (and changed) restaurant reservations, and even Uruguay boat tickets for us.

No real complaints, but here are some further comments on the "luxury" categorization. The Mine is hip, cool, well located, and has nice service, but is not exactly luxury. Rooms are small and there is noise bleed. Consequently sleep quality is not great. Our air conditioner leaked one night so badly that I slipped on the glazed concrete flooring in the morning (not realizing the source of the noise keeping us awake the night before was going to be a large, slippery puddle). The staff was very apologetic, and left us a nice note and Argentinian music CD as a friendly gesture. Still, I'm not convinced these are the kinds of issues typical of a hotel voted on TripAdvisor (my go-to source) as number one for luxury travel in South America.

Also, if you happen to be reading Frommer's (or was it Fodor's?) guide: "large pool?" Very far from it. Petite, shaded, lovely little pool, but not large.

Free, easily accessible wi-fi, plus a computer in the small lobby—useful for trip planning. Delightful breakfast until 11 a.m. (included).

Overall, a nice value and a charming hotel with top-notch staff. For real luxury, probably not the best bet.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcelodemine, Owner at Mine Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Thanks for your review, really honest.
Words like "Homey", "Cozy", "Cool" better describe Mine Hotel than "luxury", I totally agree with you. We would have preferred to win as "Best Boutique hotel", but we don't decide the Award categories.
Regarding the size of the pool, unfortunately the editorial decisions of the guides are out of our control. If you check our website, you'll find pictures of our pool that show its real size. We are one of the few hotels in Palermo Area with a pool, but certainly if a guest is looking for a large pool to swim then none of the small boutique hotels in Palermo is the right choice.
Thanks for your very kind words about our staff, service, breakfast and location
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    169
    22
    9
    2
See reviews for
92
666
57
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

My husband & I stayed here for 3 nights while the rest of our group stayed down the block (Ultra). We choose this hotel based on the better ratings on TripAdvisor. We are glad we did!
SERVICE: The staff was very friendly, spoke English, and helped us arrange a couple of outings (tango show & polo lesson). They were very accomodating to our requests, calling us taxis and arranging our excursions. We had turn-down service as long as we weren't in our room at the time (I had to ask them to come back 2 different nights, and they only came back 1 of them).
ROOM: Our room was on the first floor in a corner above the lobby, was large enough for our needs (we upgraded based on reviews about small rooms), and was on the street-side with tiny balcony. The street was not all that busy, so street noise was not much of a problem. The bed was comfy, and the bath was a bit tight as other reviews claim. We had a bidet in ours, so it took up precious room (unneccesarily to us Americans!). The shower was odd in that it was in the middle of a large jacuzzi tub (no shower curtain of course), but it had great water pressure and plenty of hot water.
LOCATION: This location was fine for our needs because we had friends staying down the street, but if we came back we would choose to stay down at the river area. The Starbucks is about 2-3 blocks away, which was nice. There were many restaurants around as well. Everywhere we walked around felt safe as well (they will give you a map and tell you the safe boundaries).
AMENITIES: The breakfast set out was more contentinal-style (cerals, breads, fruits), but you could also ask them to make you pancakes, which were a bit slow but decent. The pool was so small that it seemed to be more of a kid's wading pool, so we didn't use it.
OVERALL: This is a nice place, the hotel staff were great, and the location is fine. Again, we will try the river area next time, though.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Me and my wife stayed at the Mine Hotel for the first few nights of our honeymoon whilst visiting Argentina and then onto the Iguazu Falls and Brazil.

Having stayed in various hotels all over the world, I was absolutely amazed by the degree of kindness and consideration exhibited by all members of The Mine staff but especially those who worked in Reception. My first impressions was that we were being treated so well because we were on our honeymoon; however, I noticed that this was simply how staff were trained to treat all of their guests. The level of attention that the staff gave concerning the needs of their guests and the manner in which they deliver their customer service was truly exceptional. They make you feel so welcomed. Me and my wife are so glad that we stayed here.

The actual decor of the hotel is so unique and classy. Located in the Palermo District of Buenos Aires: an exclusive and very safe area to walk around in. With so many great bars and restaurants on offer you really are spoilt for choice. Our room was also very nice and we had a very comfortable stay.

The breakfast was truly delicious. A large variety of fresh fruits and various types of croissants/ pastries as well as cheese, ham and eggs; was more than sufficient. The Mine produce their own unique fruit juice every day - again very nice.

Free Wi-Fi is provided to Mine guest's (which unfortunately is not standard in South American Hotels especially if you're staying in one of the big chain hotels).

We booked a Dinner and Tango show through the hotel at La Ventana (San Telmo); if you can book this place do it; they make you feel like royalty. The actual dinner, wine service and of course the show.....sensational.

Above all and I know that I've made several references to this already but the hospitality provided by the staff and the confidence which they exude when they communicate to you is so reassuring. They make you feel like they really care about you so much and that is really lovely.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Charming, clean, well located, perfect service! I recommend it and I hope we come back one day!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Mine Hotel is a chic small boutique hotel, perfect for long weekends and breaks in BA. It has an excellent location in the middle of Palermo Viejo with several good restaurants and fabulous shops just a few blocks away. Our room was on the small side but perfectly good for a city hotel, well-presented and with flat screen TV and small spa bath (and a good powerful shower). There was a good range of breakfast choices, with eggs and pancakes cooked to order and plenty of fresh pastries, fruit and breads. There was also free wifi or free use of the hotel's internet in the lounge by the restaurant. The hotel is generally excellent, but its best feature is probably its staff. At Reception, everyone was friendly but professional and went the extra mile to make recommendations and reservations for us. The management and the staff at the hotel seem to have put a lot of thought into the things that guests might need during their stay and cater for most requirements. We will definitely return as soon as we get an opportunity.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We loved staying here!
It was such a gorgeous little place, in the best part of Buenos Aires - restaurants/bars/boutiques on the doorstep. We felt very safe here.
The foyer/ Restaurant/ Pool area & Room all filled with character & class, daily breakfast was lovely, but a highlight would have to be the hugely helpful staff - most of whom spoke great English, which made it really easy for us. They were only too happy to help, look at maps with us, order cabs & talk to the cab drivers for us. The hotel also had a great selection of recommended restaurants & bars - many of which we tried & they were all fabulous!

Would definitely stay here again & have already told friends & family about this place!

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

Charming hotel in a gentrified neighborhood with boutique shops and restaurants. Our problem was that, as first time visitors to BA, we would have preferred to be in a neighborhood that was more conveniently located to more touristic places, like Recoleta is.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mine Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mine Hotel Boutique

Address: Gorriti 4770 | Palermo Soho, Buenos Aires 1414, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#5 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#6 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#27 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mine Hotel Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mine Hotel is a beautiful 20 rooms- hotel in the heart of Palermo Soho, the most trendy neighborhood of Buenos Aires. Esthetics, avant-garde and a warm style of personalized attention are combined in this new option that offers a garden with pool, wi-fi and great food (at room service or the Bistro) Most rooms with Jacuzzi and LCD. All rooms with mini bar, DVD, laptop-sized safety box and complimentary amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Mine Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mine Hotel Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mine Hotel Boutique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.