We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Preferido de Palermo

El Preferido de Palermo
Jorge Luis Borges 2108 | Borges Esquina Guatemala, Buenos Aires, Argentina (Palermo)
011 4774-6585
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #700 of 2,809 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Palermo
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Local place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

You get what you pay for here. It's a good lunch place, cheap and not touristy. Locals come here for lunch (including police officers).

We got 2 tortillas (very filling) and a sparkling water for 90 Ars + tip

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    83
    36
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The Great Bodegon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I love this place.

Good service, good food, good beer and good prices. One of the most attractive Bodegones of Buenos Aires. Feel the atmosphere and relax.

At the last time we received an special gift: a wonderful and charming calendar.

A must!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Some Spanish language could have helped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Positive Tripadvisor reviews and a recommendation by our hotel prompted four of us to dine at the El Preferido. Beyond simple pleasanteries, none of us speak Spanish. And this became a problem, as none of the waiters spoke English. The menu has some English, but is baffling in layout. Many of the offerings were not available - but only came to light a few minutes after the order was made.
And the final outcome - three of us received steak (well done, but tender), eggs and chips. One of our group suggested that the chef might have thought we were English, and provided us with typical English fare. The alternative and darker suggestion was that they thought we were English, and gave us a Malvinas-influenced outcome.
On the positive side, the place was packed, by locals, and their meals looked far more interesting. The location, decor and ambience are great. As the locals obviously love the place, my rating was upgraded.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Value, Authentic Food, Different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

A locals' favorite, great food at a great price. Price for 6 including bottle of wine: $500 pesos
Loved the atmosphere in this restaurant/grocery store. The decor is original yet simple. The service was fast and friendly. The food was very good yet simple. For example, if you ask for a salad you will get your lettuce and cut tomatoes in a bowl. Oil and vinegar on the table, nothing fancy.
The restaurant is very clean, but the chairs/bar stools are rather uncomfortable and I was ready to leave as soon as I was done with the food.
The "arroz con leche" or rice pudding was fantastic!!!!
I would definitely recommend this restaurant when in Palermo. You are in for some excellent, economic food in a great setting.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Cracking value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Great value, great tasting food. Very friendly staff.

Would suggest this if you are after a meal at good value. The steak is only 55 pesos!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed El Preferido de Palermo also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to El Preferido de Palermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Preferido de Palermo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.