We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for lunch, dinner or a drink” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Resto & Lounge

Red Resto & Lounge
Juana Manso 1691, Buenos Aires 1107, Argentina (Puerto Madero)
(011) 5776 7676
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 2,808 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $70
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Puerto Madero
buenos aires
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch, dinner or a drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I live in Buenos Aires and there are certainly many places to go here, but I enjoy this restaurant the most. The menu, the wine list, the ambience and service are all great.
For business or pleasure a must visit place.
Red meat, fish or pasta are all excellent, the pre-appetizers and pre-desserts they offer you, are always a good surprise. The ingredients and meal presentation as well as the baked bread varieties are also all very good.
If you visit the place on an evening, particularly Fridays and Saturdays, it is better to make a reservation.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMadero, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Red Resto & Lounge, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Client,
Thank you so much for your kind words about our restaurant. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    43
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“For the discerning diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

After eating at so many mediocre restaurants we decided to try the food at our hotel. We had delicious generous serving of mixed greens and wild salmon in phyollo dough. What a relief not to be eating the lousy parrilladas. They played great music and at the end gave us delIcious chocate. Based on a new York times rating which goes up to four stars almost a 3 ie very good. In general we have found the food in ba very mediocre. If we were staying longer we would try some other restaurants but we aren't So we will be eating at red for the next 2 days The room is well designed and a pleasure to eat in

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, UK
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Tries very hard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

There is much to admire about the Red Resto, from their concern when I initially declined the table I had taken (there was a special menu in place, which limited choices) to their willingness to correct a mistake (wrong item served). Leaving aside that mistake, the service was attentive. The food looked and tasted good and was certainly interesting and a bit different from much of the standard BA fare. The wine list is interesting. What just didn't work for me, though, was the room. It didn't come across as a restaurant; more like three connected corridors in the corner of a hotel that is in the far reaches of Puerto Madero and where you have a lot of choice of alternatives. The furniture was a curious mixture. As a result of the location it lacked atmosphere and I simply didn't enjoy the experience enough to want to stay. As I say, they do try hard and if the location isn't a problem for you, you might well enjoy the food. To me, though, the chef and staff need a better setting.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
733 reviews 733 reviews
503 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 179 cities Reviews in 179 cities
340 helpful votes 340 helpful votes
“Excellent for a hotel restaurant...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Really enjoyed the Sushi which was top notch...

This restaurant beats hands down most of the restaurants in Puerto Madero...

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“A little bit pretentious”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

The food is good, but there are better places in Buenos Aires

The service is not five stars

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Resto & Lounge also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Red Resto & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Resto & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.