We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Social Paraiso

Social Paraiso
Honduras 5182,, Buenos Aires, Argentina
4831 4556
Improve this listing
Ranked #253 of 2,553 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Tasty food, I had the morcilla balls and ossobuco. Really enjoyed my meal. The waitress was lovely and really attentive. One of the best meals on buenos aires (been here for 5 weeks).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    43
    10
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Simple and casual but great menu and good wine advice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Simple and casual but great menu and good wine advice. I come here every time I come to Buenos Aires. I first discovered it in 2006 in the book "Restaurantes de Buenos Aires - los recomendados". It is important to make a reservation to be sure to get a table. There are a few options for each course and sometimes the menu changes. You can get good advice on what wine by the glass you want for each course in case you don't order a bottle. Service is casual and friendly. It is always full. Guests are mostly Argentinians and sometimes foreigners who seem to live in Buenos Aires.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice, simple but great food in a minimalistic environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The attention was great ad food was very nice. I had chicken with passion fruit sauce, that was delicious. The wine list by glass is simple with the best garage wines at low prices.
We did not have the menu, but they have a 3 course menu for on 75 pesos. This is a great deal in BA.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
423 reviews 423 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“great food in Palermo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

For the last 14 years, Federico has been the head of this restaurant’s kitchen, which offers signature dishes and a gourmet midday menu for a more than reasonable price, along with half a dozen options of wine by the glass, which have been carefully chosen following quality, good taste and matching criteria. Social Paraíso focuses on creating a sybarite, but friendly and not over-complicated alternative in the Palermo restaurant landscape; as a result, their spot-on proposal caters for foodies such as me. The place is pleasantly simple, neat and unassuming, and the fact that it only has 40 seats allows for connoisseur and personalized service from Federico himself behind the counter of his open kitchen and from Natalia, the agreeable and efficient midday waitress. Everything they serve is homemade, including the yummy bread basket with delicious toast and breadsticks; the menu is short but well-balanced, since it covers beef, pork, fish and pasta dishes that are masterfully put together taking into account a perfect harmony of flavors and textures. My choice was to start with the shrimp on a smoked eggplant “caviar”, which was scrumptious, and a main course of salmon with a tomato cubes, balsamic vinegar and mustard sauce with a side of grilled vegetables that was a perfect and delightful combination; to drink, the right match was a glass of Tempus Rosé. The whole lunch deserved a round of applause for the chef!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I love the terrine, locro, gnocchi, semi-freddo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The food here is goood. We called about 1 pm on a Sunday and asked for a table of 5, they said sure and we showed up 30 minutes later. It got packed around 2. The fixed-price dos pasos (appetizer and main course, both smaller) were excellent. Our choices were salad, leek soup, or terrine to start. Locro, baked white fish, or gnocchi as the second course. I put up some photos here: http://aisleofmate.tumblr.com/post/51537086890/social-paraiso

As we waited momentarily for the food, we dove into the bread basked with glee as I'd qualify it as artisanal bakery vs. restaurant. The terrine was delicious, as was the soup. No one went for salad :). The locro and gnocchi were unreal. Flavor explosions at every bite. The fish was also good, but as it was baked in tin foil, I couldn't get the camera to focus. By the time we finished the two courses, I was full. Then we had dessert and despite everything, they were gone in moments! I highly recommend this place. Mm, there's a steady ebb and flow of noise as sometimes people compete with the softly playing music. While I wouldn't call it a quiet restaurant, there were 5 of us and I didn't have trouble hearing, although it might be tough if your hearing isn't very good. Service was terrific. The place itself was simple, laid back with excellent food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Social Paraiso also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Social Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Social Paraiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.