We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go With a Huge Appetite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Siga La Vaca

Siga La Vaca
Alicia Moreau 1714, Buenos Aires, Argentina
4315 6801
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #769 of 2,553 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Argentinean, Barbecue
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
443 reviews 443 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
273 helpful votes 273 helpful votes
“Go With a Huge Appetite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Without a doubt, there are better parrillas around but Siga la Cava combines Argentina's favorite food with a buffet format - a winning combination, judging by the crowds streaming into Siga la Cava on a weekday night. The meat selection is pretty good and the food and cooking quality is superb. The parrilla selection is complemented with a salad counter. You then end your meal on a sweet note with dessert ordered from a menu. The restaurant doesn't skimp on desserts either. I had a great chocolate lava cake with ice cream and my dining partner had a pears and wine dessert, both delicious.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    736
    562
    197
    151
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY, NY
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Lots of Food, but the quality is not consistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We arrived at 8 pm which is early in Argentina. The popular Puerto Madero restaurant's all-you-can-eat menu includes a small pitcher of either wine, soda, beer or water, a salad bar and dessert.

Between the four of us, we sampled nearly every cut of meat that was available. The short rib and chorizo were great but the other items were disappointing - either too chewy or too dry - even though we ordered jugoso (rare). We had such high expectations given all the positive reviews that we've been reading. The food wasn't bad - just not as great as most people claim. The desserts were pretty good.

The staff will attach your backpack or handbag to your chair using those plastic zip ties to prevent bag snatchings. The waitress was very helpful and friendly but the managers that collect your money were not as accommodating. We asked that he call a cab for us and he gruffly said that we can easily take any cab around the block at the taxi stand. Needless to say, our fare was 40 pesos from the hotel to the restaurant - the reverse cost us 65 pesos.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANTIAGO, Chile
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“NICE PLACE,”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice please to eat, however do not think you'll get great quality food. Nice looking place, very friendly service, lots of food but not much of quality.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Amazing Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I'm not a huge foodie, but this place great. Its a big place that can accommodate a lot of people, and it has a huge selection of food on the buffet. I came for the meat (which is also buffet style, so you can have as much as you want - and you'll want a lot) and it didn't disappoint. Argentina is known for steak, and its cooked perfectly here. Another amazing part of the meal is that each person gets their own bottle of wine (a full bottle). While there was some confusion in ordering, we ended up with 3 bottles of wine for 6 people, but the waitresses were kind and brought out more. Apparently, you can get the wine but if you also want water that counts as your beverage (replacing the wine) or you have to pay extra. You can also get a pitcher of beer or soda instead of wine. It's a bit pricey for someone on a budget (like myself), but worth it. At 150 pesos (about $35 USD) you get a ton of good food and wine!

I would love to come back if my budget allows!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Endless meat karnaval. be a Carnivore ! (if u wanna enjoy)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We sent our son as a pioneer long before we landed in the +10 million city Buenos Aires.
1st. place he took us out was Siga La Vaca

first time in my 50++ years seen a huge hyper-active grill bar as this one -
they have a 3 different grill-rooms ran by a special grill mans (for each kind of meat)
get used to read PARILLA as a charcoal meat grill

it was around $12 / each for an all-inclusive lunch with no limit of best meat cuts & endless salad bar
the good wine was extra
be prepared for a potential stomach explode !
if you suffer from digesting issues after a Carnivore session- be armed with a small "Underberg" in your left pocket

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siga La Vaca also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Siga La Vaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siga La Vaca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.