We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place to stay for Tango Dancers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa de Maria Tango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Casa de Maria Tango to your Saves list
La Casa de Maria Tango
Venezuela 2213 | Balvanera, Buenos Aires 1096, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 249 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Best Place to stay for Tango Dancers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

I have been staying at Casa Maria Tango for the past 7 years. I am a tango dancer for many years and now a tango teacher for the past 5 years. I bring my students to Buenos Aries for them to get the real experiance of tango from the local Portenos. You will get this from Maria and her lovely staff everyday that you are there. They are all warm, generous and kind. You will meet tango dancers from all over the world, like I have in my past trips. Maria will make daily plans for you if you wish or she wil let you plan out you own places to visit. There is a Salon to practice your tango in and for lessons. Sometime she even has a cultural events in the Salon at night . The tango house is full of warmth and charm, not fancy, just a wonderful place to spend a week or two or even a month like many people do. I am looking forward to staying there on my next trip in November!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    19
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
5
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

Very cozy and friendly place. If you're a tango dancer it's probably one af the best, htey cater to your needs, have a practice room as well and you can book lessons there. You'll also meet like minded people and you can go dancing together.
Two thumbs up!
Radu, Canada

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

I had absolutely a wonderfull time with Maria and her team, and the guests of the moment in her house. Maria did suggestions to visit milonga's, she invited me and the other travellers and so we formed a group.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

I spent last December in Buenos Aires and stayed at La Casa Maria Tango - I simply loved it. Everybody was so helpful & friendly! I can highly recommend La Casa Maria Tango - it makes you feel like being part of big family. I cried when I had to leave.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

From the moment we were greeted at the airport until our departure, Maria Teresa and her staff were always warm, helpful and went out of their way to make our stay in B.A. a good one. Accommodations are modest but quite adequate ) and it was helpful to have kitchen facilities to keep drinks, snacks etc. For tango dancers, Maria and her right arm Suzanne (who formerly organized milongas) were indispensable in helping us sort out where to go - and taking us to dances, introducing us to friends etc. The small dance studio at the guesthouse also made taking lessons easy Overall the experience was wonderful, Maria and her staff did everything from organizing farewell parties, helping us shop for shoes... to getting me a prescription for medication I forgot in Toronto - amazing - warm wonderful people. Rita Citron Toronto

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

Maria tango house is very nice,cosy and friendly place especialy if you are a solo traveler in Bs.As.All staff are very helpfull,trying to make you relax and comfort;and they always take care of your requests..So,if you want to feel at home,it's the right place!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

i had my first solo trip to BA in 2008 and stayed here, and it showed I was rather naive. I exchanged many emails beforehand and built what I thought to be was an honest travellers relationship with the owner of my lodging. There were many great things about staying here, the staff were wonderful and I became very close with them, but the owners were more about making the money. Don't get me wrong, I realise it is a business, but when I found that the person who rented my room before me was paying 50% less I was astonished. Especially seeing I had booked for one month and told I would get a very special deal. hmmm... There was also the tango "lesson" with the friend on the first day. Cost = 100pesos. The friend turned out to be the driver...I paid less than that for professional lessons. Tota is beautiful, and Steffie was fantastic with her guidance and company, & Dani was really amazingly helpful in more ways than you would expect. But, I wouldnt stay here again. Needless to say, I know so much more now for planning my next trip!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fedeflip, Propietario at La Casa de Maria Tango, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We are sorry to hear you experience was so bad here. We know there is a problem with rates, because we have a price, the one you paid, and sometimes travelers ask for a discount, saying that they are traveling with a low budget, and it´s hard to say no all the time, and when we reduce the price for someone, the others fell it´s unfair, We also think it´s unfair and so we are trying to equal the prices and explain to all travelers this situation.
Also, sometimes we do a special price for the frequent guest,
We are not sure about who was the one you sayd that have paid much less than you
warm regards
Federico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casa de Maria Tango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Maria Tango

Address: Venezuela 2213 | Balvanera, Buenos Aires 1096, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 249 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are thinking about coming to dance tango in Buenos Aires I would like you to know that my tango house is always waiting your visitAs some of you already know, I have my tango house in Argentina since 20 years now, it´s almost the first tango house in Buenos AiresMy name is Maria Teresa, I am a Psychologist, I have danced tango for many years, and I receive in my house "tangueros" from our beloved international tango world.It is a beautiful and antique house from l890. You can imagine yourself entering by way of an old marble staircase, dazzled by the light that comes from a lovely window, discovering spacious bedrooms with private baths, warm wood floors, and high ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your La Casa de Maria Tango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Maria Tango Hotel Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa de Maria Tango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.