We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PLEASE DON'T GO !” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Rocca Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Rocca Hostel to your Saves list
La Rocca Hostel
Av Callao 341 | Congreso, Buenos Aires, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“PLEASE DON'T GO !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Unpleasant, dirty, no upkeed, no room service, no blankets or towells included on cost, no cleaning service on Sundays! They're abusively unfair in their website, where they say they offer a "preferential" service: neither description nor pics match the real place. Absolutely disadvantageous and uncomfortable. Despite it's cheap you'll find better choices for similar $$.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    12
    11
    32
See reviews for
1
12
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

The staff are incompetant and have no information about the city. No maps. Can{t give directions. Can{t speak english. They are also rude and act lieke answering yoru question is a huge imposition.

The room has no window and is a closet and is so hot it is impossible to sleep.

The common areas are small and dirty.

Computers dont work, and the bathrooms are gross.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

I've been in this hostel for over a week.

The good points: It is at a great location, really near to 2 subte lines, and buslines practically in front of the door. The staff is really nice and helpfull, speak well english. downstairs there's a tv room and a kitchen you can use.

The bad points: Don't go there if you want to have the possibility to sleep: party hostel where people come in all night, and otherwise i had a room next to Callao, which is 24/7 really busy. Breakfast is nothing else then coffee and bread, not what you would like every day. The rooms are really small, i was staying at a 8 dorm bedroom, and it's not comfortable to sleep soooo close next to someone else! Also the rooms are not very clean, neighter are the bathrooms and for some reason for a day there were no clean sheets available.

But the worst part, I was there only 1 week, but in that week, and in the week before people had been robbed.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

I've never been to a worse hostel than La Rocca. If you want a dirty place, dirty rooms and dirty kitchen, you should visit La Rocca. The staff really rude, they were drinking and smoking all day long and didn't care about the guests' needs. I had the chance to communicate my disatisfaction to the owner of the place: he was so drunk that he laughed at me! Fortunately, I could afford eating out every day, but if you want to cook in that kitchen you would have to clean it for years. At the time of sleeping, forget it! People are very busy partying, drinking, smoking and making noise all night, every night... If you're still planning to stay here, please, take your own sheets and towels, because the ones that they provide are not clean, besides been damaged, broken and I received them on the 3rd day of my stay because they didn¡t have enough.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americano en Buenos Aires
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

I stayed at La Rocca in downtown (I think they have another one in Palermo as well) while I was still looking for an apartment. I ended up staying almost a month and it was perfect. It had everything I could have asked for- right in front of the Callao Subte station, and a few steps away from my favorite pizza place ever, Guerrin, and within walking distance of San Telmo. Also I finally met travelers from all over South America, not just the usual Americans, Australians, English, Germans, etc etc. In my room I had the 4 bed dorm to myself a few times and when not I was with great company. Beautiful building as well.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

My stay at La Rocca was awesome - I met loads of travelers from around the world including heaps from South America which was helpful for practicing a bit of the old espanol - the location was brilliant, staff were nice enough and the rates were really cheap - highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

I was there for a couple of months. Firstly, the management really dont care about the majority of the clients. Secondly, it is very unsafe. I had some random male enter my dorm one night much to the shock of my bunk mate. This is the same night 3 other rooms got robbed. Turned out the same key opened about 4 different rooms! The other rooms were constantly robbed and in-room safes broken into with tools. One of my friends was even asleep inside his room when he saw someone trying to prize open the locked swing doors to the room with a crowbar !!!!! Staying here is not worth the risk of havingyour belongings stolen.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Rocca Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rocca Hostel

Address: Av Callao 341 | Congreso, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #303 of 419 Specialty Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Rocca San Telmo is a colonial-style building (renewed) placed in the heart of San Telmo's neighbourhood. This is the former downtown of Buenos Aires, and now it's a cultural point, with a lots of reminiscent of tango, candombe and (of course) football. It's a "must know" interest point in Buenos Aires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your La Rocca Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Rocca Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.